We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:30 AM - 3:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Fantastic learning experience for the family!

My children (13, 11, and 9 years) and I had a wonderful experience learning from Cam and Lat. Our... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
MelissaS6070
Best Experience In One Year of Travel Around The World With Kids

We are a family of 7, 2 adults and 5 children ( with 3 of them participating in the cooking class... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Leigh G
,
Pine Ridge, South Dakota
Read all 337 reviews
  
Reviews (337)
Filter reviews
337 results
Traveler rating
329
5
1
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
329
5
1
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews organic farm coconut cream and milk cooking class her husband photo gallery garden tour organic food the kitchen at home making coconut papaya salad keeping an eye own garden picking fresh from scratch truly memorable experience curry paste
Filter
Updating list...
182 - 187 of 337 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2016

Like most of the tourists who want to check out something interesting to do on the island, like learning how to cook traditional Thai dishes. My daughter and I really enjoyed our cooking experience; from the great class/companies to the awesome cooking teacher. So if you want to learn something new on the island I highly recommend this place.

2  Thank lizawang001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2016 via mobile

Whilst I was staying at the wonderful Palms Retreat in Samui, it was suggested that I try the Island Organic Thai cooking class. What a great idea it turned out to be.
A tour of the farm where Cameron and Lat grow much of their food in inventive and sustainable ways was absolutely fascinating. As we walked around we collected herbs and other ingredients for our cooking class. So nice to have totally fresh produce, including freshly laid eggs!
Lat then proceeded with the cooking class. Delightful tuition and insights into the mysteries of Thai cuisine....some simple recipes and techniques that produced a delicious lunch. The other participants and myself all ate together, amazed by the meal we had managed to create. Terrific fun, informative and delicious...what's not to love?!
Ruth from HK

3  Thank Ruthfaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2016

We had a lovely day with Lat, Cameron and their family. Not only did we enjoy the cooking classes, but we also loved the concept and sustainable environment they have created at their home

Every moment of the day was fun, entertaining and educational. We highly recommend it :-)

1  Thank mallorca2013trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2016

There are a lot of cooking lessons offered on Koh Samui, but Island Organics takes cooking lessons to another level, making the day an exceptional experience never to be forgotten! They are totally organic focused, which yields exceptional end products.

Before cooking the meal, we toured Lat and Cam’s organic farm to gather ingredients, but at the same time were fascinated to be shown a bit about how the farm works. They have developed space saving vertical gardens, make their own compost, are experimenting with aquaponics, raise their own worms, and breed Tilapia fish. We saw the Mushroom Hut where mushrooms grow from tiny little buttons to beautiful big bunches of oyster mushrooms in 24 hours!

Whilst gathering the ingredients from the garden, Lat offered tastings of mustard leaves, peanut flowers, gooseberries (with a slight taste of tomato as they are grown next to each other), and Cam’s passion fruit with a unique lime tinge – much sweeter and juicier than the traditional granadilla.

The covered outdoor kitchen set up with its individual work stations is very professional.

We cooked Vegetarian Spring Rolls (Por Piet Tot), Yellow Curry with Chicken (Gang Garee Gai), Coconut Curry Chicken Noodle Soup (Khao Soi Gai), and Papaya Salad (Som Tum Thai), and in the process learnt how to grate coconut with a traditional tool, then make coconut cream and coconut milk, to use in making the soup.

Lat and Cam’s delightful daughter, Ging and friends, silently bustled around us tidying up and ensuring that everything required for each next step was immediately at hand.

Sitting together with the rest of the class at the end of the lesson we could not believe how delicious the dishes were, nor that they were dishes we had cooked ourselves, with Lat’s cheerful, patient, and expert cullinary guidance. What a feast!

They are a star studded team, and this was a most memorable experience, kindly endorsed by Cam, (also a multi award winning, world renowned, professional photographer!) who graciously followed up with an array of action pics of our class.

When in Koh Samui do not miss this unique and richly rewarding Island Organics experience, who are rapidly ascending in notoriety, with television stations from around the world promoting their unique excellence.

3  Thank Paddy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rattanaphorn D, Owner at Island Organics Thai Cooking Class, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2016

WOW! What an amazing review you have given us and we are truly touched. We enjoy our organic / sustainable lifestyle and are only too happy to share what we have learned with our guests. We aim to make your day the most memorable during your Samui holiday and love reading the feedback as it truly motivates us. We loved having you both at Island Organics and must THANK YOU for re-scheduling your flights and hotels just to spend a day in our little piece of paradise ! Thank you for joining the class and we do hope to see you again on your next Samui vacation !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2016

Well what a brilliant day out on Ko Samui at Cameron and Lats place. From Camerons intro of how they set up their organic garden and Lats tour of it, with very unusual and delicious tasting of Cams hybrid passionfruit vine and tastes of herbs, to the collection of ingredients and the actual cooking of 4 great dishes which as a non cook, i was so proud to have created under Lats watchful eye, to the eating of those dishes at the end, it was a thoroughly enjoyable and informative day out. I didnt want to leave!
Many thanks to Cam and Lat and daughter Ging (sorry if ive spelt it wrong!)

2  Thank Hayley060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandOrganics, General Manager at Island Organics Thai Cooking Class, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2016

Thank you for your wonderful review and yes you cooked a feast under Lat's well trained eye :) Make sure to download the PDF recipes and keep cooking Thai at home :) Glad you enjoyed the garden experience as this is where the jaw dropping taste is coming from... You should have stayed longer as we had lot's of garden tasks for you - perhaps next time :) Thank you again for attending and it really was our pleasure having you up for the day. Look forward to your next visit !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews