We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a great place for vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chaweng Bay View Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chaweng Bay View Resort
Ranked #54 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“a great place for vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

First, we had a little disappointed as it's not near to the beach. But after we settle down, we begin to feel it's a very great place. After we checked in, staff drove us to our room as all the rooms on the hill. Each room has a small pool with good decoration and kids were very excited with it. Staff are very nice and very helpful. They showed us around and briefed us how to use the facilities. The restaurant and swimming pool located on the top of the hill and have a good view. Food are delicious and the price are very reasonable. They even helped to buy some sea food from market and cook for us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lhy1793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    44
    10
    8
    6
See reviews for
10
44
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We ordered a simple room with twin beds, and were upgraded to a 2 bed room villa (no extra charge). The rooms were clean, private and spacious.

The staff were very nice and helpful, and offered us a ride up hill to the villa, even though we checked in at 10 PM.
When we checked out, they offered us a ride to the boat pier for a reasonably small fee.

Breakfast (included in price) was served by the nice swimming pool, which has an awsome ocean view.

The hotel is located in Chaweng. A 5 minute ride from the bars and clubs area, and near the beach. But far enough from it, so you can relax qiutely in your room.

There is a scooter rental shop and garage near to hotel, they are nice and fair. Renting a bike is recomended for traveling around the island, and for climbing up hill to the room.

Bottom line, a highly recomended resort.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronenza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Clean and beautifull rooms, good location (about 10min with the bahtbus to chaweng town) scooters for rent at reception aswell. Pool is nice and view is awesome. Breakfast is simple standard i suppose with fruit, orange/apple/fruit juice coffee/tea, eggs with bacon & ham and toasted bread. They even coocked some thai soup for my thai gf who wasn't in the mood for a western breakfast. Did have to ask twice to get the room cleaned as they did not do it the first time we asked (probably a internal miscommunication) and our ac was leaking water (was working tho) i would not reccomend this hotel to elderly or less mobile people unless they book a room in the lower part of the resort because its quite steep and difficult to walk up to the higher part of the resort (where the pool and restaurant are located) they do not have 24/7 staff, they are there until 22:00 PM after that a security guard will be present at the reception. Overall had a pleasent stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Nice clean large bedroom with a beautiful view, in the middle of a quiet park. I did not try the restaurant but it's beautifully located around a very nice swimming pool with a great view. Absolute calm. As the rooms are uphill, scooter or car are necessary, or a passion for trekking. However, if the hotel was on the beach I guess it would be 5 times the price I paid. A 5 minute scooter ride from the dirty animated downtown and the beach. After all a very good choice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank omaillegod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We booked this place after reading reviews on TA and it looked like the best value for money. Through my fatigue of looking for a place, I didn't do my research properly and thought it was on/near the beach from a previous review I read, the title of the hotel should have given it away, but let me assure you it's not on or near the beach and after looking we couldn't find any easy access to the beach, the hotel say just turn right and then left, their English is quite limited. We found this a problem all along Chaweng Beach as most of the front has buildings on it, Lamai was much easier. We hired a bike from the hotel so we able to drive there but wouldn't fancy the walk there and back. We walked once in the evening, it took 20 mins to get to the start of the main strip and there is hardly any pavement or lighting on route.

We checked into our room and it was near the pool, very nice, large, clean and with great views. The only problem was it wasn't like the room I remembered booking, when I reviewed my booking.com reservation it said one-bedroom villa, private balcony, spa bath, this had neither. We checked with reception, they said no, only the executive villas have a spa, so I queried my booking with the agent. I also took a copy of my booking which said 'one-bedroom villa' along with pictures of a spa to reception, they said booking.com had got the wrong pictures on the wrong named rooms, the room names do not correlate with the hotel website, but I argued that this was what I thought I booked. Reception said this had happened before but that they would honour the booking but it would only be the day after, fair enough. Note - this has now been changed on booking.com but just making people aware.

We were moved the next day to the one bedroom villa, which was further done the hill, quite dark but clean, I preferred the other room but it was what we booked, my husband preferred the villa he thought it was quirky and liked the spa, its personal taste. The walk to the breakfast was also a bit further but hey it got the heart rate going in the morning.

The breakfast was very good and generous at times, it isn't buffet as people have mentioned, but we prefer not to have food that's been cooked and left out for ages. We had cereal, fruit, juice, toast, eggs etc etc and it was all good.

The pool is next to the restaurant and has great views, my only comment is they need more beds and more umbrellas, the sun can be quite harsh and there are only 2 umbrellas that we saw for 10 beds.

We used the laundry service while there and a previous reviewer was spot on with how fresh they smelt, we did question being charged for 8kgs, but hey we didn't have a scales.

Overall, good value for money for a standard room in Chaweng, I wouldn't pay for the spa villa and location is fine if you want to be away from the hustle and bustle and dont mind walking back and forth.

Room Tip: Rooms by the pool have the best view but means a long walk down the hill and up unless you have a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thewelshkiwiconnection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights and loved it. We had a room with a jacuzzi outside and the kids enjoyed playing in it. Our room was number 5 and adjacent to the pool - which meant there was no steep hill for us. We dined at the restaurant many times and we all loved it. Our package included breakfast and we had copious amounts of food which we could never finish. The staff were all gorgeous, Joe, the guy in the restaurant was delighful and spoke good English. The view from our room and the pool area is absolutely stunning.
The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from downtown but this suited us, as I didn't really want to be hearing music pumping all night with 2 kids in tow. One thing, that was a bit annoying is that the curtains don't have a blockout lining - so my kids were up before 6.30 am each day!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KatyHowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venezia, Italia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

The villas are located between the hills and is it very private and quite. The road from the reception to the rooms is very steepy but it is worth it the effort! Big windows allow to see the vegetation and it is very romantic. Breakfast in the morning near the pool it is the best thing because you have a spectacular view of the bay. The centre can be reached in 10 min by tuc-tuc (do not pay more than 100 baht for it) or you can rent a scooter from the hotel (250 baht) and keep it for 24hours. The scooter is a good idea because you can even reach the villa!
The centre is a long long road with thousands of shops and restaurants so a scooter from the hotel could be the perfect solution. The staff is very helpful and smily, you can even book tours and safari from the hotel. Rooms are clean and spacious. For breakfast you need to choose in the morning what to get and try to understand the girl offering different things (eggs, toast, cereals, pancake, juices). Laundry service is cheap and good. The pool is very nice and open until late, 10 pm, and it is very romantic to stay there with just the lights in the evening.
Book a taxi from the hotel before arriving because it is cheaper than booking it at the airport. And hope the flight is on time!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erikabello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
0.7 mi away
City Dance Hotel
City Dance Hotel
#31 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
3.2 mi away
Marco Polo Resort & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Maryoo Hotel
Maryoo Hotel
#95 of 187 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
#48 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
2.3 mi away
Seascape Beach Resort
Seascape Beach Resort
#66 of 104 in Chaweng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
3.5 mi away
Samui Bayview Resort & Spa
Samui Bayview Resort & Spa
#56 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaweng Bay View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaweng Bay View Resort

Property: Chaweng Bay View Resort
Address: 9/39 Moo 2 Chaweng Beach | Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chaweng Bay View Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Chaweng Bay View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaweng Bay View Hotel Chaweng
Chaweng Bay View Resort Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing