We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mountain climbing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chaweng Bay View Resort
Ranked #55 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
151 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Mountain climbing”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Well, the hotel is very nice, beautiful and clean rooms for really affordable price . Its situated next to the road so its on tuk tuk line easy to go in the Chaweng walking street... but:
some rooms same as ours are located very high on the hill and the hotel just provides car to take you there until 16.30h after they dont have that car so you will need to climb there to go in your room.
Night time the road is quite dark so its not really comfy.
The pool is dark also at the nighttime what is very, very disappointing.
The pool restaurant is very expensive the staff there isnt the best and the food is not the best .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lydia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    46
    12
    8
    6
See reviews for
10
47
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We booked the most expensive room at a hotel with jacuzzi bath.
When we got to the room the Jacuzzi bath did not worked! in the evening, after waiting all day technician and he did not come they agreed to move us to another room. But also there the bath not worked ..And Furthermore, Falls was also disrupted.
All our holiday in Koh Samui destroyed,
We have only two nights there and more than half of the time we burned because of bugs in the room and poor service.
The service was terrible, it took them hours to get things moving and even the senior management barely understood English.
Another important point is,the hotel is not at Chaweng beach, this deception!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank limor h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

First, we had a little disappointed as it's not near to the beach. But after we settle down, we begin to feel it's a very great place. After we checked in, staff drove us to our room as all the rooms on the hill. Each room has a small pool with good decoration and kids were very excited with it. Staff are very nice and very helpful. They showed us around and briefed us how to use the facilities. The restaurant and swimming pool located on the top of the hill and have a good view. Food are delicious and the price are very reasonable. They even helped to buy some sea food from market and cook for us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lhy1793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We ordered a simple room with twin beds, and were upgraded to a 2 bed room villa (no extra charge). The rooms were clean, private and spacious.

The staff were very nice and helpful, and offered us a ride up hill to the villa, even though we checked in at 10 PM.
When we checked out, they offered us a ride to the boat pier for a reasonably small fee.

Breakfast (included in price) was served by the nice swimming pool, which has an awsome ocean view.

The hotel is located in Chaweng. A 5 minute ride from the bars and clubs area, and near the beach. But far enough from it, so you can relax qiutely in your room.

There is a scooter rental shop and garage near to hotel, they are nice and fair. Renting a bike is recomended for traveling around the island, and for climbing up hill to the room.

Bottom line, a highly recomended resort.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronenza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Clean and beautifull rooms, good location (about 10min with the bahtbus to chaweng town) scooters for rent at reception aswell. Pool is nice and view is awesome. Breakfast is simple standard i suppose with fruit, orange/apple/fruit juice coffee/tea, eggs with bacon & ham and toasted bread. They even coocked some thai soup for my thai gf who wasn't in the mood for a western breakfast. Did have to ask twice to get the room cleaned as they did not do it the first time we asked (probably a internal miscommunication) and our ac was leaking water (was working tho) i would not reccomend this hotel to elderly or less mobile people unless they book a room in the lower part of the resort because its quite steep and difficult to walk up to the higher part of the resort (where the pool and restaurant are located) they do not have 24/7 staff, they are there until 22:00 PM after that a security guard will be present at the reception. Overall had a pleasent stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Nice clean large bedroom with a beautiful view, in the middle of a quiet park. I did not try the restaurant but it's beautifully located around a very nice swimming pool with a great view. Absolute calm. As the rooms are uphill, scooter or car are necessary, or a passion for trekking. However, if the hotel was on the beach I guess it would be 5 times the price I paid. A 5 minute scooter ride from the dirty animated downtown and the beach. After all a very good choice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank omaillegod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We booked this place after reading reviews on TA and it looked like the best value for money. Through my fatigue of looking for a place, I didn't do my research properly and thought it was on/near the beach from a previous review I read, the title of the hotel should have given it away, but let me assure you it's not on or near the beach and after looking we couldn't find any easy access to the beach, the hotel say just turn right and then left, their English is quite limited. We found this a problem all along Chaweng Beach as most of the front has buildings on it, Lamai was much easier. We hired a bike from the hotel so we able to drive there but wouldn't fancy the walk there and back. We walked once in the evening, it took 20 mins to get to the start of the main strip and there is hardly any pavement or lighting on route.

We checked into our room and it was near the pool, very nice, large, clean and with great views. The only problem was it wasn't like the room I remembered booking, when I reviewed my booking.com reservation it said one-bedroom villa, private balcony, spa bath, this had neither. We checked with reception, they said no, only the executive villas have a spa, so I queried my booking with the agent. I also took a copy of my booking which said 'one-bedroom villa' along with pictures of a spa to reception, they said booking.com had got the wrong pictures on the wrong named rooms, the room names do not correlate with the hotel website, but I argued that this was what I thought I booked. Reception said this had happened before but that they would honour the booking but it would only be the day after, fair enough. Note - this has now been changed on booking.com but just making people aware.

We were moved the next day to the one bedroom villa, which was further done the hill, quite dark but clean, I preferred the other room but it was what we booked, my husband preferred the villa he thought it was quirky and liked the spa, its personal taste. The walk to the breakfast was also a bit further but hey it got the heart rate going in the morning.

The breakfast was very good and generous at times, it isn't buffet as people have mentioned, but we prefer not to have food that's been cooked and left out for ages. We had cereal, fruit, juice, toast, eggs etc etc and it was all good.

The pool is next to the restaurant and has great views, my only comment is they need more beds and more umbrellas, the sun can be quite harsh and there are only 2 umbrellas that we saw for 10 beds.

We used the laundry service while there and a previous reviewer was spot on with how fresh they smelt, we did question being charged for 8kgs, but hey we didn't have a scales.

Overall, good value for money for a standard room in Chaweng, I wouldn't pay for the spa villa and location is fine if you want to be away from the hustle and bustle and dont mind walking back and forth.

Room Tip: Rooms by the pool have the best view but means a long walk down the hill and up unless you have a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thewelshkiwiconnection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.4 mi away
Samui Island Beach Resort and Hotel
0.7 mi away
City Dance Hotel
City Dance Hotel
#27 of 104 in Chaweng
61 reviews
2.3 mi away
Seascape Beach Resort
Seascape Beach Resort
#59 of 104 in Chaweng
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Samui Bayview Resort & Spa
Samui Bayview Resort & Spa
#57 of 104 in Chaweng
276 reviews
2.6 mi away
First Residence Hotel
First Residence Hotel
#39 of 104 in Chaweng
213 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tango Beach Resort
Tango Beach Resort
#56 of 104 in Chaweng
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaweng Bay View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaweng Bay View Resort

Property: Chaweng Bay View Resort
Address: 9/39 Moo 2 Chaweng Beach | Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chaweng Bay View Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Chaweng Bay View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaweng Bay View Hotel Chaweng
Chaweng Bay View Resort Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing