We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only if you MUST be in Pohang.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Benikea Hotel Pohang
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Pohang
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Only if you MUST be in Pohang.”
Reviewed September 24, 2010

Only if you find yourself stuck staying the night IN Pohang, as my wife and I did recently, should you consider staying at the Ramada Encore. We found the hotel a bit dirty, the staff rather aloof, and the quality of sleep very poor. The bed was "springy" and uncomfortable and the sheets very old, thin, and stained. Worse though, we found it very hard to sleep as the walls were so thin. We could hear every shout and laugh, every search for a key and turn of a door knob, and every intimate moment of our neighbors, err, romantic interlude. I understand you get what you pay for, and this place is pretty cheap. But all these shortcomings put together make for a hotel you best avoid. I recommend doing what we would have done if we didn't need to be in Pohang early the next morning: stay at the Hilton up the road in Gyeongju. And while you're there, don't miss the shabu-shabu at their Japanese restaurant. Pricey, but superb.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rbjmnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    9
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
1
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Aurich, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2010

I was there for two nights business trip. Hotel easy to find. Normal standard . I payed arround 50 euro incl. a easy breakfast.
Hotel offers free fast Internet, English speaking stuff. Small rooms, small bath room. Some English TV chanels. Some km away from center of city.
If you want a easy Hotel without big Service and cheap Price, this is ok.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Texagon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
63 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2010

Good clean rooms, good internet.

Limited western menu available, closes 9:30pm, not good if you are working late and don't want to go out. No room service avaiable, but you order and take to your room.

Away from city centre, about 15-20 minutes walk.

Staff are friendly and helpful, good level of English spoken.

OK for working base.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cobblaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
Reviewed December 29, 2009

I visited in December on business for a week. The hotel is one of the nicer one’s in Pohang that are foreign traveler friendly. The staff were always ready to help with any request. The rooms are of varying sizes, I have stayed in the smallest(225 sqft) and the largest(300 sqft). The dinner menu is small but the good and breakfast is buffet style. I stay there every time I am in Pohang.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank For_the_money
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2008

My daughter and I traveled to Pohang and stayed at the Ramada Encore Hotel. It was very clean and the bathrooms were nice. The rooms reminded me of a college dorm room - no drawers or closets! The twin beds were fine. There were computers with internet access in the lobby area that worked great. No iron or ironing board in the rooms - however access to an ironing room on the 3rd floor - along iwth a washer and dryer. The breakfast was fine - never ate any other meals there. A/C was not the best - but it never is in Korea. Felt safe - and the staff spoke English very well. Would stay there again.

  • Liked — Price and cleanliness
  • Disliked — air conditioner
  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 99pilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2008

Good hotel for business travellers who want western style accomodation. The rooms are spacious, clean and bright, and the bathrooms are also very nice.

Staff friendly and all speak English so no issues there.

There is internet in the rooms but you have to get a cable from reception.

The breakfast is very good, western type with all the usual options. The food offered at other times of day by the hotel is quite poor however, but frequent travellers to Korea will not be strangers to this and will be used to going hungry.

If you are bored and have some free time leave the hotel and turn right. Walk down to the first main set of lights and do a right again, it's a narrow street that leads right into the heart of Pohang fish market, one of the biggest in Asia. Colourful and fascinating !

Pohang itself is pretty boring and industrial, don't expect too much, but there are pockets of interest here and there and as usual in Asia the people are very kind, courteous and humble.

  • Liked — Brand new hotel, so clean and bright rooms.
  • Disliked — Maybe the food in the restaurant could have been better.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JohnCY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2006

Having been to Pohang several years ago I was pleased to see that a western style hotel has finally appeared. The Ramada Encore does not have all the bells and whistles of say a Ramada Plaza but is is modern, clean and comfortable which is the best you can hope for in Pohang. The rooms are ensuite of a good modern standard with limited Satellite TV. The small restaurant serves western and Korean dishes, but if you are planning to stay more than a week you will have eaten your way through the entire menu. The restaurant also has a small bar and there is wireless internet in the lobby so you can surf away while having a beer. As entertainment goes that is it.
The staff are friendly, but then again aren,t all Koreans, and they speak good English. The centre of town ( MacDonalds and KFC) are a short taxi ride away as is the POSCO Steel plant.
The one thing I have seen at this Hotel that I have not noticed in other Asian hotels before is consideration for wheel chair uses, with a lift up the steps of the front door and lowered elevator buttons. This shows how new this hotel must be.
All in all this is the best Hotel I know of in the area, the only other one I have heard about is the Cygnus Hotel at the other end of town but I have not been there so I cannot comment on it.
Hope this short review helps.

Englishman in Pohang

  • Liked — Clean and modern
  • Disliked — Limited facilities and location is a plod to the centre
  • Tips/Secrets — Get an international drivers licence before coming to Korea otherwise no car hire possible
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Englishman_Abroard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pohang hotels
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pohang Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Philos
Hotel Philos
#8 of 12 in Pohang
34 reviews
1.2 mi away
Appletree Hotel
Appletree Hotel
#3 of 12 in Pohang
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Galaxy Hotel
Galaxy Hotel
#4 of 12 in Pohang
7 reviews
0.9 mi away
No photo provided
Commodore Hotel Pohang
#5 of 12 in Pohang
11 reviews
2.6 mi away
Valentine Hotel
Valentine Hotel
#7 of 12 in Pohang
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benikea Hotel Pohang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benikea Hotel Pohang

Property: Benikea Hotel Pohang
Address: 128, Jungang-Ro, Nam-Gu, Pohang, Gyeongsangbuk-do, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Gyeongsangbuk-do > Pohang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Pohang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Benikea Hotel Pohang 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BENIKEA Hotel Pohang has a unique and accessible ambience. With 90 modern and sophisticated rooms to accommodate guests, the hotel has comfort, style, and a welcoming air in which any weary traveler would seek lodging. The cutting-edge equipment and convenient layout is the pride of BENIKEA Hotel Pohang. All guestrooms have a shower stall, air conditioner, wired or wireless Internet connection, LCD TV, and telephone. There is even tea provided, if you would like to unwind in the privacy of your own room. The business center can be used for meetings. Breakfast is served with hot beverages. The reception is friendly and helpful and the staff will make you feel at home as soon as you enter the building. "Ulleungdo-Dokdo Event" Reserve a Hotel Pohang. Present a ship-boarding pass for Ulleungdo or Dokdo Islands, or a reservation certificate (including a text message) at the hotel front desk to receive a 20% discount on your room (one room for two people, including breakfast). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Benikea Hotel Pohang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Kyongju
Kyongju Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing