We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely & relaxing”
Review of Le Vasa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Vasa Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cape Fatuosofia
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely & relaxing”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We spent 5 nights at Le Vasa and really enjoyed our stay. The grounds are beautiful and the Oceanfront Fale was just lovely. To sit on the deck and enjoy the view over the water was very special. The staff were very courteous and obliging, there is a bit of a language barrier but they were all genuinely interested in making our stay enjoyable. The chef made some beautiful dishes and when we ordered meals that weren't on the menu he made these for us. The resort is quite a way out of Apia but we were there to enjoy a rest and lounging by the beautiful pool. We hired the resort boat for fishing for an afternoon which turned out to be a bit of a waste of money. Samoa is a simple but beautiful place, don't go to Le Vasa expecting a 5 star resort as it just doesn't fit with Samoa. The facilities we were after were there, the people were lovely and after 5 nights we were refreshed and ready to return to real life again. Any longer than 5 nights would've been too long. Thank you to all the staff. Especially for making a real effort on our sons 18th birthday.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Baydiesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nativemeannativegal, Manager at Le Vasa Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you saying that you really enjoyed your stay, we are really pleased we made your holiday. We think the oceanfront fales are really amazing to be able to sit right above the water and we are pleased you thought they were so special. thank you for saying that the staff were very obliging and courteous and thank you for your patience as Samoan is their second language. Andre' is a great chef and we are so pleased that he was able to make whatever you wanted to eat:) We are really happy you pointed out Samoa is not 5 star as it is a simple and beautiful place with all the amenities that make your stay more comfortable. Fishing well that's why they call it fishing not its; not guaranteed maybe you'll have to try again for the big one :) We love birthday celebrations and happy you all enjoyed the celebration. We hope to see you back in Samoa and Le Vasa resort again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    100
    40
    16
    22
See reviews for
116
169
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
323 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Le Vasa is on the far west side of Upolu—past Faleolo airport and past Aggie Gray’s. It is a solid hour drive to Apia but only about 15 minutes from Faleolo Airport. Le Vasa consists of all ‘fales’ or Samoan type cabins. Ours was just at the water edge with terrific views and a very nice porch. The central buildings house the office and restaurant-bar. The restaurant offers gourmet meals, all freshly prepared, and a wide range of items. The bar has everything. The staff are super-friendly and very knowledgeable about Samoa. There are several ladies who run the place, and they are very efficient, friendly, and accommodating of anything. There is a big pool and resort type facilities (kayaks and many other things). They have a fia fia night once a week – very worthwhile to witness the Samoan fire dancing. The ladies who run the bar and restaurant are also exceptional – especially Ciara who knows the island well. The entire place is in a Samoan garden that is magnificently maintained. If you are looking for a real feel of Samoa, and luxury, and good food and friendly people, Le Vasa is a logical choice. You should consider a rental car because the island is large and taxi rides would probably be more expensive and much less convenient than rental cars. If there is any disadvantage of Le Vasa, it is the distance from Apia. But – Apia has become a hectic city and staying at an authentic Samoan place far from the city is a good idea.

Room Tip: You should book a fale at the water's edge
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QQ1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nativemeannativegal, Manager at Le Vasa Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for saying Le Vasa Resort had everything you wanted. We take pride in offering gourmet meals and wonderful drinks. Our staff love to make the place look gorgeous, we are happy you appreciate their effort and commented. We really want all guests to experience what you have and we are so please that you think Le Vasa Resort is a logical choice. Fia fia night is awesome my favorite is the fire dancer. We look forward to your return one day, Lots of alofa from Samoa and Le Vasa:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolleston, null, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We had a great stay at Le Vasa resort. Teh place was friendly, lean and the unit we had was perfect. The swimming pool was good adn access to kayaks. The beach was not eally swimable as stated in other reviews but for relzxing place to stay very good

Room Tip: Our unit was perfect for a couple and two friends stayign together
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nativemeannativegal, Manager at Le Vasa Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to make comments about Le Vasa Resort, we are pleased you thought your room was clean, the place was friendly and the Villa you stayed in was perfect. We hope to see you again one day in Samoa and at Le Vasa Resort:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

DO NOT STAY HERE! It's like a 1980's caravan park they have made into a so called 'resort'.
The son of the owner snots in the pool.
The air-con doesn't work properly (even when we asked it to be fixed).
You can't/don't swim in the water here - other say beautiful water... what the? It was muddy and cloudy.
There were termites in our room which we complained about and they fix it by just 'sweeping it up' everyday.
Breakfast is basic and is never ready on time. We waited half an hour one day coz they 'slept in'.
The mother of the owner is a booze and accosts you at the bar.
Everything is difficult for them. Try get them to organise a car? Too much stuffing about. We ended up going into Apia by bus and got one ourselves, easily enough.

Needless to say, we left early as it was just not a nice place. We were so disappointed and let down. You're better off paying more (and get better value for money!) at the nicer resorts on the south coast or go to Savaii and stay at La Legoto!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Adele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nativemeannativegal, Manager at Le Vasa Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
We do remember you and your partner, you were suppose to stay at Samoan Surf Resort and couldn't because it was destroyed by Cyclone Evan and you had no where to stay, you rang us the night before you were leaving Savaii and we gave you an awesome deal. You came to us right after a horrible time for the country while everyone was trying to make to best out of a terrible situation. Staff were cleaning the resort property around the clock as well as their own villages after the devastation. Many OTHER GUESTS who stayed here helped us at the resort as well as around the country. They understood the circumstances we were all under. Most of the country had no running water or electricity until January 2013. Fortunately we have a generator and water tanks that we paid to fill daily to accommodate our guests. Most business were not operating and most of the telecommunications in the country was down, we made the best effort to accommodate your every request. People were having a very difficult time in this country and unfortunately it was not in our capacity to fulfill what you wanted some things are just beyond your control. Termites do exist in this country and we could not rightly spray the fale while you were staying in it, we did offer to switch rooms, although you declined, so we swept any debris. We replaced 4 air conditioning units after the cyclone. We gave you a lovely room on the oceanfront and you paid half the price people would normally pay. Savaii is lovely and lucky they did not get hit like Upolu island did. I am just surprised that you would take the time 8 months later to write a negative review when you wanted to leave two nights earlier I asked you why you wanted to leave and you did not say anything negative then you mentioned you would email me, because I wanted to know so we could better ourselves if there had been an issues, you never emailed me anything. Graciously we returned your money for the rooms nights that you didn't stay and wished you well. There are times when we have to put aside our expectations, be human and understand what is happening around us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Le Vasa is in an incredible location with stunning oceans views. The sunsets are glorious! The local Samoan staff were mostly very helpful and welcoming, but the management were less so.
The pool is great.
The food in the restaurant is delicious, but very expensive - the most expensive we found in Samoa, being almost double the price of most other places. There are no meal options really suitable for kids.
The manager's nine year old child was often left unsupervised and latched on to my young children. This resulted in me feeling I had to supervise the child as there was no one around taking responsibility for him.
The resort is not at all child friendly. I note in response to other reviews that the management claim to advise that the resort is not suitable for children under 10yrs. They failed to tell me this when I booked, despite my telling them I planned to stay with my young children.
Overall, while Le Vasa is in a beautiful location, convenient to the airport and with lovely fales with ensuites, it was very expensive and felt like the non-Samoan managers were just out to get whatever cash they could with the least effort.
I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lasvegas76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nativemeannativegal, Manager at Le Vasa Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for stating we have an incredible location with stunning ocean views! We are happy that you thought our pool was great and that we have glorious sunsets.

You mentioned to us that you previously stayed at Le Manumea and Lita SIna's and both of their resorts are standard accommodation and a different star rating where as we are a Deluxe accommodation, so hence the price point difference.

Thank you for saying our food was delicious, we just hired a fantastic French chef and people just rave about his food! Remember quality food costs a bit more than what standard cafe will serve. For people who are on a budget we do have less expensive options, as well as a few nightly specials.

It is clearly stated on our website and all of our marketing materials that we do not allow children under 10 years old as we are surrounded by water, all the fales are on the sea, and we do not have a kids club, the choice is yours if you wish to stay here with your children during the school holidays only, as you booked direct after reviewing the website. We have never claimed to be suited for young children.

If we remember correctly your children were between 5 to 8 years old and we introduced Dalton the young boy here to play with your two girls, we saw that they had a lot of fun together playing hide and seek, watching cartoons, and playing Jenga over the 3 days you were here. Your children were not under constant supervision by yourself as they were running around restaurant, reception and grounds everywhere with Dalton. Kids are kids and play together so not sure why you felt you had to watch the boy as he looked after your children and bought out many of his toys to share with your them to ensure they had a fun time.

Not sure what you are on about the non-Samoan staff as they only checked you into your room and checked you out those are the times you would have paid for your accommodation and paid for your charges, ie meals etc, when you left.

We were very considerate and professional to you, your children and friend and we are pleased that you think we have a beautiful location, convenient to the airport and of course our lovely fales with everything you need for a great holiday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We were very impressed with our fale at Le Vasa and it was a really beautiful view to wake up to after arriving in the middle of the night! The staff were really friendly and helpful...only negative for us was that the beach wasn't sandy or suitable for swimming..but we realised this when we read reviews before we booked and we stayed 5 nights in Savaii at a really nice beach also. Really handy to both the ferry and airport. Would highly recommend!

Room Tip: All the fales looked waterfront to me so you can't really go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renren82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nativemeannativegal, Manager at Le Vasa Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for stating that you were very impressed with Le Vasa and that it is a beautiful place, the staff take pride in their work and it's wonderful to see that people appreciate it, thank you so kindly for your comments. We are happy that our location is handy to the airport and wharf and that you would recommend us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The resort is in an amazing location surrounded by beautiful turquoise water, a romantic spot with beautiful sunsets. The resort is small with about 15 Fales, so there is a family feel around the resort, the service is very good and the staff very friendly and willing to go the extra mile. We loved that the restaurant was never too crowded and there was usually only one or two other couples at the pool when you were swimming or sunbathing. The small sandy beach was also very private. The restaurant and the French chef deserve a special mention, we are vegetarian and asked him to make us something different each night for the 7 nights we were there, he was more than happy to, and very talented and creative making very good Asian, Indian, Italian and Mexican food – the cost was approximately NZ$20 per dinner main and considerably less for lunch and breakfast – which we found very cheap – but excellent quality (we have stayed at resorts where you pay 2 or 3 times that where they wont cater for vegetarian diets to the same degree). Beer and drinks were also good value, beer costing about NZ$5 per bottle, and cheaper at “Island Time” an extended happy hour. We found this a 5-star service and experience for a much cheaper price.
We also found the accommodation very good value compared to other resorts and hotels that we have stayed at, room prices were cheaper than other places we have stayed at, but rooms were good quality, CLEAN, light, private, air conditioned with a lot of space. The fales have a private balcony, with beautiful views of the turquoise water and sunsets. It is a 5 star resort in most aspects except the lobby isn’t grand, the furnishings are nice but not brand new designer styling, the shampoo is in a dispenser with no conditioner or moisturiser (no biggie bring your own), and the curtains are light and do not black the room out (if this bothers you, bring a sleep eye mask, or hang up your pool towels on the curtain rail, this will blacken the room) – but this place is about ½ the price of 5 star mainland resort accommodation. We found it amazing, and had such a great time.

I have no idea how anyone can give this resort a bad review. We loved the stay, we would love to go back there and highly recommend the resort to others.

Thank you Susan, the Chef and the rest of the team for such an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Subno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nativemeannativegal, Manager at Le Vasa Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you so stating the resort is in an amazing location surrounded by beautiful turquoise water, a romantic spot with beautiful sunsets.
we are a boutique resort, so we are happy that we offer a family feeling around the resort,
Thank you for saying the service is very good and the staff very friendly and willing to go the extra mile.

Thank you for telling others that you loved that the restaurant and pool was never too crowded.

The chef and servers were touched by your kind words "the restaurant and the French chef deserve a special mention, we are vegetarian and asked him to make us something different each night for the 7 nights we were there, he was more than happy to, and very talented and creative making very good Asian, Indian, Italian and Mexican food – the cost was approximately NZ$20 per dinner main and considerably less for lunch and breakfast – which we found very cheap – and excellent quality"
Beer and drinks were also good value, beer costing about NZ$5 per bottle, and cheaper at “Island Time” an extended happy hour. We found this a 5-star service and experience for a much cheaper price.
We also found the accommodation very good value compared to other resorts and hotels that we have stayed at, room prices were cheaper than other places we have stayed at, and rooms were good quality, CLEAN, light, private, air conditioned with a lot of space. The fales have a private balcony, with beautiful views of the turquoise water and sunsets.
Thank you so much for your excellent review and we look forward to the time that you visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Fatuosofia
21.1 mi away
Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Hotel & Bungalows
41.9 mi away
Aga Reef Resort
Aga Reef Resort
#5 of 30 in Apia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
11.7 mi away
Return to Paradise Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Sa'Moana Resort
Sa'Moana Resort
#9 of 30 in Apia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
21.5 mi away
Sinalei Reef Resort & Spa
34.3 mi away
Saletoga Sands Resorts
Saletoga Sands Resorts
#1 of 1 in Matatufu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Vasa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Vasa Resort

Property: Le Vasa Resort
Address: West Main Beach Rd, Cape Fatuosofia, Upolu, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Upolu > Cape Fatuosofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cape Fatuosofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Vasa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Vasa Resort is a spectacular ocean front hideaway, set on 8 acres it's perfect for a romantic getaway and true relaxation. The resort is nestled in a peaceful and secluded setting and provides an authentic South Pacific experience with all of the modern amenities you desire. Le Vasa Resort features 13 private oceanfront fales and villas, 2 standard rooms, boat house, day room, an ocean view restaurant and bar, and an extensive selection of activities including fishing, diving and surfing all in a traditional village setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Le Vasa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Vasa Hotel Apia
Le Vasa Apia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing