We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't ask for more from a chambre d'hôte!”
Review of Maison Lacoste

Maison Lacoste
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maison Lacoste
Ranked #5 of 5 Campan B&B and Inns
Sheffield
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for more from a chambre d'hôte!”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This chambre d'hôte nestled at the bottom of the Pyrénées is delightful. Chris' hospitality really is second to none. The accommodation itself is clean, airy, bright and comfy. What is particularly special about this house is all the pieces of unique antique furniture - every room has been furnished uniquely. The garden & balcony offer lovely places to sit in the sun after a busy day and Chris even has a swinging chair & hammock she will lend you which are very comfy! I have to mention Chris' cooking skills - AMAZING! We stayed half board and Chris cooked us (& other guests most nights) a fantastic 3 course meal every night for the time we wanted. The food was healthy, tasty & used regional products - everything was scrumptious! The breakfasts were too! The house is equipped with books and information about the area and Chris is very knowledgable too. We stayed here for the Tour de France & it was a fantastic location for the Pyrénéen stages plus the ski resorts. Chris went out of her way to make sure our every need was catered for and we really are thankful for you having such a wonderful place to stay during our holiday. Thank you!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ECBSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
7
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich UK
Level 6 Contributor
450 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Chris Sheppard's newly-renovated Bigorrdian farmhouse is ideally located for the ski, or summer walking and cycling scene, for Campan, Payolle and Tourmalet, and very close to the town of Bagneres de Bigorre. (special rates have been negotiated for guests wanting to hire ski equipment at the nearby rental place). This itself would be recommendation enough but it's a cosy and peaceful oasis of comfort and good living; Chris' own long experience in the hotel and catering trade have made their mark on the quality of accommodation and catering on offer. Whilst close to the road, there is no intrusive traffic noise. Apart from all the services a big town like Bagneres can offer close at hand there are the villages of Campan and Baudean withing short walking distances. Ask Chris for a freshly caught trout from the Lesponne river, local brebis cheese or the local jambon sec and you will not want to leave !

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Thanks to Chris for making us all feel so comfortable and looked after. We had a long weekend ski trip booked for La Mongie, a nice 20 minute drive up the hill. Chris has worked wonders with Lacoste and deserves every success. She was kind and considerate, to the extent that on the morning my hire car failed me she let me take her jeep up to the resort so we could make our ski lessons.

She's a great cook too and we thoroughly enjoyed the food she created for us. La Mongie is part of a great ski area and whilst the resort isn't pretty, the Campan Valley is, and Lacoste is perfectly positioned in the heart of it with lovely views.

Winter or summer I'm sure Chris will continue to provide a home from home for guests and if we can go back we will.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Stayed twice this year at Chris's Maison Lacoste. After our 1st stay in March for the ski season we just had to go back for the Tour de France. The house is in such beautiful surroundings with breathtaking views. Who could ask for more than 15mins from the ski resort? A substantial breakfast was served in a really friendly and relaxing atmosphere. Chris also provides delicious evening meals and is an excellent host - as well as being a top class cook. The log fire provided a cosy atmosphere on the cold winter nights. In summer we were able to take advantage of the garden and sit in the evening sunshine enjoying aperatifs. The house is extremely comfortable and homely. We are looking forward to booking again for skiing in 2012.

Room Tip: Front of the house for the better views and access to balcony for morning coffee in the sunshine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanM28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campan
3.9 mi away
Carre Py' Hotel
Carre Py' Hotel
#2 of 14 in Bagneres-de-Bigorre
174 reviews
4.9 mi away
Gite des Cascades
Gite des Cascades
#2 of 6 in Campan
40 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Cazalere
La Cazalere
#3 of 6 in Campan
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant des Deux Cols
1.0 mi away
Les Passiflores
Les Passiflores
#1 of 5 in Campan
54 reviews
4.6 mi away
La Boucle de l'Adour
La Boucle de l'Adour
#1 of 6 in Campan
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Lacoste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Lacoste

Property: Maison Lacoste
Address: St Roch, 65710 Campan, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Hautes-Pyrenees > Campan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Campan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Maison Lacoste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing