We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money!”
Review of The Laem Din Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Laem Din Hotel
Ranked #91 of 103 Hotels in Chaweng
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed in mid September which turned out to be the start of the quiet season. Checked in with no problems. Room for the price is large with a kingsize bed, fridge and tv. The cleaners were superb and cleaned the room every day, changing sheets and towels in the process which was brilliant. Reception were always friendly and helpful when needed. This hotel is just far enough from the beach to be quiet at night and just close enough for a quick stroll for a swim. I loved the fact that I got a couple hundred metres to walk off a lovely dinner on the beach!. There are a lot of little shops and bars that are much of the same and the people are the same everywhere you go in chewang - always trying to get you in their bar/restaurant or sell you something. Its strange at first but you just get used to it and find more interesting ways of saying no thank you as the holiday goes on. They are not pushy and will usually leave you after the first 'no'. We wanted a base and somewhere to store our belongings whilst we went out and explored Koh Samui and this is exactly what we got. I have stayed in 5 star hotels and the service we received here beats it hands down. If you want a beach front apartment then I would suggest you pay for such a holiday. If you want a nice room that allows you to sleep at night and more money to spend on going to the amazing places this island has to offer like Angthong, the safari parks and the beaches then I would highly recommend the Laem Din. The price was great, the staff were great and the room was great.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank LJGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 55 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2012

We came to Koh Samui late that night and the old man behind the desk needed help to translate from the FX hotel ( who i think are partners with Laem Din) because the woman behind was wearing a FX shirt. A very good budget hotel with CLEAN rooms, good location and very helpfull personell. We was a group of 5 people and no one had a bad experience. I want to salut the cleaing lady for making our room spotless.

I also must mention the funny old man who are sitting behind the desk on nights, he is VERY helpfull and funny when he explain thing and try to understand. I had many laughts and i will remember this hotel because of him.

I recommend this hotel if you are on a bugdet and a couple. Near to the main shopping street and marked. Just a 5 min walk to the beach. Every taxi driver did also know where Laem din was, thats a plus for me. And no noice, i sleept GOOD

Room Tip: All rooms are like. Pick the one at the back, no noice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronny_angel_lovstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

This is a 10min walk from the beach. You will pay at least 5 time more for a beachfront property with pool so this is super budget hotel. 15 usd per night. By beach is 50+ so depends what you want and need. This is very much a budget hotel but has air con, wifi and ensuite bathroom.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

We met Tand (family owner/sales guy) on our boat trip from Phi Phi to Koh Samui. We had not booked any hotels so decided that we would try it out for a night. We turned up and the hotel looked ok for 1500BAHT - Thats AUD$45 per night for the room. (3 people). Not a bad deal. It was clean and staff were friendly and helpful. We also got to use the rooftop pool at FX hotel next door. This hotel is situated approx 5mins walk from the main street of Chaweng. An easy walk to the main beaches. We had planned to stay in a beachfront resort - however decided that would be be best to stay at Laem Din longer and spend the extra $$ on tours/food/shopping. If you want value for money - try this place.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrippedUp2Max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at the Laem Din Hotel. The people there were really nice and helpful and even let my parents phone the hotel landline on christmas day to speak to me. The rooms were probably the best rooms we stayed in as a group during our 3 weeks in Thailand. I loved the fact that the rooms were large and had everything we needed including a huge fridge, cupboard, mirror, tv and balcony. The TV was especially great as it had loads of channels so we could watch some of the English channels. The bathroom was also nice and more importantly clean. Also there was free wifi and not only in the lobby but in the hotel rooms which was great! There isn't much in the way of restaurants in this area, but there is the night market very close by (within walking distance) which we went to twice and had 50 Baht mojitos! There was also some nice clothing and touristy things to buy. We also hired scooters from the hotel which was great fun. I would definately stay at this place again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2011

I'm writing this review on our holiday I'm that annoyed with this hotel. We've travelled from Railay Bay to Koh Phi Phi then to Koh Samui. We booked in an expensive resort (Muang Kulaypan Hotel) for three nights as we love it so much but as we're travelling for 3 weeks we decided to stop here for a cheaper option beforehand.

When we made the booking we didn't expect much; clean room, shower, pool, tv. We chose this hotel over cheaper ones that were actually on the beach because it looked really good for the price.

We arrived at the hotel which is in the middle of the 'red light district' surrounded by prostitutes at night shouting you to come in to their fat old white western men bars. There's no scenery apart from a lake opposite. The check in was fine and we recieved really really nice welcome drinks. We were shown to our room and everything was fine, basic but fine. May I add in that at this point no other customers were to be seen- I'm sure we were the only ones staying here.

So we're in our room. There's a letter on the side explaining due to the floods (3 WEEKS AGO!!) we have no working television. A little annoyed but we're not the sort of people to moan, besides we had a laptop full of movies we could watch instead. I looked out on the balcony to see a massive roof so we had no view yet so many free rooms could be seen that would have amazing views.

An hour of being in the room we were still sweating it was so hot, we couldn't relax. The Aircon was obviously broke. On our way out to go to a restaurant for dinner we asked at reception to the supervisor if we could get our Aircon fixed or room changed. He took our key and said when we come back we can change room. We thought no worries, that's fine. Just before we left we asked him what time the pool opens in the morning to which his response was "Oh, no pool, the floods make it not work". Really not impressed I say it's ridiculous that they didn't tell us before our arrival that we had no TVs or Pool yet they expect us to pay the same price or at least tell us upon check in. He didn't even say ANYTHING, just stood silent, no apology or any attempt at compensation e.g. a breakfast etc.

We went for food and upon our return there was a different person on reception and we stood there for about twenty minutes explaining what was agreed with our room. Bearing in mind, he had our key so thought we were checking in again so wanted another payment... patience wearing thin he phones someone to come in. A really rude person came in and spoke to us as if we were stupid and ALL we wanted was a room with working Aircon, that's IT. So he takes us to our room and he just gives us the key and walks off, so we move everything along the corridor, get in the room... Aircon doesn't work. It's not that it doesn't work, they just don't go below 25 degrees. When checking the room further, we found brown stained headboards, ripped bed cushions, wiped mosquito bodies up the walls.

We checked out really early so that we could go and stay at Muang Kulaypan Hotel and enjoy their hospitality. When we got to reception, I can't express how miserable and silent the staff were. Strangely there was an English guy (mid 50s) with a name badge saying 'Manager' he took our key, not saying a single word. We stood there for 15 minutes (and 15 minutes is a long waiting time) to be told 'ok, go' from a Thai lady behind the counter.

NICE. Real cherry on the top there.

And before my review is over may I add we did not have a flat screen TV which was advertised, a safe depository box which was advertised and a hotel set in beautiful gardens that was advertised. Yes the accomodation was cheap for the area but definately not worth the room and service we recieved. Try Chaweng Budget Resort which allows you to use their sister hotels pool and includes breakfast and is 200BHT cheaper.

I've uploaded lots of photos to support what I'm saying.

Seriously, don't bother with this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SMovement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2010

We need to stay for one night at a hotel in Chaweng before we headed off to Lamai. We choose this hotel due to reading reviews on Trip Advisor and I wasn't disappointed. It's a good clean hotel. The staff were very good and helpful. The location though isn't ideal as we wanted to be in the heart of Chaweng but this was on the edge. Not a major issue as we walked to the main drag of Chaweng with ease. The rooms were large, clean and good. One moan would be that it's a bit dated. Nothing wrong with that though as the cleanliness more the makes up for it.

Worth noting about the location it is right near the Muai Thai arena and a long street full of little bars. Me and my wife walked down the street and hit a night club called Reggae which is huge and very good.

Finally we was told on arrival we could use the swimming pool! I was not expecting this but it turns out they now have a sister hotel opposite which was still under construction (internally only). So we went to have a look at the sister hotel (I think they called it Renaissance but don't quote me on that) and we had a snoop around (no staff at the entrance) and it looks as though it will be of a high spec. Rooms looked very nice. Modern. As for the pool, which funnily isn't complete (some lights need to be fitted) it is fantastic. Part infinity type pool on the 4th floor over looking Chaweng. Fantastic views and a welcome surprise of use for us.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flapper79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0 mi away
Impiana Resort Chaweng Noi
0 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#11 of 103 in Chaweng
2,636 reviews
0 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#9 of 103 in Chaweng
1,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
0 mi away
Nora Buri Resort & Spa
Nora Buri Resort & Spa
#16 of 103 in Chaweng
1,382 reviews
0 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 103 in Chaweng
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Laem Din Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Laem Din Hotel

Address: 3/57 Moo 2 - Soi Poonsawas | Laem Din, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 103 Hotels in Chaweng
Price Range: $137 - $1,613 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Laem Din Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Laem Din Hotel features 18 twin and 18 double bed Rooms, all rooms are equipped with Multi Channel Cable TV, a fridge (minibar), hot water pot, complementary bottle of drinking water, tea or coffee, hot and cold shower, remote controlled A/C and free 24 Hrs. high-speed 2 Mbps Wi-Fi Access at any point in the Hotel. Each room features a small terrace/balcony. There is a lift from the lobby to 2nd and 3rd floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Laem Din Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laem Din Hotel
The Laem Din Hotel Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing