We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice stay in koh samui”
Review of Papillon Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Papillon Resort
Ranked #50 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A nice stay in koh samui”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Ive stayed in the resort for 5 nights on August 2012.
The place is nice,the staff is very friendly and helpfull.
The room is nice ,a bit simple,we got a room with a second floor where the bed is, the downside is that the tv is downstairs.
Breakfast is nice too, many nice choices and the restaurant has nice choices during lunch and dinner too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amir G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    82
    24
    7
    11
See reviews for
56
105
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, UK
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed there for 5 nights and it was great, the room was the best thing... Quiet efficient air con, fridge and comfy bed. The room was nicely furnished with enough 'nice things' to make it feel more comfortable than a generic hotel.
It was a bit more expensive than some of our other hotels at 1860THB/ night but it was clean, pleasant and breakfast included.

The breakfast is a choice of 6 options, the french breakfast I has each day consisted of a slice of toast, a croissant and a toasted piece of baguette with jams. The other options mainly involved meat and dairy which I don't eat. My partner had the American which had fried eggs, toast, and bacon and it looked ok, but the eggs seem a bit suspect as they generally come a bit too undercooked, with the white still very runny.

The loungers were lovely and plentiful, pool facing and beach facing with umbrellas. The pool was a bit small, a length was about 5 strokes, and the jacuzzi was a cosy fit for 4 people.

In all it was a lovely stay, we never ate there in the evening instead we walked into the centre of chaweng. Its an easy walk of about 1km to the main street. You can get a local bus (songtaew) in for about 50THB per person.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andilad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed at Papillon Resort for 3 nights, and loved our time there in Koh Samui! We stayed in one of the cute bungalows, and it was a room with some funky interior decorations and art work.

The hotel is run by French management, and the majority of the guests seemed to be French. The staff were excedingly friendly, and helpful to us for all of our needs; they arranged for a scooter rental for us, which was delivered promptly to our hotel.

The included breakfast was quite good, with a few different a la carte selections available. We had dinner there the first night, and enjoyed some yummy Thai dishes off of the menu which featured typical French fare as well as local Thai cuisine...

Overall, a great experience, and a lovely place to stay in a more quaint setting, rather than at one of the larger resorts.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawosh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at the papillon resort 5 times & every time was the same 1st class for the money plus the staff have become good friends & the manager Ning is the best I had my 50th birthday on samui & she worked very hard to make shore every one was looked after. I read some of the other reviews & all I can say is Wow what a great plase.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We spent 4 nights at the Papillon Resort during the last stage of our two weeks trip to Thailand. From the multiple readings and reasearch I made, it seemed like poeple agreed on Chaweng beach as the best, and the North part as more quiet but still close enough to the action. The Papillon Resort was great choice regarding location (although we are a young couple we avoid as much as possible very turistic areas). Although we did not start with the best foot when they did not go to pick us up at the airport as agreed, we were upgraded (without asking for it) to a superior room ( and they were there in 10 minutes as soon as we called, free of charge). The bungalow was very clean and comfy, with two floors and I must say a terrible bed (what seems to be normal in Thailand). Breakfast was nice but a bit small if you like eating properly in the mornings, with unlimited toasts but not the usual open bouffet we had seen so far everywhere else. Pool was small but fit for the purpose, and the beach view right in front was amazing (not very suitable for swimming, though). The hotel did not have many guests at the time we visited, but most of them were French and had a lot of fun hanging out there day and night. We rented a scooter for the 4 days we stayed and drove all over the island. If you are planning to move around you will need one, otherwise you will have to get taxis all the time or just stay at the Resort). We booked a daily trip thorugh the hotel to the natural marine park that ended up being a great experience. Despite of the ridiculously high prices in the island (this trip was double price as the Phi Phi islands, not to mention the diving, more than 100 Euros for 2 dives!!!!!) we decided to go for it and I must say it was great fun and beautiful scenary. I would recommend this Resort for those people not in strong budget that want to stay near the action but rest at night. Good, quiet place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cosa28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We stayed at this wonderful resort in late December 2012. I cannot reccommend it highly enough to anyone looking for fabulous hospitality and great value for money. The staff were absolutely brilliant- friendly and ever-helpful. The French food was amazing - delicious daily specials and the best croque monsieur in the world. The Thai menu is also fantastic. The pool deck and garden are gorgeous. The resort is on the quieter end of Chaweng beach, but not too far from all the shops and restaurants. Rooms are simple, but quiet and clean. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Although the sea view rooms have spectacular views, the ones at the rear of the resort are quiet and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

I have recently come back from Thailand and our stay at Papillon was without question one of the highlights. We were a reasonable sized group and we were treated like royalty from the time we arrived.

The food is exceptional; whether you want Thai cuisine or even something more familiar to a Western palate, you will find a number of simply phenomenal dishes. We almost could not stop eating. But all that paled in comparison to the quality of the service and the friendliness of the staff. We were so warmly welcomed that we even became friendly and familiar with the management team's significant others. We never had to wait for anything and a very festive last meal shared with the staff will live long in the memory.

Located incredibly conveniently just above Chaweng main road, it was the perfect place for all of our needs. The rooms are very comfortable and great value for money; anything we lacked was quickly resolved.

I will go back in a heartbeat! Could not be happier!

Room Tip: Rooms towards the back are a bit quieter, but noise is not a problem at all. The rooms for more than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrewirvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.0 mi away
Samui Island Beach Resort and Hotel
0.3 mi away
Tango Beach Resort
Tango Beach Resort
#51 of 104 in Chaweng
329 reviews
0.6 mi away
City Dance Hotel
City Dance Hotel
#29 of 104 in Chaweng
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
First Residence Hotel
First Residence Hotel
#45 of 104 in Chaweng
224 reviews
3.0 mi away
Marco Polo Resort & Restaurant
2.5 mi away
First Bungalow Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papillon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papillon Resort

Property: Papillon Resort
Address: 159/3 Moo 2 | Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Chaweng
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Papillon Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Papillon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papillon Hotel Chaweng
Papillon Hotel Koh Samui
Papillon Resort Koh Samui
Papillon Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing