We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the most wonderful accommodations in Thailand” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Penzy Guesthouse

Penzy Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Penzy Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 65 Chaweng B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the most wonderful accommodations in Thailand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

I had a wonderful time during my stay at this guesthouse. Penzy, the owner of this guesthouse, is an amazing friendly woman. She will do everything for you. Besides the rooms are so good. Every room has its own fridge and tv and in the lobby downstairs you can borrow dvds. The location is also very good, a five minute walk and you are at the beach. It felt immediatly like coming home when I arrived here, although I am already travelling for three months. I would without any doubt recommend this guesthouse.

Regards Nanouk

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nanouk S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    39
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
2
46
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Once again we were not disappointed by using Tripadvisor to find our next place to stay. We were met by Penzy and her husband David on arrival and they together with a very friendly younger girl made our stay very comfortable and enjoyable. Our room and the rest of the guesthouse was very clean and tidy and the towels replaced every day. We also has a small fridge which was great for storing fruit, yogurt and for my daily ice-cream treat! Location wise it was really good, especially for the beach and the likes of 7/11, restaurants etc. It was however 15mins walk to the main(most busy) area but that suited us fine as still lots going on there. It was nice having a chat with Penzy and David and we felt very at home! We have been travelling through Thailand for about a month and have become use to getting drinking water in our room so for us that was the only thing missing. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We were in room 5, small balcony. Very quiet, just be careful when carrying your luggage up and down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarlienB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cajica, Colombia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

I stayed 2 nights and the helped me going to ang thong maritime park and also he did my laundry in extra time. If you want a feel comfortable, you should stay here because they help with your needs, booking boats and everything else. Close to main street.

Room Tip: Rooms at first floor are better inside
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lotrav12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

I stayed here in December 2012 and it was a truly memorable stay! Despite the whole island losing power, David and Penzy were excellent hosts, high standards were maintained and they made the stay as welcoming as possible.

The Guesthouse is an excellent value for money option in Samui, very clean and the hosts go out of their way to help you. David was great at updating us on the situation (man from Bangkok is coming!) and helping plan next steps - he even offered to cancel part of the booking due to the power situation!

Well worth checking out - and probably even better with power!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Del Sur
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay at Penzy's. it was a little pricy for a backpackers budget but everyday our room was cleaned and every morning penzy and her staff were smiling and very helpful. We planned to stay for 4 days during full moon and ended up staying for 7. It also only a block from the beach which was very convenient.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KElizabeth143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

I have stayed here @ Penzy Guest House for a week. Penzy, David and a young lady who's name escapes me are perfect hosts. They are friendly, happy and go out of their way to help. The guest house is clean and comfortable with good sized rooms and amenities.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank highway0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

As mentioned by everyone, Penzy and David are fantastic hosts. They make you feel welcome, will arrange trips, taxis etc and give advice on where to go and what to do. Penzy is Thai so can negotiate well on your behalf, and was telling us of a few times when she had to dig people out of sticky situations!
Sunny is the rooms to the left of reception, Penzy guesthouse is the rooms to the right. We actually ended up staying 2nights in Sunny rooms, which are basic but have everything you need (including AC and fresh towels) and are clean. The shower had a slight smell, but we think this was the rain causing slight smell from the drain as opposed to anything regarding cleanliness as it only happened once. Penzy rooms are a lot nicer decorated, and seem a little cleaner somehow, but as we got a free upgrade from Penzy, not sure how much a difference in price there is.
Chaweng beach is quite touristy, so make sure this is what you want.....guesthouse in a great location for beach access though not beachfront, has many good cheap Thai restaurants close to it and loads of shopping. Penzy also helped arrange our full moon party trip.....though, as she said, the boat back was quite a scrum!

Room Tip: Not sure on price as we were lucky enough to get upgraded when we booked a few extra nights.....room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shellie222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.1 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.7 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
0.3 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel
0.5 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
0.5 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penzy Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penzy Guesthouse

Property: Penzy Guesthouse
Address: 37/75 Moo. 3, Soi Alibaba | T.Bophut, Koh Samui, Suratthani, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Penzy Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Penzy Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penzy Guesthouse Hotel Chaweng
Penzy Guesthouse Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing