We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Medieval setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Muntaecara Albergo Diffuso
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Apricale
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Having visited this medieval perched village several years ago we were happy to see that several bandbs have opened offering a chance for a unique experience. This place is a collection of rooms scattered throughout the village with a central breakfast area. The town itself is small and compact but it's very easy to get lost in the warren of passageways which is part of the fun. Our simple but newly remodeled room offered a view of the green hills beyond. Staying in Apricale was a delightful experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnStaBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (531)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 531 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

Last summer this hotel treated us appallingly. We booked a luxury suite for four people complete with kitchen and fantastic views. What we received was a cramped room with two double beds squashed, no kitchen and the only view was from a tiny window in the bathroom. However they had asked for the money up front - they offered us a very poor alternative and when we tried to sort the matter out after our return they said we could have a free nights stay in the following 8 months - not that we would ever wish to return. The breakfast was awful, the service haphazard and the whole experience spoiled what had been a fantastic holiday.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Feskas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Apricale is absolutely breathtaking and the MuntaECara is a perfect fit. The hotel consists of renovated homes throughout the town. The town itself is gorgeous and fun. The locals are friendly and english, french, italian and german are spoken by most people. We have 3 children from 4 to 11 years old and they didn't want to leave.

It's also a 15 minute drive to the Italian Riviera towns of Bordighera and Ventimiglia, 45 minutes to Monaco and an hour to Nice. Terrific getaway, I can't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

This hotel lived up to our expectations, which were high after reading all of the good reports from previous travellers' posts. Apricale is charming and atmospheric and the hotel room was bijou but clean and beautifully appointed. The village was so quiet and relaxing, yet in easy reach of the hectic and glamourous French and Italian Riviera. We appreciated the friendly welcome of the staff who spoke a little English and French and were patient with my attempts at Italian. There were some nice little restaurants in the village and the breakfast room was laid out with a fine sperad of cakes and other local delicacies. It was lovely being right in the heart of the village with the little rooms spread about the place. You could hear the lovely sound of the church bells every hour which added to the charm - we really seemed to be transported back to medieval times. Wonderful!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerAB1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

While driving up the winding road to Apricale we were amazed with the sight of the village. It looks like a fairytale village carved out of the mountain. Extraordinarily exciting and curious, we were greeted by Valentina's boyfriend, who escorted us to our room. The rooms are dislocated, which in this case indicates that they're not in the same building. It was quite a hike to our rooms, so comfortable shoes and pack lightly. Wouldn't reccomend it to elders or families with children and strollers. Our room was the "blue butterfly" room. Bufferlies everywhere!!!!!! Quaint little room, small bathroom with massaging shower heads. Since it was built out of stone, it's quite irregular in shape and a little tight if you're big and tall. It was perfect for us because we're "small". Breakfast was right across the way from our room. Valentina and her family greet and spoil you with their homemade treats. Lots of sweets but no eggs or meats. Didn't matter, there was plenty to be satisfied with.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "butterfly" room. I imagine all of the rooms are quiet because there are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mariabilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank yuripower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Davide B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apricale
0.1 mi away
Apricus Locanda
Apricus Locanda
#1 of 2 in Apricale
226 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Lago Bin
Hotel Lago Bin
#1 of 1 in Rocchetta Nervina
171 reviews
9.5 mi away
Albergo Santo Spirito
Albergo Santo Spirito
#1 of 1 in Molini di Triora
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Grand Hotel del Mare Resort & Spa
6.6 mi away
Modus Vivendi
Modus Vivendi
#22 of 43 in Sanremo
282 reviews
0.0 mi away
Da Giua'
Da Giua'
#2 of 5 in Apricale
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muntaecara Albergo Diffuso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muntaecara Albergo Diffuso

Address: Piazza Vittorio Veneto ,2, 18035 Apricale, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of Imperia > Apricale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Apricale
Price Range: $98 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Muntaecara Albergo Diffuso 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apricale, an ancient medieval village just minutes from the sea of Bordighera and Ventimiglia. Enjoy a unique and memorable stay in a residence of a medieval village of the most beautiful in Italy. Treat yourself to the pleasure of taking long walks, challenging mountain bike trails, steep descents, rafting, canyoning. Get to know our magic theme rooms and taste the typical products of our land, to relive the emotions of the past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Muntaecara Albergo Diffuso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing