We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyed our stay”
Review of Le Vasa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Vasa Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cape Fatuosofia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2011

We stayed at Le Vasa in one of the cheaper garden rooms, we paid $280 tala a night which included a nice breakfast, use of all the resort facilities ( even though we are in the cheap room!) and as we stayed over 2 nights we got complimentary airport transfers.
the room is basic, but is its fine, there is a bed, clean linen, small ensuite, air con! little bar fridge and tea / coffee facilities. we were very comfortable.
the resort was nice, great resturant and pool, the beach not so nice,only had one swim and that was enough for me, the pool was lovely! and the staff were very friendly and helpful, susan the manger was wonderful, we really enjoyed having chats with susan, shes a great assest to LeVasa.
I would of liked to check out the other rooms so i could compare, but if your looking for somewhere near to the ferry or the airport as we were this is a great option.
they also offer day stays so you can use the resort facilites while you wait for your plane and they will transfer you to the airport.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sasa73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeVasaResort, Public Relations Manager at Le Vasa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2016

Thank you for reviewing us, glad you enjoyed your comfortable accommodation.
Good comments about the friendly staff, nice resort, great restaurant and pool. Much Alofas from Le Vasa Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (428)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 428 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2011

We made the mistake of staying in the "garden Room"; we regret it and would not do it again. The Garden Room does not have a garden or garden view, the window opens onto the gravel carpark, which means that you get to hear the staff conversations and be floodlit by vehicles as they come and go from work. The room itself appears to be the old reception or managers office. It shares a wall with the existing reception and office, which means, again, you are privvy to the staff conversations as they go on into the night.
Then there is the service: we enquired about a ride to the airport and were quickly introduced to a cab driver. We did not expect a complimentary airport lift, but were disappointed to notice that we rode all the way to the airport in a paid cab and followed directly behind the LeVasa van escorting other guests to the airport for the same flight. There was space available, and I confirmed that the other guests were not paying a fare.
The resort itself is pleasant to look at, and most of the rooms might be grand. But at $200+ SAT, the Garden Room is an unpleasant joke that should be removed from the option list in my view. This money could get you a cab to the beaches, a beach front fale, and Samoan hosts. another alternative is the airport lodge nearby.
Although it is not a saving grace, the breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: Not the dreaded Garden Room, which could be better termed the "noisy old carpark room"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank glenn k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Pro: very confortable oceanfront fales with ensuite bathroom and shower, exzellent service
Con: quite expensive Restaurant with mediocre Food (Local food like fish was good but European dishes were not recommendable), As quite isolated no true alternative for dining out. Tropical breakfast Not very filling and every extra has to Be paid for quite dearly.
All in all if you realize that you will spend quite a bit of money on top (we spend about 800nz
Dollars for 6 nights) It is a relaxing Place to stay

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gpenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeVasaResort, Guest Relations Manager at Le Vasa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2016

Thank you for reviewing us, glad you enjoyed your oceanfront fale.
Good comments about the excellent service. Glad you thought we have a relaxing place to stay. We do appreciate all of the points raised in this review and have noted accordingly, so that we may discuss and follow up on these concerns.
Then we can continue to provide the best experience to our quests and travellers.
Le Vasa Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We decided to treat ourselves to a resort stay for the last night of our 2 week holiday in Samoa. We caught the midday ferry from Savaii and arrived right on the dot of 2pm and were promptly shown to our Sunset villa. The staff were so friendly that it felt like we had stayed here before. We loved our villa. It was huge and clean and decorated nicely. We enjoyed swimming in the pool but weren't tempted to swim in the ocean here, as we had spent two weeks on pristine beaches and the beach here wasn't as nice. However the scenery was. We saw bait fish and manta rays jumping out of the water and loved the sight of fishermen in their outriggers, sailing past. We jumped into a kayak and went out exploring. It was a lovely way to spend the afternoon. We also jumped on pushbikes and went for a late afternoon ride through the local villages. It was one of the highlights of our whole trip. We could hear children singing, see fishermen selling their wares and generally just see village life as we rode by. It was a wonderful way to interact with the locals.

We thoroughly enjoyed our last sunset. It was very special watching the sun set over the ocean while we drank our "happy hour" cocktails. Our dinner was probably the nicest we had in Samoa. It was expensive but we had expected it to be because of the location. After dinner we went into a lounge room and watched Samoa play in the World Cup.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. I would recommend this as a stopover point either at the start or the end of your trip as it is only about 15 minutes from the ferry and 20 minutes from the airport. The only thing we could fault with our stay was the cold showers. We were looking forward to having a nice, hot shower for our trip home but, alas, it wasn't to be. We were pleasantly surprised with the tropical breakfast which was included in our room price. We weren't aware that we had a complimentary breakfast.

Room Tip: The sunset villa has the most amazing view as it's name suggests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jalaky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeVasaResort, Guest Relations Manager at Le Vasa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2016

Thank you for reviewing us, glad you enjoyed the great food and cocktails:)
Good comments about the very friendly welcoming staff. We are happy you loved your accommodation. Hope to see you again alofas from Le Vasa Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Disapointing....you cant swim here and the water smells bad...even when you are sitting by the pool you can still smell the water.Beautiful gardens and lovely pool area....but all I wanted was to enjoy the peaceful surroundings - alas no - very loud music played non stop so loud that we found it difficult to hear each other. I asked if they could turn it down and the restaurant manager had a look like thunder on her face.
The garden room is actually a room attached to the main welcome area. By one side of the bed the bedside cabinet is a electicity box so you hear the electric hum all night... want a Noisy and not private if thats what you are wanting dont do the cheap option.
Very expensive to eat there. $55 tala for a fish meal compared to about $35 tala everywhere else we went. My husband and I both got tummy bugs there after eating dinner.
Breakfast was the smallest tropical breakfast we had the 2 1/2 weeks away...I couldnt eat the fruit as it tasted like someone had chopped it on the onion board and the other bit of fruit had bad bits in it...and 3 very thin halves of bread...if you wanted a second cup of coffee - you are charged $5 for that as well.
Dont expect to be allowed into your room early as well....On the dot of 2pm they let you in even if the rooms are empty and you have been up since 3am to fly there....I heard its for sale....They definately dont understand about customer service.. The other thing was is that the power goes off about 2 in the morning for a few hours so the fans stop working..and the water in the taps,,,.we had a little torch which was helpful since we were up all night with a tummy bug.
There were people stopping there for a few hours to wait for their plane to enjoy the pool $20 tala each and another $20 tala each for the taxi to the airport which is 6 ks away....I comparison we went to Aggie Greys resort close by and enjoyed the facilities for the afternoon and they kindly dropped us off for no charge which was nice of them. We had lunch and a great pizza there before catching the plane home....Lovely restful grounds and pool area....Not cheap for food but it was nice!!!.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bellachino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
misslevasa, Manager at Le Vasa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2011

Thank you for stating that we have peaceful surroundings, beautiful gardens and a lovely pool area. We are not sure who you spoke to although if you were disappointed or unhappy we surely would have addressed the issue immediately. Sometimes it is diffucult to cater to everyone's requirements especially when we have a full house, several people want louder music than others, luckily we have 8 acres of grounds for guests to enjoy and have privacy or quiet time if they wish. The restaurant and pool areas always cater to many people so it can be more noisey at times.

We have a restaurant and full bar and which cater to a variety of tastes.
We buy our fruit, vegetables and sliced bread locally and it is complimentary to receive a tropical breakfast with most of the packages here at Le Vasa Resort, we do have a full menu if people feel they want more to eat. Most people rave about our cuisine.

I believe you spoke to me about an issue with your fruit and I was happy to give you another complimentary breakfast, unfortunately you did not mention anything to the restaraunt manger at the time where you were at the table so the staff could be informed of their error immediately and make a correction. You told me that you wanted to specifically let me know about the issue with the breakfast. You said because some people go home and tell everyone about things that happen to them on their holiday and that wasn't fair on businesses and you weren't that kind of person. You mentioned you really liked the place. You also told me not to say anything to the staff about your compliant and I said people do not learn if you do not inform them. You did not mention anything about loud music or any other issue. It's possible you got a tummy bug from some other place as you came over here from Savaii and your son and daughter inlaw came off the flight the next morning. We had full house and our check-out time is at 11am it does take the staff time to clean the rooms and it's stated clearly as most hotels that our check-in time is 2 pm. We do have a lounge room for our visitors while they wait.
We actually did try and look for you early than our check-in time although most of you went for a bike ride in the villages. It's always best to get afternoon flight rather than earely morning flights.
People always have the option to rent a room from the night before if they want to go straight into the room.

We are not like a beach fale, you stayed at Vacations beach fales in Savaii before us, more of a backpackers budget, we do have proper hotel style rooms and gorgeous oceanfront fales so yes they are more expense than Samoan style camping. If you wanted privacy & luxury unfortnately it costs more.

Most people love our garden room and is quite adequate with hot water, air conditioning, fridge, electric jug, dining area, king size bed etc for the price, you do not get those things at a beach fale.

You can swim here it's just more visibility about 100 meters off our shore. We have the reef futher out then the South side of the island so we are protected from bad weather, the south side of the counrty has better beaches because the reef is next to their shore, they just have less protection against mother nature.

Samoa had a drought over the last few months and when that happens the government turn the power off or have rolling black outs, it's never out too long, we do have a back up generator when needed.

It's really up to the individual if they want to visit us for the day and over the high season it has been a fantastic bonus for visitors to be able to use our facilities here while waiting for their flight. Aggie's Lagoon was closed the entire high season and guests were really pleased they were able to visit for the day with us at Le Vasa Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We arrived here in the dead of night and were delighted with the beautifully presented fale.
Next morning we awoke to the sound of the sea on our doorstep and a wonderful vista. It is a small resort set in lovely gardens, coconut trees, palms and richly colored foliage and well kept grounds. Susan and the staff were lovely, friendly and welcoming, and helpful with all our questions and giving helpful info so we were able to enjoy our stay to the max. The tropical breakfasts were a treat, and the restaurant meals some of the best we had in Samoa.

We were lucky to have Fatu drive us on a trip around the island. It was great but would have liked more information and background about what we were seeing.

We were only here for a couple of days but they were a magical, beautiful introduction to Samoa. It is a tropical paradise and we will definitely be back sometime.
Thank you for making our stay special.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CoroLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soraya M, General Manager at Le Vasa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2015

Thank you for your wonderful review that we have "A quiet gem"
You were delighted with the beautifully presented fale set in lovely gardens, coconut trees, palms and richly colored foliage and well kept grounds. Great to hear the staff were lovely, friendly,welcoming and helpful with all your questions, giving helpful info so you were able to enjoy your stay to the max. Love the comments about the food:) that the tropical breakfasts were a treat, and the restaurant meals some of the best you had in Samoa. So pleased you thought your stay was magical and a beautiful introduction to Samoa.That Le Vasa Resort is a tropical paradise and you will definitely be back sometime. Thank you for letting us make your stay special here at Le Vasa Resort, Samoa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in the Garden Room, Le Vasa's budget accommodation. Booked thru lastminute.com, it was a pretty good price ($160NZD) considering the amenities provided. The rest of the accommodation at Le Vasa is MUCH more expensive. There is no real beach here (just a small smelly man made beach) but the views from the pool of the ocean are spectacular, and the garden is immaculate. The staff are generally friendly, and we didn't feel like we were treated differently from the other guests even though we stayed in the budget side. The sunsets are pretty beautiful, and can be seen from some of the restaurant tables while eating your dinner. The meals are pretty expensive though, and not exactly large, but good quality. The best garlic bread I've had in a while! There were plenty of activities if you wanted to stay around the resort, kayaking, pool table and library with TV and board games.
Really, the only reason we thought it was so good was because we got such a good deal on the room, and we'd just been staying in fales on the beach in Savaii and were a bit sick of the sand! There would be plenty of things to be less than impressed about if you were paying full price in their waterfront fales.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamadhiStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeVasaResort, Guest Relations Manager at Le Vasa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2016

Thank you for saying we have beautiful setting, that the staff are friendly and good quality food. Hope to see you again alofas from Le Vasa Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Fatuosofia
20.3 mi away
Tanoa Tusitala Hotel
21.1 mi away
Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Hotel & Bungalows
20.9 mi away
Le Manumea Hotel
Le Manumea Hotel
#9 of 29 in Apia
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Return to Paradise Resort & Spa
34.3 mi away
Saletoga Sands Resorts
Saletoga Sands Resorts
#1 of 1 in Matatufu
435 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sheraton Samoa Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Vasa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Vasa Resort

Address: West Main Beach Rd, Cape Fatuosofia, Upolu, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Upolu > Cape Fatuosofia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cape Fatuosofia
Price Range: $84 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Vasa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Vasa Resort is a spectacular ocean front hideaway, set on 8 acres it's perfect for a romantic getaway and true relaxation. The resort is nestled in a peaceful and secluded setting and provides an authentic South Pacific experience with all of the modern amenities you desire. Le Vasa Resort features 13 private oceanfront fales and villas, 2 standard rooms, boat house, day room, an ocean view restaurant and bar, and an extensive selection of activities including fishing, diving and surfing all in a traditional village setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Vasa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Vasa Hotel Apia
Le Vasa Apia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing