We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Relaxing Holiday”
Review of Le Vasa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Vasa Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cape Fatuosofia
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Perfect Relaxing Holiday”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We chose this resort from a brochure and their website, and were very delighted to find it matched and exceeded our expectations. We (2 couples) were looking for a tropical beachside relaxing holiday to celebrate 2 special birthdays, and this is just what Le Vasa is. The staff were all happy and friendly, very accommodating, the resort is well set out with beautiful, well maintained grounds, watching the sun set over the western islands from the open air restaurant was a simply magic way to end every day. Susan was great in making the boys birthdays something to always remember, with birthday cake and Samoan dancing at dinner. Our friends had a small problem with the fale they were staying in, but they were shifted to another one straight away and the problem was fixed with new guests moving in quickly. It is about a half hour drive to the town of Apia, we hired a car for a couple of days and enjoyed driving ourselves around the island, relatively easy to navigate, natives always eager to help if you take a wrong turn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tania P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soraya M, General Manager at Le Vasa Resort, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
A big thank you from Le Vasa Resort, the staff are pleased they exceeded your expectations.

Thank you for saying the staff were all happy and friendly, very accommodating, the resort is well set out with beautiful, well maintained grounds, watching the sun set over the western islands from the open air restaurant was a simply magic way to end every day.

A big Thank you from Susan and we are happy that she was great in making your boys birthdays something to always remember, with birthday cake and Samoan dancing at dinner.
We hope you return to Samoa again one day and choose Le Vasa resort for yout stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    107
    44
    17
    22
See reviews for
124
182
16
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We were lucky to get a budget room for 150 talla for the 2 of us. It is a room next to the laundry room but looks smart inside. It was a great place to sleep the night before catching a flight out of Samoa the next day, and to be able to stay in a resort for a low price. The pool was great, the breakfast included was great and the workers were very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soraya M, General Manager at Le Vasa Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2016
Thank you for your review, Yes lucky we had a budget room available for you:)
Thank you for your comments, that we have great workers and that they are very friendly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Not that great! Considering the PRICE of Le Vasa, you'd think they would have decent showers (merely breaking a dribble)...the shower was also cold which we complained about on the second day, and they never fixed it, and though they said we should of told "earlier" we never had anyone come and ask us if it was alright etc. Considering the price you'd think they'd bend over and try and accomodate. They never even swept the floor? we were in a Deluxe Fale too.. The restaurant was nice food, but overpriced considering the distance to decent eating places. Glad we only stayed 3 nights, and wouldn't return. The swimming beach that you see in photos, isn't really for swimming, they said there could be sting rays, and we also saw baby sharks from our balcony. Location is beautiful, and nice to go for a kayak, but if you have guests who want to swim in the pool and aren't staying there then they need to pay 20 tala each (we never encountered this before).. I have stayed at 3 places in samoa, and this was the pricest, yet didn't like it that much. Also travelled 6 countries and multiple hotels, never had to pay for guests, or had cold showers.. :-( as for the view, and the location its beautiful.. maybe if your honeymooning, and don't mind no swimming, pricey restaurants, and less then friendly staff it would be ok.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank girlstar1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soraya M, General Manager at Le Vasa Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2016
Thank you for saying we have nice food, that our location is beautiful and that it nice to go for a kayak. We are always willing to accommodate our guests in the best possible way. Sometimes if issues arise and we are not informed about it early enough then maintenance
personnel go home and if it's on a Sunday then issues may not get resolved until the next working day, this should be a consideration. Sea life in the ocean is not the resorts fault and really should not be a complaint geared towards our service or accommodation. The swimming pool and facilities are for our guests, our policy is to offer a day visitor pass at a charge, we built a special room and added a shower and changing area to accommodate, non-resident guests have a choice to pay the fee and use our facilities or not, It's a cheap price of $20 WST to pay rather than renting a room for another night or staying at the airport for 8 hours, guests are so thrilled that we have this offer for them. 99% of our guests rave about how friendly and welcoming our staff are. Remember Samoa is a third world country things are not always the same as the western world, snapping your fingers and getting things, done. It's important for guests to go with the flow, embrace the environment and be open to the possibilities things will go a lot smoother
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

After lots of research online and through our past experiences in Samoa, I still found it difficult to select the perfect wedding venue for our wedding planned for August 2012. Le Vasa was quickly one of my top choices and I was quickly delighted with the price vs location vs quality of wedding packages on offer. I quickly chose Le Vasa for our big day!

Planning the wedding was a breeze with the help of Susan and Soraya. Communication was frequent and all of our requests and questions answered.

The property itself is amazing. Fabulous sized rooms with good quality fittings and beautiful views from all angles, even from laying in your bed! The pool area is wonderful and the entire property cannot be faulted. We travelled with a group of 15+ and all of our needs were met every time. The property is also great for kids, bball court, bikes, kayaks, games room etc.

The food was great. Great platter meals for families which were really good value.

The wedding itself was wonderful. The staff transformed into a vibrant dance group. My partners family are full Samoan and we have come across many cultural groups in our time and the entire guest list were thoroughly impressed with the groups energy. Very entertaining! Escorted by 3 Samoan warriors to our beautiful wedding location over the water, what more could you ask for. Soraya provided step by step assistance throughout the entire day and an extra angle for photography shots despite the fact we already has one for the day. Fatu offered Samoan siva tutorials for the groom and I if required to ensure we put our best foot forward for the big dancing finale, a couples siva!! The food was amazing and much more than we required. Soraya had
Iots of suggestions for great table settings and reception setting ideas and everything looked picture perfect! The entire day was magical!

The biggest selling point for the resort is most definitely the staff! In our travels in Samoa often we have come across great properties with lack luster staff. This is not the case at LeVasa. Staff get in with the guests for a chat and are always on hand to help out how ever possible. We loved that!

All in all, we have tested out a lot of resorts, hotels and restaurants during our trips to Samoa, so I an whole heatedly say that I cannot be happier with our choice of wedding venue! The rooms are all amazing, I was able to check out all different types due to the fact my family stayed in all from the cheapest all the way upto to the beautiful Maleatoa fale, with it's own whirlpool! And all rooms surpassed expectations!

Soraya was even gracious enough to drop off lost property and copies of pictures from the wedding to our group prior to check out when staying in the main city area. Talk about going the extra mile.

All in all, give it a go for yourself, you'd be crazy not to love it!!

Room Tip: If you can afford to, grab a waterfront fale! The views are to die for! But if you can't Fford i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulune N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soraya M, General Manager at Le Vasa Resort, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Pauline a BIG THANK YOU for you amazing gracious review! thank you for your comments about planning your wedding and that you thought it was a breeze with the help of Susan and Soraya. That your communication was frequent and all of our requests and questions answered.

Thank you for saying the food was great and the property amazing. Fabulous sized rooms with good quality fittings and beautiful views from all angles, even from laying in your bed! The pool area is wonderful and the entire property cannot be faulted. We are so happy that you and your family really enojyed your stay here at Le Vasa resort, I thought I already repsonded to your review I see it wasn't posted.

Thank you for saying the wedding itself was wonderful. That the staff transformed into a vibrant dance group. Glad you family thought our group was very entertaining!

Every princess needs to be escorted by Samoan warriors to their beautiful wedding location over the water.
Thank you for saying I provided step by step assistance throughout the entire day and an extra angle for photography shots despite the fact we already has one for the day. And that Fatu offered Samoan siva tutorials for the groom and I if required to ensure we put our best foot forward for the big dancing finale, a couples siva!! Thank you for syaing the food was amazing and much more than we required and that I had Iots of suggestions for great table settings and reception setting ideas and everything looked picture perfect! We are so excited to know that your entire day was magical!

I will let the staff know that you thought the biggest selling point for the resort is most definitely the staff! and In your travels around Samoa often you have come across great properties with lack luster staff. We encourage the Staff to get in with the guests for a chat and to always give a hand to help out how ever possible.

Thank you for your comments that you have tested out a lot of resorts, hotels and restaurants during our trips to Samoa, and whole heatedly that you were happy with your choice of wedding venue! That the rooms are all amazing, Iand you were able to check out all different types due to the fact your family stayed in all from the cheapest all the way upto to the beautiful Maliletoa Oceanfront villa, with it's own whirlpool! And all rooms surpassed expectations!

It was my pleasure to drop off lost property and copies of pictures from the wedding to your group prior to their check out in the city area.

Thank you again for such wonderful comments we hope you visit us again on your next holiday to Samoa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

In the spring we booked a long (10-day) stay at Le Vasa Resort, paying 50% of the total charges at time of reservation. Upon check-in we had been required to pay upfront for the remaining of the stay, in addition to having provided a signed credit card slip. We originally planned to settle by cash: not having anticipated the need of such an amount of local currency at check-in, we paid in US $. The exchange rate applied has been over 10% higher than any other rates subsequently applied to us, no matter where, in the island. And the cash payment has even been rounded up, without giving back the (although little) due change. Never experienced such a thing in 35 years of traveling worldwide.

Our cottage (Fale # 5) was overall very spacious, and with a pretty seafront deck. However, being located near the gravel paved road connecting the resort lobby and facilities to the main road, it was noisy in the early morning as well as in the evening/night. Bathroom: apart from the shower, space was tiny by all means: the washbasin, almost attached to the toilet and very close by the shower entrance, so small that could not be used for anything other than filling-in a glass of water: shaving, teeth-brushing, etc. had to be done in the sink of the ‘kitchenette’ area. The toilet seat was definitely worn-out and dirty-looking, and the floor by the toilet heavily stained. No wonder why, with a claim of ‘large bathrooms’ in the paper brochure, there is no images of bathrooms in the website, or in the brochure itself. In addition, there was no possibility to contact the reception from the room in case of need (or emergency): no telephone. Overall, definitely not a ‘luxury’ accommodation as claimed, and far from any standards for a room charged at a daily rate in the 300 US$ range. Not value for the money.

The most disappointing experience has been, however, with both restaurant service and management. For the sake of being brief, we provide just a couple of examples (there is more to this). Tropical breakfast: literally one and half slice of toast bread per person, hardly visible jelly and butter, little fruit, one cup of coffee or tea. Anything more: upon request and outside the package. One episode to highlight the poor management: one evening we had to face an unjustified, nearly physical aggression (with serious threat) from a guest, with hotel personnel and management present on the scene but not being able (or not willing) to intervene, and no security called at all.
The day after this last episode we left The Vasa ahead of our planned time, even if already fully paid (and even the bill for the extra's was wrong, with charges for food/drinks we did not have - neither have signed for). We moved to a nearby Hotel (Aggie Grey’s Beach Resort) where - at a lower daily rate - we could enjoy for the remaining days of our vacation a completely different structure and services (several well organized beaches, wide choices of on-site activities, buffet breakfast, four restaurants, a SPA, etc.) and a nice, customer-oriented attitude of both hotel personnel and management.

Per gli eventuali turisti Italiani: orientatevi differentemente, non potrete sbagliare!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
16 Thank Fabio T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soraya M, General Manager at Le Vasa Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2016
Glad you were able to find accommodation that better suited your budget and needs.
Most every wholesaler, online agency etc, you pay in full before your stay. With direct bookings we give an option to pay 50% up front and the balance on arrival, all is documented on our website and our policy, you were also informed on your confirmation booking, so the choice is the guests whether they book here or not. When dealing with people who are intoxicated is not always easy, patience and kindness to remove them from the scene is best rather than making a big deal. Sometimes human errors happen, always best to take things with a grain of salt rather than letting it disturb you, we always allow our guests to see their bills or dockets before charge in case of discrepancies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Le Vasa – Samoa
This small resort with fifteen fales does have nice grounds and a lovely swimming pool, but, unfortunately, there’s a meaness of spirit about this place which really detracted from the enjoyment of our holiday. We paid NZ$1740 for five nights in a ‘deluxe’ fale, with tropical breakfast included. Each morning however, breakfast consisted of a few slices of fruit, one and a half thin slices of toast each, and two finger nail sized pieces of butter and the same amount of jam to share between two. On the first morning I had a cup of coffee and my partner asked for a glass of juice. Later in the day we were asked to sign off a tab for ST$10 for the breakfast. When I asked for an explanation I was told that I’d asked for my coffee to topped up and that my partner had had a glass of juice. I remonstrated with Susan, the New Zealand manager, but was told that ‘they are the rules, one cup of coffee only and juice is extra’. Not a good way to start a holiday. The resort is about 40 minutes drive to Apia so once you are there you are truly ‘captured’ unless you have a rental car. The restaurant serves a limited menu, with well cooked, generous servings but it is expensive. My partner and I made a point of checking out Seabreeze Resort and Sinalei Resort, further along the coast, and found the food to be cheaper, and as well, were pleasantly surprised by joviality of the management and staff. In the five days we stayed at Le Vasa there were very few smiles. Would I recommend Le Vasa to my friends. Definitely not.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank dlrrks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soraya M, General Manager at Le Vasa Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2016
Thank you for saying we have lovely grounds, swimming pool and well cooked meals with generous servings. We have a small restaurant that has a variety or meals to offer. Surprising to hear our staff are some of the most friendly and welcoming to all our guests. Our daily tropical breakfast has changed offering more to our guests, thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We were travelling with our two boys aged 2 years and 5 months and had a 2am flight out of Samoa following arriving back from Savaii at 12pm so we were looking for somewhere close to the wharf and airport.

We had the "garden room" next to the car park which is the room they use for people like us, who are not staying on. The room was spacious, nicely decorated, had comfortable beds, a clean and tidy ensuite and tea and coffee making facilities. It did however back onto the front desk, and so we could hear the staff very clearly through the walls when trying to put our son to sleep on our arrival in the afternoon. By bedtime though all was quiet and we had no issues.

The staff were all welcoming and friendly, and came to chat while we were at the poolside. The food was all excellent, but with prices comparable to what you would pay in NZ for something similar it was our most expensive day of the holiday because we ate lunch and dinner there.

The grounds were immaculate. The grounds were a big step above other places we stayed but my husband found the manicured look too artificial and he said he could "be anywhere hot" but this is defiantely a matter of personal taste. I thought the grounds were lovely and they had shaded fales with picnic tables next to the water and a wee wharf from which to watch the fish swimming which were both great with the little ones.

There isn't really much of a beach, it's a small strip of sand and the wee bay has a muddy bottom. Also stingrays can be an issue in the water around the resort. But, the pool is lovely and big, there is a pool table, basket ball hoop and space enough to kick a foot ball so it was great for the toddler to burn some energy.

Overall it suited our needs for a place to stop for a few hours and I cant really fault them on anything but it isn't the sort of place I would want to stay for longer... not enough beach, too expensive (for us anyway) and didn't have the feel of being "in Samoa" like other places we visited.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laidbacknz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soraya M, General Manager at Le Vasa Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2016
Thank you for your review, That you thought the grounds were immaculate and a step above the rest of the places you stayed. We are happy you had the chance to stay with your family over night.
Standard rooms are for budget travelers so happy it suited your needs and you thought it was clean,comfortable with lovely decor. Regards from Le Vasa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Fatuosofia
21.1 mi away
Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Hotel & Bungalows
20.3 mi away
Tanoa Tusitala Hotel
34.3 mi away
Saletoga Sands Resorts
Saletoga Sands Resorts
#1 of 1 in Matatufu
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Sheraton Samoa Beach Resort
11.7 mi away
Return to Paradise Resort & Spa
14.4 mi away
Sa'Moana Resort
Sa'Moana Resort
#9 of 30 in Apia
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Vasa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Vasa Resort

Property: Le Vasa Resort
Address: West Main Beach Rd, Cape Fatuosofia, Upolu, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Upolu > Cape Fatuosofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cape Fatuosofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Vasa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Vasa Resort is a spectacular ocean front hideaway, set on 8 acres it's perfect for a romantic getaway and true relaxation. The resort is nestled in a peaceful and secluded setting and provides an authentic South Pacific experience with all of the modern amenities you desire. Le Vasa Resort features 13 private oceanfront fales and villas, 2 standard rooms, boat house, day room, an ocean view restaurant and bar, and an extensive selection of activities including fishing, diving and surfing all in a traditional village setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Le Vasa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Vasa Hotel Apia
Le Vasa Apia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing