We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in great location”
Review of Penzy Guesthouse

Penzy Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Penzy Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 65 Chaweng B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great value in great location”
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Really reasonable room rates (1000 baht for double). Spacious room, clean and had tv with unlimited free DVD rental in the lobby. Penzy can help organise trips/boats and is very approachable.

Location is excellent - just off the main street in south chewing which is quieter than the north but still lots going on and only 15 minutes walk to main bars. Only negative is that there is no lift and stairs are quite steep (might be difficult with lots of heavy luggage).

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leanne_gray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    41
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
2
49
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Penzy is run by a lovely couple who can't do enough to help you! Nice clean rooms and lots of DVDs to rent for free and watch on your big telly! 5 min walk to the beach. Very highly recommended x

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jade987654321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
2 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Penzy is so helpful and friendly. She can arrange tours, transportation, gives many helpful tips, and is truly a sweet person.

Free coffee in the lobby is a nice touch. I suggested free beer, but I don't think they will go for that. ;)

There was no loud music as some of the past posts have indicated. The disco bar was closed in early June so everything is pretty quiet now.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueberrybangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2011

This is a very pleasent guesthouse with really friendly owners. The place is spotless. The room was a great size, with en-suite, tv, fridge and free wi-fi.

It is situated at the quieter end of chewang beach, which is fine. Lots of places to eat and drink within 2 minutes walk.

The only problem with the guesthouse, is that it is opposite the only club at the south end of the road. It is loud from 10pm to 2:30am. The owners recognise this, and warned us, and offered us earplugs. But i still think it is worth it, great place, great price, great hosts that booked everything we needed.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davadking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenzyGuesthouse, Owner at Penzy Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Great News, the loud bar was demolished a year and a half ago in May, 2011.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2011

I was there with my boyfriend in November just before full moon..
Penzy and Dave have been really nice to us,by booking taxis and boat for excursions, telling us every good places to visit..

Everything there is really clean and friendly if I go back in Koh Samui, I'm gonna book there once again without any hesitation!!! ;)

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelimelOune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

We lived at Penzy guesthous for 6 nights, David and Penzy are the most welcoming hosts we have ever met. They made our week in Samui, and we highly recomend everyone to stay here. The rooms was cleaned daily and had a dvd player. They helped us organize a island tour and transportation too the airport.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linn-kristin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, SK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2011

The place was great, GREAT staff members (Penzy and David can arrange all your needs and help with discounts), great accommodations, free wifi, coffee, dvds, air con, nice little balcony for people who smoke. Great location for venturing off to the beach. If there is one thing that could've been better, I wished the guesthouse was more near the bar scene as in (Henry, Green Mango, or wherever most of the bars are). It is a bit of a walk 20-30min to the bars which isn't that big of a deal but at night you may not wanna be walking home alone cause in some spots its dark. Other than that, I'd rate this place easily 98%

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KIMCHI-LIFE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.0 mi away
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel
0.2 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
0.1 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,331 reviews
0.4 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,395 reviews
0.5 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penzy Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penzy Guesthouse

Property: Penzy Guesthouse
Address: 37/75 Moo. 3, Soi Alibaba | T.Bophut, Koh Samui, Suratthani, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Penzy Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Penzy Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penzy Guesthouse Hotel Chaweng
Penzy Guesthouse Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing