We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Double booked”
Review of Le Vasa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Vasa Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cape Fatuosofia
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Double booked”
Reviewed August 27, 2009

We booked a week's stay at Le Vasa three months in advance and paid one night's deposit. When we arrived, we were told that we had been doubled booked and there was no room for us. (We found out that there was a wedding on and we had been bumped for that.) The resort had my email address and could have advised me before we left Australia. They also knew the name of the resort we were staying at when we first arrived in Samoa. But we didn't hear from them. They offered to find us new accommodation (the least they could do!) and we ended up on Savaii (as Survivor was being filmed and all the resorts on Upolu were booked). We came back to Le Vasa, aftering staying on Savaii, just for dinner on our last night (which we paid full price for). The food was very good but extremely expensive. The resort has no beach really, and is on a very exposed point, so was very windy. We would not go back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoMillerAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    103
    41
    17
    22
See reviews for
119
174
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2009

This place looked nice but was poorly run. The staff were rough to say the least. I would not recommend this place to anyone. It is highly priced for what you get. If you are looking for a beach then this is the wrong place as it hasn't got one. The food was terrible and very expensive at $75 for a steak.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maddisyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeVasaResort, Public Relations Manager at Le Vasa Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2016
We have since changed our management.
Many guests feel the opposite they think the staff are extremely welcoming and helpful that our food is delicious, outstanding cocktails, gorgeous gardens and great pool!
It is important for people to read many reviews to determine what we are offering here at Le Vasa Resort and ultimately experience for themselves as everyone knows you will never make 100% of the guests happy and human error can happen as well as circumstances. Thank you from Le Vasa Resort we genuinely always do our best to improve and offer a lovely stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2009

We spent the last couple of nights at Le Vasa after staying at two other resorts. It was indeed the most expensive out of the 3. Asthetically a lovely resort and the welcome very warm but.....

You couldnt work out who actually were staff and who weren't. They conducted themselves unprofessionally. Management were quick to not take responsibility or totally disregarded anything you had to say when they mis communicated just about everything including the booking.

My first drink which I requested was a white russian but was given a glass of milk with Vodka. The restaurant food we received was not what we ordered and then it was tough or luke warm.

There was no beach and very windy! Management were more interested in conversing with each other at the bar! The only time they talk to you was when they wanted something!!!!

We have stayed at many resorts 1star through to 5 star all over the pacific and this by far was the most over priced and dissapointing of them all. DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bfc304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeVasaResort, Guest Relations Manager at Le Vasa Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2016
Thank you for saying we have Aesthetically a lovely resort and the welcome very warm.
We have since changed our management.
Many guests feel the opposite they think the staff are extremely welcoming and caring that our food is delicious and outstanding cocktails.
It is important for people to read many reviews to determine what we are offering here at Le Vasa Resort and ultimately experience for themselves as everyone knows you will never make 100% of the guests happy and human error can happen as well as circumstances. Thank you from Le Vasa Resort we genuinely always do our best to improve and offer a lovely stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights as an end of trip splurge and to stay near the airport pre-departure. It was OK...

Don't go here for snorkelling or swimming, unless you want to take a boat trip (not free). The resort is on a mud-flat, so the 'beach' is poor for swimming or snorkelling. If you want to spend your time next to a pool, sipping on a cocktail, maybe this place is for you. It is very clean and 'pretty'.

We were staying there before a wedding, and most staff were pre-occupied with organisation for it - so it was a little difficul to get service. The set-up for the wedding was also very noisy.

The restaurant had very good food... although we suffered food poisoning during our stay - we can't blame Le Vasa for it, we may have picked it up earlier. What was disappointing was the lack of assistance. The staff / manager seemed more interested in deflecting blame (we weren't blaming anyone) than helping us out. "Try some ginger ale, or lemon tea". Eventually we asked to see a doctor - which meant a taxi trip to the hospital.. we asked for a bucket (my gf was vomiting every 10 mins like clockwork) but they couldn't find one - hard to imagine! I think you can measure a place on how they deal with a 'crisis' or something out of the norm... and LV failed there.

Some of the drinks in the bar fridge were past their "Best Before" date, which is poor form for what you are paying.

The fales are nice - good bathrooms, fly-wire and AC.

All in all - there is nothing wrong with this place - but I was disappointed with the beach / location and the service. All depends on what you want out of your stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomR75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeVasaResort, Public Relations Manager at Le Vasa Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2016
We appreciate you saying that the food was very good, and we have a clean and very pretty resort, fales are nice - good bathrooms, fly-wire and AC. All in all - there is nothing wrong with this place - All depends on what you want out of your stay.
Thank you for your feedback well noted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2009

Le Vasa is a very accessible resort close to the airport yet still far away enough to be no-where near it. With a dash of Samoan culture, this resort is better than the ones lacking authenticity to local culture - with plenty of local staff and management who are incredibly friendly and welcoming proving everything you need for a great stay. The food in the restaurant is absolutely divine and the pool area is great for relaxing with a mixture of sun and shade from the tropical rays. Accommodation is picturesque and everything you could expect from a fine resort with high standards for western tastes. I would definitely recommend Le Vasa above similar resorts on other parts of Upolu.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joefra129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soraya M, General Manager at Le Vasa Resort, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you thought we have plenty of local staff and management who are incredibly friendly and welcoming proving everything you need for a great stay. Thank you for the comments on our food in the restaurant that you thought was absolutely divine and the pool area is great for relaxing with a mixture of sun and shade from the tropical rays. We are pleased you felt comfortable in your accommodation that was picturesque and everything you could expect from a fine resort with high standards for western tastes. IThank you for recommending Le Vasa above similar resorts on other parts of Upolu.
It would be wonderful for you to visit us again we have updated our place since you have been here and we have far more culture activities then ever before.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2009

Our family of 2 adults and 2 children (2yrs and 6yrs) decided on a whim we would have our own little night away just the 4 of us while on holiday in Samoa visiting extended family. We pulled up to Le Vasa to book a room and were told that within two hours a fale would be ready for us - we hadn't any change of clothes etc so had to head back to our family's place where we were staying at to get them. We were back within an hour and a fale was ready and waiting for us.

The pool was ours/the kids favourite place, we were lucky that there was maybe 1-2 other families/couples at the resort at the same time, but we got to have the pool all to ourselves - and the dining area/bar is right beside the pool, what could be better!

The service was awesome right from the owner/receptionist, to the maintenance staff, cleaners, kitchen/bar staff etc, everyone smiled and just made us feel so welcome.

Our 1 bedroom fale was a bit dated (but we didn't expect fancy shmancy anyway) everything worked as it should and it was very clean so we were really happy. The bedroom was huge, there was a verandah on the front and our fale was right by the water.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tmarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeVasaResort, Guest Relations Manager at Le Vasa Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2016
Thank you for writing a review that you thought Le Vasa Resort was Heaven in paradise, awesome service, friendly staff and were very happy with your stay! Looking forward to the next time you visit Samoa and stay at Le Vasa Resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2009

Had a great time here, friendly staff, great weather, lovely room, stunning view, nice pool. Beach is smaller than you'd think. Lunch was good, food wasn't the cheapest.
Did enjoy the fact there were no kids around, does that make me a bad person?
:-)
Enjoyed the local beer, half the price of Heineken. Didn't think the cocktails were fantastic but had similar experiences in Fiji. Had better cocktails down the road at Coconuts but the miserable trout who served us there could have been more friendly.
Had a look at Aggie's, that was so busy, we didn't like it. Too many people and the pizzas we had, we sent back. How can you fail at making a pizza?? It's so easy!
Le Vasa's not too far from the ferry terminal if you want to hop to Savaii. We hired a 4x4 and drove around for a couple of days, mind the potholes!
Felt there could be more fun stuff to do in the evening. Would have loved a ping pong table/pool table or something. Take a book.
Beach volleyball was fun, as was fishing. I hooked a couple of eels and they cooked them for us.
All in all, great place, we had a really good, relaxing time here.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HughGarce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeVasaResort, Guest Relations Manager at Le Vasa Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2016
Thank you for saying you had a great time at Le Vasa, friendly staff, great weather, lovely room, stunning view, nice pool. That you enjoyed the food, local beer and Location not too far from the ferry terminal. We have a ping pong table/pool table NOW :) Glad you had a fun time playing Beach volleyball and fishing. Good that you hooked a couple of eels and we cooked them for you. Happy to heat all in all, that we have a great place, you had a really good, relaxing time at Le Vasa Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Fatuosofia
21.1 mi away
Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Hotel & Bungalows
16.2 mi away
Amoa Resort
Amoa Resort
#3 of 15 in Savai'i
212 reviews
34.3 mi away
Saletoga Sands Resorts
Saletoga Sands Resorts
#1 of 1 in Matatufu
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Return to Paradise Resort & Spa
4.1 mi away
Sheraton Samoa Beach Resort
14.4 mi away
Sa'Moana Resort
Sa'Moana Resort
#9 of 30 in Apia
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Vasa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Vasa Resort

Property: Le Vasa Resort
Address: West Main Beach Rd, Cape Fatuosofia, Upolu, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Upolu > Cape Fatuosofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cape Fatuosofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Vasa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Vasa Resort is a spectacular ocean front hideaway, set on 8 acres it's perfect for a romantic getaway and true relaxation. The resort is nestled in a peaceful and secluded setting and provides an authentic South Pacific experience with all of the modern amenities you desire. Le Vasa Resort features 13 private oceanfront fales and villas, 2 standard rooms, boat house, day room, an ocean view restaurant and bar, and an extensive selection of activities including fishing, diving and surfing all in a traditional village setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Le Vasa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Vasa Hotel Apia
Le Vasa Apia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing