We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Backpacker Social Experience
Ranked #14 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Chaweng
Reviewed May 3, 2014

awesome hostel and iv stayed in a few, great owners and hosts there hospitality was amazing. anything we needed or questions we had were answered. great company and awesome atmosphere 24/7, so close to town and the beach, and so cheap I could live here forever

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 96 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2014

After spending more time than we'd scheduled for recovering from the half moon party we were left with only one night in Koh Samui, before catching the 6am ferry further south.

There was a slight mix up with the hostels, taxi drivers tend to be a bit dodgy and we were dropped at the other backpackers hostel that is pretty far out from the beach etc. After the initial confusion we were where we wanted to be (the hostel is in a great location to the beach, markets, nightlife, stadium etc) and all checked in.

With only having a short amount of time to explore Koh Samui (regrettably) we were given a ton of helpful information at reception by the owners and set off to soak in the island. If I could change anything about my time in Thailand it would be going back and spending more time here. Anyway, as we were travelling as two- we'd assumed that we wouldn't really get the chance to meet people so we figured a 6am ferry would be fine. We'd get an early night.

We were so wrong. The hostel is pretty great at bringing everybody together and nobody has to eat alone if they don't want too. After meeting for dinner at 7ish, the night escalated very quickly (I'm blaming Loren, the owner, for all his insider knowledge on cheap drinks!) and we crawled back about 4am. Still, the two hours we actually had in the room were comfortable, clean and because the owners are travellers themselves - they know exactly what other backpackers will want.

For how little time we spent there, I have the most (lovely) things to say about the hostel and the people we met. I think that speaks volumes in itself!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lryder1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olivia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, traveled solo
Thank nayade2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2015, traveled solo
Thank Aurore M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loren I, Owner at Backpacker Social Experience, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank aaannnmmmaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
4.1 mi away
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
#23 of 51 in Lamai Beach
449 reviews
0.3 mi away
Samui Hostel
Samui Hostel
#61 of 472 in Ko Samui
105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cheeky Monkey's
Cheeky Monkey's
#8 of 79 in Chaweng
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
P168 Hostel Samui
P168 Hostel Samui
#3 of 79 in Chaweng
66 reviews
0.2 mi away
D.Samui Hostel
D.Samui Hostel
#25 of 79 in Chaweng
1 reviews
0 mi away
At Hostel Samui
At Hostel Samui
#11 of 79 in Chaweng
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpacker Social Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpacker Social Experience

Address: 81/70 Moo 3 | Tambon Bophut, Koh Samui, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Backpacker Hostel)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Chaweng
Price Range: $10 - $18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Backpacker Social Experience 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Famous for being the MOST SOCIAL hostel in Samui, with nightly outings for dinner, drinks and partying, Backpacker Social Experience's guests receive discounts all over town on food, drink, attractions, motorbikes, tattoos, Muy Thai, tailors, transportation, Full Moon Party, and more! Backpacker Social Experience is a 5-minute walk from Chaweng Beach & the main Beach Road. Closest hostel to Muy Thai stadium, Chaweng Walking Street, and more, within 15 min walking to 2 different party areas, 10 minute drive to the airport. Offering air-conditioned mixed dorm rooms (shared bathroom), and budget private rooms, most with balconies. Free Wi-Fi throughout, friendly lobby for socializing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz and HostelWorld so you can book your Backpacker Social Experience reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpacker Social Experience Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing