We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, perfectly located accommodation, very friendly staff, great value for money!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Penzy Guesthouse

Penzy Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Penzy Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 65 Chaweng B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, perfectly located accommodation, very friendly staff, great value for money!”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Penzy's Guesthouse was just what we needed to wrap up our trip to Thailand! From the moment we arrived, Penzy and David were so helpful and friendly! After our long trip there, this was refreshing and much appreciated. The room was clean and nice, and the guesthouse is perfectly located just a 5min walk from the beach and all the shops, bars and night life. Penzy and David helped us book day-trips while there, as well as our transportation to Bangkok after... this saved us tons of time. Thanks to both of you for a great stay-- would recommend this guest house to everyone!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMF155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    41
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
2
49
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

The reviews sure don't lie about this lovely guesthouse. The service is hands down the best we had throughout our travels in Thailand. Penzy and David are super helpful and friendly, they booked us our Thai cooking class with a discount and we were able to rent a motor bike through them which was excellent as most renters will hold on to your passport as deposit and we felt more comfortable leaving our passports with Penzy rather then a stranger on the street. When we booked our room online, Penzy emailed us with lots of helpful tips and advice which was very kind .The location is awesome as its just down a little side street off the main road. It's about a 5 minute walk to the beach. Rooms are super clean and fresh. Would definitely stay there again and highly recommend to other travellers!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kailyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a few nights in June of 2012. We had read previous reviews which indicated this was a great place. They weren't wrong! The best part of this place has got to be the helpfulness of the staff. Penzy helped to book the next leg of our journey and gave us very solid advice on what to look out for and suggestions on what to do next. The free coffee in the morning was a nice touch. They also offer free dvd's to borrow for the evening if you would like to watch a movie. Great location, just off the beaten trail yet only a few minute walk to Chaweng beach. Many restaurants and shopping nearby. The room itself was maybe not the best place we stayed (bed was quite hard and room was a little run down although very spacious) however all of the other positives greatly outweigh the minor deficiencies in the room which is why I gave this 5 stars.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed here on a layover to get to the other islands.

The staff were so friendly, they helped us as best they could.
The rooms were clean and air conned.
Location is pretty good also.

Probably wouldn't stay again as we were just a little bit disappointed with this part of Samui, but this is a personal reason and nothing to do with the hostel. they were just great.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBDubIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Very nice little hotel, but what made the experience was Penzy and Dave, the owners. They stayed up late when our flight in was delayed, they gave us usefull information and Penzy helped us book all of our ferries. The hotel is a bit far from the main chaweng strip (25min walk), but a short tuk tuk ride is 50 batt.I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PharmSuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

The staff are all extremely friendly and very helpful and the rooms are comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoBeachForMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

This was a nice, clean hostel with helpful staff. They organised activities for us. It's a bit of a walk from the main area probably 20 minutes but nice and a good budget hostel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ninoDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.1 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
634 reviews
0.2 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
0.0 mi away
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,636 reviews
0.5 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,291 reviews
0.4 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penzy Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penzy Guesthouse

Property: Penzy Guesthouse
Address: 37/75 Moo. 3, Soi Alibaba | T.Bophut, Koh Samui, Suratthani, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Penzy Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Penzy Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penzy Guesthouse Hotel Chaweng
Penzy Guesthouse Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing