We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing value hotel a walk away from Chaweng”
Review of Baan Rom Mai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baan Rom Mai
Ranked #18 of 68 Chaweng B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights when visiting Samui. For the very good price, you get a very nice room with air con, hot shower, large room and bed, and other amenities e.g. fridge, safe for valuables etc.

The hotel itself is well located - set back slightly from the beach but a 2 minute walk away from the beachfront. Once you are on the beach you can walk along it - it's about 10-15 minutes to the busiest resorts. We had dinner both nights on Chaweng beach at the resorts, without the need for any taxis to get there or back.

The staff are also very friendly and helpful. We had one or two minor issues (e.g. the safe freezing up, electricity outage) but the staff at reception dealt with the issues very swiftly.

Overall would recommend if you are price-conscious and not too bothered about staying in a fancy beach-side resort, but want a decent room that is well located.

Room Tip: Get air conditioning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gaurav V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 38 of 83 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed in a Bungalow near the pool. It was quiet (apart from the air con) and nice. The room itself was basic, but clean and tidy, with room for everything you could want and a well stocked bar fridge. Sitting outside on the patio was quite nice in the evenings, listening to a myriad of frogs and cicadas. The pool is not as big as you would think from the photos, but still fantastic. Worth a swim.
The restaurant in the reception area (where breakfast was served) provided great local dishes if you chose not to go into Chaweng for the bright lights. Food was very good.
The garden was lovely, and could sit there in the evening as well, for a few beers bought at reception, or from the convenience store located 1 minute away (for all the last minute items).
The highlight for me, however, were the entire staff there. They take a low end, budget motel and turn it into a great, friendly and positive experience. They have the local knowledge, polite, friendly and make an effort for each guest, remembering preferences. Just for them alone, I would stay there again. Realistically, it is a basic small resort a couple of steps up from a flop house, and does not feel at all like that because of the attitude and personality you find from each of the staff there. Looking forward to the next time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidReilly78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I quite liked my room - it was light, spacious and clean! The whole establishment looked great and well-maintained. The pool and bar area was very nice; I liked that I could also order food there. Nothing to complain about in my short stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Londita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a fan room which was a nice size with a simple bathroom, all cleaned well daily. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Very nice pool although the food and drinks from the bar were a bit expensive! Excellent location, a 2 minute walk across the road to the north end of Chaweng beach which is in my opinion the best end as there are no snails in the sea! There was also a family mart a few metres away which was very useful. There was a safe in the room which is always a plus. Although there are two fans in the room I would definitely go for air con if your budget allows it as it's hard to sleep with the noise!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carolineold94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

For the price we paid it was perfect. Very close to beach (and the nicest part of it too), less than a three minute walk. We stayed in a fan room. The people who work here clean the room every single day, providing new towels, new sheets and replenishing toilet roll, shampoo and body wash for free. Fantastic stay would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MurrayLemmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

stayed here for 1 month in december 2012.
the good points....
the pool area is nice with a bar area and good food served to the poolside.
the staff are friendly.
the location is good.

however......

we stayed in an aircon room which had seen better days, the ceiling had cracks all over it,and the toilet filled to the brim everytime you flushed it so one of you had to use the toilet in reception every morning. the tv reception was terrible, i know you don't go on holiday for tv but when you stay somewhere for a month the odd night in front of the telly would have been nice.
the breakfast was awfull, dont waste the 200 baht, you can eat good food outside for half the money.
having paid around 1,800 baht a night for this resort can only say i felt utterly cheated, do yourself a favour and go to your place resort over the road for a far better deal, or try the rooms behind baan rom mai for 8,000 baht a month if you are looking at staying for a bit longer.

Room Tip: try a bungalow, maybe you wont hear EVERYBODY arriving back at night !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank glitch66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

We had a great stay here during the busy season in a standard aircon room. Hotel in a fab location with a nice pool area. Only negative thoughts were the bad tv reception & flooded driveway to walk through everyday but who needs tele on a beautiful island anyway & a little water on the feet is no problem at all. we would def return again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank supercaz78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
0.3 mi away
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
#55 of 103 in Chaweng
426 reviews
2.2 mi away
First Residence Hotel
First Residence Hotel
#53 of 103 in Chaweng
243 reviews
5.5 mi away
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
#24 of 51 in Lamai Beach
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
P&P Samui Resort
P&P Samui Resort
#71 of 103 in Chaweng
140 reviews
0 mi away
Lotus Friendly Hotel
Lotus Friendly Hotel
#11 of 68 in Chaweng
178 reviews
0.5 mi away
S.P. Chaweng Palace
S.P. Chaweng Palace
#19 of 68 in Chaweng
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Rom Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Rom Mai

Address: 119/5 Moo 2 | Bophutt, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Chaweng
Price Range: $18 - $37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Baan Rom Mai 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Baan Rom Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Rom Mai Hotel Chaweng
Baan Rom Mai Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing