We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice for the price.........”
Review of The Laem Din Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Laem Din Hotel
Ranked #93 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here for one night and booked a few more.
Hotel staff were friendly, professional and very helpful. The hotel has big rooms with well stocked fridge, Free daily water, balcony, quiet aircon, good wifi and comfy bed. It is located near the lake at the back of Chaweng away from the beach but not too far to walk. Some bars and shops etc nearby with all you need.
The hotel is next to FX Hotel which is owned by the same people and you get to use the faciities there also. They have a nice roof top pool and the Laem Din has a pretty good gym and motorcycle hire which i would trust more than some of the local rental agents.
My room at the rear of the hotel was quiet and clean, and for 900 baht per night was a great deal. I would stay again.

Room Tip: A room at the back is quieter than the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 55 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed here 3 nights, good value at just under 1000baht a night, and not too far a walk from the main shopping area & beach, with a Family Mart just along the road. Decent sized rooms, A/C & wifi works fine, good size fridge.

1st night, I had a room at the front. Loud music from a local bar til 1am plus the loud traffic noise (motorbikes constantly going past & pickups with loudspeakers blasting out music) meant a poor nights sleep. Changed to a room at the back, had a blissful nights sleep. On my 3rd day, had two young daft idiot male kids in the room next door, shouting, screaming, slamming doors & frequently running out to the balcony to spit off it,as well as playing loud music, all this just in the afternoon !!. By 7pm, I had to knock on their door & warn them about the noise, so they decided to go out. Unfortunately they came back about 3am & kept me awake for over a hour.

A pretty decent place to stay & quiet, if you have a room at the back, & don't have two juvenile prats in the room next door. I was just unlucky

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaynewcastle11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights and it was the first time I stayed away from the beach when on Samui. For us this was a great decision as you for the same money get a really small old room on the beach but here we had a spacious room with balcony. The bathroom was in need of some refreshing - but again looking at the price we paid I wouldn't expect even what we got. There's a couple of small places to eat in the neighborhood and a few convenience stores. There's also a row of bars with pool tables a couple of 100 meters away. This is a great place to stay if you rent a motorcycle and want to drive around the island daytime and then enjoy the nightlife in Chaweng nighttime. If you are really in for a beach holiday I would stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: The rooms towards the back are much more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matjesill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I found this to be a great hotel, which was recommended by a friend. it's very clean as you walk in and I was able to negotiate a great price for a one night stay. For me personally to location is perfect, it is not bang on the strip where all the bars are located, as the problem I found with any hotels on the strip was that they are squeezed in on top of each other, almost in a claustrophobic fasion. it's a 5 minute walk to the main touristy strip "dream girls", etc and a two minute walk to the strip which had the more quiet girlie bars. the only downside was that my room had no safety deposit box, I did not ask at reception so maybe other rooms had them. I have stayed in a few hotels in Koh Samui and this was definitely my favourite one for a shot stay.

Room Tip: ask for a safety deposit box at reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benaichar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed here for 7 nights in December for Christmas. I personally really like the location, 3 minutes walk to the Chaweng Beach Road where the shops, bars, and restaurants are, 5 minutes walk to the beach, 2 minutes walk to the 7/11 or Tesco Lotus. So it is in the great location yet it is not too noisy. There is a new basketball, soccer, volleyball court just across the hotel. I played some pick-up basketball games with the locals there, they were good! It is located by the Chaweng lake also! So you got lake, courts, beach, shops, yet you still get your peaceful space.

The room is spacious and clean, we got a nice balcony where you can see the sunrise in the morning. Nice rooftop infinity pool at the FX hotel next door that you can use, the view was great from there-the mountains and the lake. The staff were really nice and friendly. Those ladies that clean the room everyday were really nice. They have a mini gym that you can use for free downstairs, not too big, but it is good enough for doing some weights and stuff.

Overall it is really great value for money! you get almost a little bit more than you pay.

Room Tip: You'll get the sunrise comes into your room in the morning if you choose the one that faces the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helohans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here 3 nights. Very nice and spacious room, clean, good service and nice manager. 10 minutes walk from the beach, not closest hotel but reasonably located good.

Only con. Was the price of laundry service - 100 THB per kg. You can find much cheaper places around.

Overall recommended!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oded1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Spent a couple of nights here in early October. The hotel is located a few blocks from the beach and on the street that leads to the Reggae Bar.
The FX Hotel is next door and had a pool that Laem Din guests are allowed to use.
The rooms were large, cleaned daily and have a small TV with cable channels in foreign languages.
Rooms facing away from the street offer only a view of the back lane way.
This is a budget hotel but very good value for money.

Room Tip: A room facing the street will offer a slightly better view, if you're not a light sleeper and do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.0 mi away
Nantra Chaweng Beach
Nantra Chaweng Beach
#69 of 104 in Chaweng
126 reviews
0.0 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,893 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baan Hin Sai Resort & Spa
Baan Hin Sai Resort & Spa
#86 of 104 in Chaweng
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,525 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Nora Buri Resort & Spa
Nora Buri Resort & Spa
#18 of 104 in Chaweng
1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Laem Din Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Laem Din Hotel

Address: 3/57 Moo 2 - Soi Poonsawas | Laem Din, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Price Range: $44 - $1,415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Laem Din Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Laem Din Hotel features 18 twin and 18 double bed Rooms, all rooms are equipped with Multi Channel Cable TV, a fridge (minibar), hot water pot, complementary bottle of drinking water, tea or coffee, hot and cold shower, remote controlled A/C and free 24 Hrs. high-speed 2 Mbps Wi-Fi Access at any point in the Hotel. Each room features a small terrace/balcony. There is a lift from the lobby to 2nd and 3rd floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Laem Din Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laem Din Hotel
The Laem Din Hotel Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing