We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confirmed Dara Villa was not given to us, Harassment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dara Samui Beach Resort
Ranked #21 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Confirmed Dara Villa was not given to us, Harassment”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We booked the Dara Villa at the Dara Samui for 8 nights way back in Aug, 2012 for our honeymoon and paid expedia.co.in 100% advance for the same in Aug, 2012. Thereafter, we wrote to the hotel a few times to confirm our hotel stay and the Dara Villa without any response. We then called the hotel in Dec to confirm our stay and the Dara Villa and requested that we were coming for our honeymoon and would like to have the room decorated etc. this was assured to us by the reservations staff we spoke to and was followed-up by an email confirming our hotel pick-up for which we were charged 600 baht.
Upon arriving at the hotel on 26 Dec at around 00:10am (as our flight from BKK to samui was delayed by an hour), I was taken aside by the hotel staff and informed that they had done a mistake and the Dara Villa which we had booked and paid for in advance was not available. She offered me a Superior room and said that the hotel would pay for the airport pick-up and drop and also provide us with dinner.
We were shocked and informed her that we were on our honeymoon and had confirmed our stay with the hotel on telephone a week ago and also on email, to which we got the same response.
We refused to take up the Superior room and after much discussion with the hotel staff she offered us the a Suite which we could stay in until the 29.
Since we were very tired and didn't want to ruin our honeymoon we agreed to stay in the suite offered.
Upon wanting to meet the GM of the hotel the following day, we were informed that the GM was not available and we need to take a prior appointment to meet her.
No special arrangements were made for our stay and request.
On 29 we didn't get fresh towels and when we called the reception for the same we were informed that they didn't have fresh towels for the next two days.
I lost my cool and insisted to meet the GM of the hotel who was not available and after going up to the reception and telling them how we were to bath, we were provided by two pool towels.
Spent the next 1 hour on the phone with customer service of expedia.com who weren't really helpful either.
Would never recommend this hotel to anyone nor every stay in the same.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zameerban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rmdarasamui, Manager at Dara Samui Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Zameerban,

Greeting from Darasamui Beach Resort & Spa Villa, we would like to thank you for taking your time to review your comment on Tripadvisor.
First please accept my sincere apologize on what' s happening to your booking on Villa room and we were upgrading you to stay at Deluxt Suite with you get the double space that Villa, and we move you to the room you booked immediately after it's available a few day after .

Regarding the appointment to meeting with me I recieve the message to meet you on your 2nd day at 11.00am at hotel lobby after waiting for your 30 minute but you not shown up then I walk down to looking for your on the beach found that you were both swimming in the sea

After we not meet and we move you to the Villa room I am apologize that I dont' have chance to meet you personnally

The Bath Towel will replace to every guest room on daily basis in the when the room maid cleaning your room, I will investigate with the serving towel process with my team why you were informed that towel will not come with in 2 days.

Once again please accept my apologize for all inconvenient cause you and all your value suggestion we would like to thank you and will improve our service standard to avoid this unsatisfaction occur.

Yours Sincerely,

Ms.Kesorn Khaoreung
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    279
    85
    46
    41
See reviews for
141
335
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ramat Gan, Israel
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Very good hotel. we enjoy it very much. Great location. very good value for money.
The only problem in this hotel, is that you don't have enough place to seat near the swimming pool, but if you don't spend the day there, that's not a problem.
Yuval.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yuvalrubi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rmdarasamui, Manager at Dara Samui Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Yuvalrubi,

Greeting from Darasamui Beach Resort & Spa villa, we would like to thank you for taking your time to review the comment on Tripadvisor

We are happy to learnt that you were enjoyed your holiday with us and regards to the space on the beach at the moment is lots of space as we already get back to clear sunny season no problem about the high tide anymore and it's happen to set up over 70 sunloungers on the nice white sand beach.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to stay with us again.

Yours Sincerely,

Ms.Kesorn Khaorueng
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

It is waste of time and money. The money anyone would spend at this hotel can provide a top notch experience at any other hotel in Koh Samui. The room was filthy, the shower was dirty and full of stains, there were brownish stuff floating on bathtub, the room was smelly, even remote control had unbelieveable dirt on it (check pictures if you like)
The swimming pool is like a little paddle, beach is just after the pool, no space for anyone to move, wi fi is not available in the rooms, only cable network, a rip of mentailty of the management, they placed additional bed in our room and tried to charge that, in fact we didnt ask any additional bed.
I didnt stay at this hotel after 3rd hour, rather than having a miserable stay, we chose to change the hotel in expense of burning the charges. A rude "manager", I believe there are good staff working there, the receptionist had to follow her manager's attitude, even though she was trying to be nice. So, honestly, just stay away from this hotel, the money you would spend will give you better options for sure. Check the recent review of the hotel, not months and months ago, there is a consistency for recent visitors when it comes to cleanliness and service standards. Finally, we moved to a hotel we stayed 14 years ago, we thought we upgraded ourselves by choosing Dara Samui, it was a mistake, we had great time in our next hotel even though it was at least 14 years old.
After I raised complained to booking.com, the response from this hotel management was a fabrication, I can understand one side story from a manager, however they fabricated the facts, so no point to write complaints anymore, it will go nowehere, So sincerely, stay away from this hotel for your own peace of mind. It is a rip off.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaybarsOral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rmdarasamui, Manager at Dara Samui Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Baybars Oral

Greeting from Darasamui Beach Resort & Spa Villa, First of all we would like to thank you for your taking time to review your comment on Trip advisor

We would like to apologize for all your convenient during you were here and your comment and suggestions to our Service and Cleanliness standard is very helpful, with this value comment we will looking in to with seriosely and will correct it to avoid it happen again.

Please accept my sincere apologize of any matter that we can not make you satisfied and disappointed with our resort

Yours sincerely,

Ms.Kesorn Khaoreung
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

we had been for couple of days and enjoined our stay very much
the hotel staff is very frendly anh helpfull
the location is in the middle of main street closo to restaurants clubs and shopping area
the only problem is a lot of stairs from the road to the lobby, from the lobby to rooms, and from rooms to the beach
if you have haevy luggage you need assistance
try to receive a room at the main passage at lobby level
no advantantage of higher level floors because there is no city or sea view from any room

Room Tip: if stairs are not a problem so all superior rooms are the same if they are try a room at the lby or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DK5179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rmdarasamui, Manager at Dara Samui Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear DK5179,

Greeting from Darasamui Beach Resort & Spa Villa, we would like to thank you for taking your time to review your comments and we are happy to hear that you were enjoy your holiday with us ,

We all hope to welcome you back again to our Resort in not too far distance

Yours sincerely,

Ms.Kesorn Khaorueng
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Our first night in Samui we came to Dara Samui for dinner. The restaurant setup looked very high standard with live music. Happy hours are till 8pm, but the waiters start avoiding you 5-10 mins before 8pm to save on the happy hours. The food was semi-gourmet but pretty good. We ordered spicy food and the chef did not show any misery in making the food really hot. The Pad Thai was really good, especially because that was the only thing not spicy. The restaurant is a bit pricey (about 1000 THB per person with 1 drink).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yashgupta25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rmdarasamui, Manager at Dara Samui Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Yashgupta25,

Greeting from Darasamui Beach Resort & Spa Villa, we are appreciate your great comments on our food and happy to learned that you were enjoying it

On behalf of Darasamui Team members we are looking forward to welcome you and your family back to stay with us again in not too far distance.

Yours sincerely,


Ms.Kesorn Khaorueng
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Once again I had an excellent stay at the Dara. That is with 2 exceptions. 1. Loss of power and 2. Too many Israelis but, both of these situations were out of the Dara's control. I had an excellent time at the cocktail party for the Kings' birthday. The staff, as usual, were extremely pleasant, extremely courteous and extremely helpful. I would like to say a big happy new year to Boa, Nat and Tum and the rest of the at the pool bar. Once again thank you to all the staff at the Dara Samui and I WILL see you again next year. HAPPY NEW YEAR.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unit noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jock51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rmdarasamui, Manager at Dara Samui Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Jock51,

Greeting from Darasamui Beach Resort & Spa Villa, we would like to thank you for taking your time to write your positive comments on Trip advisor and we are all happy to hear that you were enjoyed your holiday once again with us.

I have already convey your compliment message to all staff especially the pool bar staff as you mentioned their name.

Looking forward to welcome you back next year

Yours sincerely,

Ms.Kesorn Khaoreung
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
1 review
Reviewed December 24, 2012

The location is quite good, almost in the middle of Chaweng street, very convenient for shopping and getting something to eat. Room is very quiet if you choose near beach, but remember to close door all the time to avoid insects coming into. Staff are friendly, we booked cars and tours to Antong and NanYuan from travel agency in the lobby, Ms Hong is a nice girl, she helps a lot, esp. gave us some disccount, haha, prices are almost the same compare to other agencies.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jin Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.8 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,819 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#11 of 104 in Chaweng
2,453 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dara Samui Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dara Samui Beach Resort

Property: Dara Samui Beach Resort
Address: 162/2 Moo 2 Chaweng Beach | Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Dara Samui Beach Resort & Spa Villa)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#17 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dara Samui Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Dara Samui Beach Resort, a Thai 4-star beachfront resort with the most authentic Thai architecture, strategically located along the most exciting beach on Samui - Chaweng Beach. It is a short walk to a variety of important "facilities" for every visitor - Thai spas/massage, money changers, banks, 24-hour convenience stores, beach bars, restaurants, street shopping, high end shopping and night life. We have 24-hour reception, 5 room categories, complimentary wifi access in all guestrooms - lobby - restaurant, breakfast restaurant (7am-10.30am),1 beachside restaurant (11am-10.30pm), room service (7am-10.30pm),1 freeform swimming pool (7am-7pm) with outdoor jacuzzi (10am-12pm and 2pm-5pm), poolbar (11am - 11pm), tour counter and airport transfer services. All rooms and suites have electronic key card access, rich wooden fixtures and fittings, individually controlled air-condition, private bathroom, in-room safe deposit box, satellite TV, DVD player, sofa or day bed, balcony and complimentary wifi. Due to the structure of the resort, we do NOT recommend guest with physical challenges as there are many stairs and steps - no guests elevators/lifts. Beginning 01 November 2017, the resort will be an All Adult resort with minimum age being 12 years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dara Samui Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dara Samui Beach Resort & Spa Villa Hotel Chaweng
Dara Samui Beach Resort And Spa Villa
Dara Samui Beach Hotel
Dara Samui Beach Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing