We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super hotel with a good location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dara Samui Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dara Samui Beach Resort
Ranked #26 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Lynge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super hotel with a good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed there for 12 days in the hotel. The swimming pool was super, and it was clean also. The staff were very helpfull and always smiling . The restaurant have a lot of choises and the food is excellent. You can choose to eat at the restaurant in front of the hotel or at the beach.
We did not use the beach for swimming unless we go for about 5 minuttes to swim in the ocean. The sea in front of the hotel is too warm and to low to take a swim in, however this was super for our to kids.
Location of the hotel is good, since it´s central and then again not noisy when you enter your own room. We are going to stay there again next year that´s for sure.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Camilla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rmdarasamui, Manager at Dara Samui Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear Camilla,

Greeting from Darasamui Beach Resort, and thank you very much for your taking time to review the value comment on Tripadvisor,

Your comfort and enjoyment are always our highest priorities and we appreciate your comments very much. Your observations are our most valuable source of information, from which we can review our performance and implement any changes necessary to ensure that we achieve the standards of excellence that you expect and deserve.
We were very pleased to read that we succeeded in meeting and surpassing your expectations and that we were able to demonstrate our commitment to hospitality.


Looking forward to welcome you back next year.


Best regards,

Ms.Kesorn Khaoreung
Resort Manager
Email : rm@darasamui.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    261
    80
    41
    37
See reviews for
119
303
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Perfect location if you want to enjoy the nightlife and shopping opportunities in downtown Chaweng. Despite of its central location its very quiet (no outside street noise) except the air condition is above average noisy.

The deluxe room we stayet was nice and comfortable, a four star room.

What I didnt like:
The beach area is not that nice. Very shallow waters, slightly polluted. If you are looking for a hotel with nice beach within Chaweng I would rather recommend Nora Resorts or Samui Imperial which have far better beach, but not as central location. It really depends on what you are looking for.

Room service could also have been better. One day they forgot to clean our room, and the next day they didnt change the bedding even though its was dirty (food stains, not to worry :) )

No wifi in the room was also a minus.

All in all we were quite happy with the hotel, but have experienced better four star hotels in Chaweng.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donthomasino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rmdarasamui, Manager at Dara Samui Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Donthomasino,

Greeting from Darasamui Beach Resort, and thank you very much for your taking time to review the value comment on Tripadvisor,

We would like to apologize on the Roomservice and Cleaning room issues, with this we can seriousely improve our service standard.

We hope to have a chance of welcoming you back in order to demonstrate the improvement our standards of hospitality and service for which the Darasamui .

Best regards,

Ms.Kesorn Khaoreung
Resort Manager
Email : rm@darasamui.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon Hills, Illinois
Level Contributor
137 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

My son and I stayed there for 8 nights and enjoyed it immensely. The location is near quick mart stores, restaurants, tourists shops and an abundance of bars. The beach is nice but the water is very shallow. However there is a beautiful beach within a 10 minute walk. We used that one. The hotel was very clean and had all the amenities in the room. We had a good size patio with a bamboo rack for drying bathing suits. The beds were comfortable and the air conditioning was great. The mini refrigerator was cold and you stock your own unless you request otherwise. The staff was very polite and efficient. You meet people at the pool every day from all over the world. The pool side bar has 2 happy hours a day. Touts on the beach are more entertaining and not a menace. Airport taxi is cheap and there is a shuttle service from the airport also. Everything you need in Koh Samui is within walking distance. Lots of bars and restaurants on the beach along with masage parlors. We would stay there again rather than trying to find another hotel. The price was right considering what you got. I read some complaints about the lack of air conditioning in the lobby. It's not a problem. Almost all the hotels are set up that way. The lack of elevators was not a problem either as it was not a high rise hotel. Three maybe four floors, not quite sure. A good choice.

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms are similar but one closer to the pool would make less walking in the mornin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 767captlarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rmdarasamui, Manager at Dara Samui Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear 767captlarry,

Greeting from Darasamui Beach Resort, It has been a great pleasure to hear your comfort and enjoyment during your stay with us,

The whole team of Darasmui are delighted have been of your service and we look forward to welcoming you back in not so distant future.

With best regards,

Ms.Kesorn Khaoreung
Resort Manager
Email : rm@darasamui.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Dara samui is so good choice for a family vaction. Kids love its swimming pool and beach, parents can enjoy the happy hours in bar. Nice food, good service and beatiful seaview. Typical Thai style buidling is value added for the trip. All is amazing in Dara samui.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wenna l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Dara samui located is good for a family vacation. Very easy to walk to any places in the island.
Kids enjoy the swimming pool and beach very much, breakfast and bar is very nice as well. We have a amazing time in Dara samui with good view,room and service of hotel.

Room Tip: higher floor ( above two) are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nina l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

The hotel is located on the begining of the chaweng area, although the sea is shallow at this point, the Dara compensaint with a beautiful swiming pool and great vacinity to the local enterteiment.
The rooms are the real treat!! evrey deluxe room is like a suit, with a genouros bath area and a wide balcony.
The hotel's restaurent is good and offers live music evrey evening. Wifi is free but is restricted to te pool area and looby.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Found this resort on line. It lived up to what was advertised and more. The setting was perfect, although the rooms were getting a bit tired. They are in the process of renervating. The service and staff were great. Met on arrival and processes were efficient and relaxed. All our needs were catered for. Advise and help provided as required. Little extras were left in rooms at night, when beds turned down.
I would recommend this resort to others as we were very happy here, and felt like we mattered to the staff. They communicated well and always acknowledged us each time they saw us.
.

Room Tip: Look at rooms that have been updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.3 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,247 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
#48 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dara Samui Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dara Samui Beach Resort

Property: Dara Samui Beach Resort
Address: 162/2 Moo 2 Chaweng Beach | Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Dara Samui Beach Resort & Spa Villa)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#18 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dara Samui Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dara Samui has beachfront location centrally located on Chaweng beach and walking distance to shopping and night life areas. Hotel offers free high speed WIFI in all rooms. Rooms size start from 42-128 sqm or 455 sq ft - 1380 sq ft with full Air Conditioned rooms. The hotel is a 4-star Thai Lanna-style boutique resort with 4 rooms categories. Relaxing, sports activities or shopping, whatever is your pleasure all are within easy reach at Darasamui. You never run out of things to do, unless you wish to. 2 Restaurants, 1 Bar,Swimming Pool, Beach, Sun Deck, Concierge and many more facilities are awaiting you... Try once at our Best Romantic Beach restaurant "Dara Serene" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Dara Samui Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dara Samui Beach Resort & Spa Villa Hotel Chaweng
Dara Samui Beach Resort And Spa Villa
Dara Samui Beach Hotel
Dara Samui Beach Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing