We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best base for exploring Bavarian Alps and Czech- Republic”
Review of Gaestehaus am Berg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gaestehaus am Berg
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Best base for exploring Bavarian Alps and Czech- Republic”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This great Guest house is rum by two great people who it was hard to escape from every morning because we loved chatting with them . Their local knowledge is amazing for a couple of Pom's ( ha! Ha! ) . The room had spectacular view across the boarder to Czech Rep. and a good comfortable bed. Breakie was great just right to get the day started.
Location just perfect we did only one of the many walks that start just out side or down the path in the village . And made forrays into the most beautiful Czech Rep.
Easy to get to and only a few hours from Pils or prague , and Cesky Krumlov.
I am interested in glass so all this was a mecca for me.
The towns folk where very friendly and after only a few days I knew a few of their names and every one knew of the Ozzies in town!
Highly recomend a stay here.

Room Tip: Take a trip across into Czech Republic , go by car and see Hartmanice (Klatovy District) they have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartyDownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

...ran by fantastic hosts.
Claire and Jerry really know the surrounding area well and provided us with lots of information regarding things to do and places to go.
The accommodation was very pleasant and the continental breakfasts were great with lots of choice.
Claire and Jerry have that rare blend of genuine friendliness and a desire to offer a great service.
Quite frankly, they made a good holiday great and I wish them nothing but the best for the future.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

This is the second time we have stayed at this excellent Gastehaus in Bayerisch Eisenstein and on both occasions we have been delighted with the welcome we have been given. The first time we were skiing in the locality and arrived by car. On the second visit we arrived by train and were picked up and returned to the station by our hosts Claire and Jerry. Their knowledge of the area is encyclopaedic and this was particularly useful as we wanted to know about suitable activities and venues for both wet and dry weather. The free local travel card which allows unlimited travel thoughout the National Park area is particularly useful. The rooms are comfortable with tea and coffee making facilities, biscuits and sparkling water. The breakfasts are very good with home made preserves and the ever present Chako the dog pathetically pretending he never gets fed! We hope to be back there soon.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank conguk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

We selected Am Berg as a base for a walking holiday and were not disappointed. There were many wonderful walks we could have done , but with the help of our hosts Claire and Jerry, chose and enjoyed excellent, varied walks. The help given can not be underestimated, they recommended and helped plot routes, provided delicious packed lunches and gave us full details of the local trains enabling us to walk further afield.
The bedrooms are simple and basic, comfortable and clean. The breakfast area and seating area is spacious and comfortable. On our only rainy day we returned to a wonderful log fire Jerry and Claire had laid for us.
It was a wonderful break and much of that is down to how helpful our hosts were. We travelled there by bus and train, again all the details of times etc being proved by them and their painstaking research on our behalf.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AMaureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clairejerry, Owner at Gaestehaus am Berg, responded to this review, June 8, 2011
Many thanks for your review. We're very pleased you so enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again to our guesthouse and the Bavarian Forest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2010

The comfortable living room with cozy fireplace, the fluffy, friendly pooch wandering around enjoying the attention of the patrons, and the wonderful hosts made this the ideal weekend ski/mountain getaway. Marmite and Lemon Curd available at the free, delicious breakfast buffet! Oh and there was an amazing bohemian restaurant just down the hill, within walking distance, had the best duck ever.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank denisefromCA_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayerisch Eisenstein
0.3 mi away
Waldspitze Hotel
Waldspitze Hotel
#5 of 5 in Bayerisch Eisenstein
23 reviews
3.7 mi away
Orea Hotel Spicak
Orea Hotel Spicak
#2 of 5 in Zelezna Ruda
20 reviews
3.7 mi away
Orea Resort Horizont
Orea Resort Horizont
#1 of 5 in Zelezna Ruda
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Brunnenhof
Hotel Brunnenhof
#1 of 5 in Bayerisch Eisenstein
22 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eisensteiner Hof
Eisensteiner Hof
#2 of 13 in Bayerisch Eisenstein
17 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pension Elan
Pension Elan
#1 of 13 in Bayerisch Eisenstein
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaestehaus am Berg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaestehaus am Berg

Property: Gaestehaus am Berg
Address: Bayerwaldstr. 5, 94252 Bayerisch Eisenstein, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Lower Bavaria > Bayerisch Eisenstein
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Bayerisch Eisenstein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gaestehaus am Berg 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our friendly guesthouse is in the quiet village of Bayerisch Eisenstein, only 5-minute walk to its centre & train station. Bayerischerwald(D) and Sumava(CZ) National parks, ski runs, hiking and cycling trails close by. Bedrooms have private shower & toilet, LED flat screen TV with integrated DVD player, hairdryer, free tea, coffee and mineral water, radio alarm clock. Most have balconies. Our guest-lounge has great views, wood-burning fire, comfy sofas, games, toys, DVDs, travel guides and maps. FREE buffet breakfast, FREE local public transport, FREE parking & FREE WiFi. FREE shuttle service from/to village train station on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HRS, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Gaestehaus am Berg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing