We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and service!!”
Review of The Laem Din Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Laem Din Hotel
Ranked #95 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Hoi An, Vietnam
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great hotel and service!!”
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here 3 nights. Very nice and spacious room, clean, good service and nice manager. 10 minutes walk from the beach, not closest hotel but reasonably located good.

Only con. Was the price of laundry service - 100 THB per kg. You can find much cheaper places around.

Overall recommended!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oded1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    21
    13
    4
    5
See reviews for
1
22
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Spent a couple of nights here in early October. The hotel is located a few blocks from the beach and on the street that leads to the Reggae Bar.
The FX Hotel is next door and had a pool that Laem Din guests are allowed to use.
The rooms were large, cleaned daily and have a small TV with cable channels in foreign languages.
Rooms facing away from the street offer only a view of the back lane way.
This is a budget hotel but very good value for money.

Room Tip: A room facing the street will offer a slightly better view, if you're not a light sleeper and do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed in mid September which turned out to be the start of the quiet season. Checked in with no problems. Room for the price is large with a kingsize bed, fridge and tv. The cleaners were superb and cleaned the room every day, changing sheets and towels in the process which was brilliant. Reception were always friendly and helpful when needed. This hotel is just far enough from the beach to be quiet at night and just close enough for a quick stroll for a swim. I loved the fact that I got a couple hundred metres to walk off a lovely dinner on the beach!. There are a lot of little shops and bars that are much of the same and the people are the same everywhere you go in chewang - always trying to get you in their bar/restaurant or sell you something. Its strange at first but you just get used to it and find more interesting ways of saying no thank you as the holiday goes on. They are not pushy and will usually leave you after the first 'no'. We wanted a base and somewhere to store our belongings whilst we went out and explored Koh Samui and this is exactly what we got. I have stayed in 5 star hotels and the service we received here beats it hands down. If you want a beach front apartment then I would suggest you pay for such a holiday. If you want a nice room that allows you to sleep at night and more money to spend on going to the amazing places this island has to offer like Angthong, the safari parks and the beaches then I would highly recommend the Laem Din. The price was great, the staff were great and the room was great.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank LJGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We came to Koh Samui late that night and the old man behind the desk needed help to translate from the FX hotel ( who i think are partners with Laem Din) because the woman behind was wearing a FX shirt. A very good budget hotel with CLEAN rooms, good location and very helpfull personell. We was a group of 5 people and no one had a bad experience. I want to salut the cleaing lady for making our room spotless.

I also must mention the funny old man who are sitting behind the desk on nights, he is VERY helpfull and funny when he explain thing and try to understand. I had many laughts and i will remember this hotel because of him.

I recommend this hotel if you are on a bugdet and a couple. Near to the main shopping street and marked. Just a 5 min walk to the beach. Every taxi driver did also know where Laem din was, thats a plus for me. And no noice, i sleept GOOD

Room Tip: All rooms are like. Pick the one at the back, no noice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronny_angel_lovstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

This is a 10min walk from the beach. You will pay at least 5 time more for a beachfront property with pool so this is super budget hotel. 15 usd per night. By beach is 50+ so depends what you want and need. This is very much a budget hotel but has air con, wifi and ensuite bathroom.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

We met Tand (family owner/sales guy) on our boat trip from Phi Phi to Koh Samui. We had not booked any hotels so decided that we would try it out for a night. We turned up and the hotel looked ok for 1500BAHT - Thats AUD$45 per night for the room. (3 people). Not a bad deal. It was clean and staff were friendly and helpful. We also got to use the rooftop pool at FX hotel next door. This hotel is situated approx 5mins walk from the main street of Chaweng. An easy walk to the main beaches. We had planned to stay in a beachfront resort - however decided that would be be best to stay at Laem Din longer and spend the extra $$ on tours/food/shopping. If you want value for money - try this place.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrippedUp2Max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at the Laem Din Hotel. The people there were really nice and helpful and even let my parents phone the hotel landline on christmas day to speak to me. The rooms were probably the best rooms we stayed in as a group during our 3 weeks in Thailand. I loved the fact that the rooms were large and had everything we needed including a huge fridge, cupboard, mirror, tv and balcony. The TV was especially great as it had loads of channels so we could watch some of the English channels. The bathroom was also nice and more importantly clean. Also there was free wifi and not only in the lobby but in the hotel rooms which was great! There isn't much in the way of restaurants in this area, but there is the night market very close by (within walking distance) which we went to twice and had 50 Baht mojitos! There was also some nice clothing and touristy things to buy. We also hired scooters from the hotel which was great fun. I would definately stay at this place again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
0.0 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,395 reviews
0.0 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,738 reviews
0.0 mi away
New Star Beach Resort
New Star Beach Resort
#19 of 104 in Chaweng
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#18 of 187 in Bophut
965 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
2,354 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Laem Din Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Laem Din Hotel

Property: The Laem Din Hotel
Address: 3/57 Moo 2 - Soi Poonsawas | Laem Din, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Laem Din Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Laem Din Hotel features 18 twin and 18 double bed Rooms, all rooms are equipped with Multi Channel Cable TV, a fridge (minibar), hot water pot, complementary bottle of drinking water, tea or coffee, hot and cold shower, remote controlled A/C and free 24 Hrs. high-speed 2 Mbps Wi-Fi Access at any point in the Hotel. Each room features a small terrace/balcony. There is a lift from the lobby to 2nd and 3rd floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Laem Din Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laem Din Hotel
The Laem Din Hotel Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing