We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a big surprise”
Review of La Favorita

La Favorita
Reserve a Table
2
Mon, 9/23
8:00 PM
Ranked #3 of 10 Restaurants in Apricale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $39 - $39
Cuisines: Barbecue, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Known for our preparation of grilled meats, recommend, Leg, shoulders and ribs from lambs milk, and cut fillets of beef, skewers and Rostelle, accompanied by seasonal vegetables and fried potatoes fresh peeled from us. The huge arched windows offer a glimpse English style nestled in the valley. Nestled in the room, a fireplace always lit by the familiar warmth and delight guests churning legs and delicious lamb chops, steaks and fillets of beef and other delicacies grilled in front of the customer in an atmosphere of times past. The outer room where you can have lunch outdoors admiring a magical landscape, breathing the air of mantagna, and a dinner by candlelight in a magical atmosphere, listening occasionally singing frogs in the creek below. Restaurant with rustic and elegant
Reviewed August 6, 2019

This has been one of our favorite restaurants in the area over the last 10 years. But this year there has bee a big change, The menue changed to a limited number of fixed
meals This changes the whole athmosspere and the former high class of this place.
What a pitty. Food quality was ok but is missing the flair of the vertical grill, the service is ok. Presently difficult to recommend.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hans_g_gueldenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Favorita R, Proprietario at La Favorita, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2019

Good morning.
I am very sorry to hear that since we have been a client for more than 10 years, that he has been a member of Tripadvisor since 2013, and that in these 6 years since he registered he has never written anything positive about us since we she was fine, but immediately wrote badly after she found she didn't like it anymore.
I am also sorry that he did not feel well, the quality is the same, the dishes are always those of the past, but served in a different way, with a fixed menu for € 35. The menu a la carte have been years that we wanted to take it off, and from now on we will work like this, because we believe in what we do and we are much more satisfied than before.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (516)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 516 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2019

Very friendly staff and the food was really good. The meat was barbecued on open fire inside the dining room. A place to bring friends and family.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank micael l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2018

we received a really friendly welcome from the owners. The service was quick and efficent; Will go back again.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank val3heed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2018 via mobile

We have been in Apricale three years on a row now and never had a meal here at La Favorita
Big signs at the road indicating we sjould not miss it so this year we decided not to try it and walked a weekday from Apricale to have lunch here.
Three other tables, alle tourists and not a local in sight, strange and it made my partner want to leave.
He has this idea that if the locals do not eat here there must be something wrong.
The owner approached us and we had our menues. We decided on a pasta dish and gnocchi with gorgonzola sauce, knowing that they were both primi dishes- which is all we normally eat for lunch and usually enoughto fill us up in the middle of the day.
The tables around us had starters and the house sprciality, leg of lamb cooked on the fire.
It looked really nice.
Our dishes came , and what a dissapointment it was, the portions were so small but we ate and left to go somewhere for a dessert and a coffee, we somehow felt a bit robbed at daylight, the prices do not fot the size of the portion served.
We felt so much in the wrong place, and now we have been here and tried it.
but there are so many other good restautants in Apricale I would rather spend my money, sorry to have to write this.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Pkoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2018

An out of the way place but rather special. The food is good and fresh and the service friendly. The use of an open fire to roast meat is quite something but the result is excellent so no gimmick.
To find the place , watch out for the sign just as you enter Apricale. It is a sharp turn up a steep road to the left. There is parking near the restaurant.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank andrewmpowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Favorita also viewed

Apricale, Province of Imperia
Apricale, Province of Imperia
 
Apricale, Province of Imperia
Apricale, Province of Imperia
 
Dolceacqua, Province of Imperia
Dolceacqua, Province of Imperia
 

Been to La Favorita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing