We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice family run hotel.”
Review of Hotel Efes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Efes
Ranked #3 of 14 Gumuldur B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice family run hotel.”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Beach nearby with very clear water and very clean. The breakfast was very nice and my 3 year old girl was well catered for. The owner is friendly and speaks good English and any problems were quickly ironed out. I will definitely return soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobCeuppens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Husnu H, Manager at Hotel Efes, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Mr/s Ceuppens
we are glad you have enjoyed your stay.
hope to see you again.
kind regards\
Husnu Han
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
6
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burnley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is a lovely small hotel, clean, very comfortable especially the beds, good food, service and value from Mr. Han and his staff. Blue flag beach and a night market. We have holidayed with Mr. Han on several occasions over the years and never had any problems.

Room Tip: Front rooms have street view, back rooms get the sun most of day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coldstreamer22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Husnu H, Owner at Hotel Efes, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Mr/s Whitehead
Thank you for your lovely comment on Hotel Efes we look forward to seeing you again.
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Don’t expect anything fancy from Efes Hotel, it is not a five star hotel, it is a small family hotel offering great value in terms of benefit/cost ratio. In addition to great hospitality of its owners, breakfast is very elaborate. Rooms are clean and there is a blue flag beach in five minutes walking distance.

It has a decent location, where you can use it as a hub to reach neighborhood places such as Selcuk, Efes, Kusadasi, Sirince Village, Sigacik, Seferihisar (slow city) even Dilek Peninsula National Park etc. If you have a car, it will be much more easy to drive those places, however you can always take small buses (dolmus in Turkish) which is a regular way to travel between immediate surroundings in Turkey.

We spent a wonderful time in Gumuldur at Efes Hotel. Thank you for everything.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ozcrazydiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Husnu H, Manager at Hotel Efes, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Sir and Madam
we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay, we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cremona, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

A very old-fashioned place, full of problems (many awful mosquitos, bad air conditioning, poor state of the building) that the owner tries always to minimize. Unfortunately, his strength is in speaking but he does nothing: he speaks fluent English and he's probably the only good English speaker in Gumuldur. This is his only strong point. Be careful because if you are not satisfied he will do everything to exploit your reservation in order to withhold all your money.
The beach is dirty, and you have to walk half an hour to find a nice water. Gumuldur has many tourists from Turkey, and few from abroad (that's can be an attractive quality or not, depending on one's own preference).

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank leo d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Husnu H, Manager at Hotel Efes, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Sir for Madam
you have booked at our hotel trought booking .com and unfoutenetly expected five star hotel.as we did not have pool or close to beaches you did not stayed and left for cactus paradise, we had to cancel your booking in case of cancellation we charged you as it stayted on the booking.com agreament, during the high season you have agread on booking your reservation, as you are aware we only charged you some of it and refunded some of it as good will of guesture. we have not offered new building or star hotel,but air condition are brand new the beds carpet etc. when critising one should do it honiestly but any further mprovement we will make to please you again we offered what was on booking. com no more no less Our beaches is clean ofcourse after crowed it will be dirty but it is cleaned every day. water is cyreatal clear unlike some other contries no indutry build aroun gumuldur/ Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnitogorsk, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

It was very nice rest! Thanks mr. Husnu for his friendly relation. Sea is clean, waterpark near, each evening shopping street is opened, If you have a car, you can reach a lot of attractions in vicinities of Gumuldur, Efes for example.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrey9061966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Husnu H, Manager at Hotel Efes, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Andrey;
we do hope you have enjoyed your stay, we will try our best to improve more, to get your 5 star rating thanks again we do hope to see you in Gumuldur/
greetings
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is a once in a lifetime experience and I and my family and friends have enjoyed immensely the services provided to us, just excellent throughout the quality is second to none. I will definitely come back and recommend this excellent hotel to all my friends and relatives.

Room Tip: the hotel provide all round services and excellent throughout. Very good for both business and pleas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 617mandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Efes H, Manager at Hotel Efes, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Mr/s Paule and family,
We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seing you again.
Kind regards
Husnu. H manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This was certainly a hotel with great waiters. A silent and relaxing hotel close to the beach. Lots of different activities and shopping within the area. Amazingly cheap to stay in Efes Hotel considering the high quality. My recommendation to everyone is to taste their special ice cream called Husnu dondurma.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Efes H, Manager at Hotel Efes, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Mr. Celal G.
We are very glad that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel. we are continuously improving our services and quality of our hotel.
We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards. Husnu Han
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gumuldur
0.3 mi away
Gumuldur Mavi Deniz Hotel
0.1 mi away
Gumuldur Resort Hotel
Gumuldur Resort Hotel
#3 of 9 in Gumuldur
202 reviews
0.3 mi away
Club Cactus Paradise
Club Cactus Paradise
#5 of 9 in Gumuldur
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Colophon Hotel
Colophon Hotel
#8 of 9 in Gumuldur
7 reviews
8.5 mi away
Sunis Efes Royal Palace Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Dilek Hotel
Dilek Hotel
#6 of 14 in Gumuldur
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Efes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Efes

Property: Hotel Efes
Address: Sahil Caddesi, 6227 Sok. No. 9, Gumuldur 35458, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Gumuldur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Gumuldur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Think of Turkey, as cosmopolitan, apart of an extended Europe. Sun, blue skies, azure waters, picturesque villages and perfect beaches all await you.Gumuldur ıs an unspoilt village located along the Aegean coast of Turkey. It is situated approx. 40 km south of Izmir air port (ADB), between Cesme and Selcuk, Kusadasi. As an undiscovered village by many tour operators, it is ideal for the visitors who wish to stay away from the crowds and have easy access to historical sites. The entire area more than satisfies lover sun,nature,and exploration. Hotel Efes is situated along the Aegean coast, 150 M a way from the blue flagged long sandy beach of Gumuldur. Hotel has 14 en-suite twin or double bedrooms, also 2 family suites,( 4 person.1+1 with kitchen) all rooms and suites are specious fitted with TV, Air-conditioning,mini fridge,desk, double glazing, carpeted throughout. As well the Hotel has its garden restaurant, lobby, bar and roof terrace to relax. Hotel Efes Managed by Mr. Han who studied hotel management in Switzerland and trained by the Savoy Hotel London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS so you can book your Hotel Efes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing