We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Papillon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Papillon Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Papillon Resort
Ranked #52 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Papillon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

I have recently come back from Thailand and our stay at Papillon was without question one of the highlights. We were a reasonable sized group and we were treated like royalty from the time we arrived.

The food is exceptional; whether you want Thai cuisine or even something more familiar to a Western palate, you will find a number of simply phenomenal dishes. We almost could not stop eating. But all that paled in comparison to the quality of the service and the friendliness of the staff. We were so warmly welcomed that we even became friendly and familiar with the management team's significant others. We never had to wait for anything and a very festive last meal shared with the staff will live long in the memory.

Located incredibly conveniently just above Chaweng main road, it was the perfect place for all of our needs. The rooms are very comfortable and great value for money; anything we lacked was quickly resolved.

I will go back in a heartbeat! Could not be happier!

Room Tip: Rooms towards the back are a bit quieter, but noise is not a problem at all. The rooms for more than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrewirvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    81
    24
    7
    11
See reviews for
55
104
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

My wie and I spent a good week at the papillon resort. Nice room, great staff ( all very friendly and helpfull). Food was great (both thai and european food) and we also had an awesome dinner cause of new years eve.
Although we had a few days with rainy weather we liked it very much. We even did a cooking course and (thx to Francois) we made a delicious dinner for ourselves (it only was a bit too much food for the two of us lol).

Jos en Dineke

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jos W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

My wife and I spent a wonderful 8 nights at this resort - best decision of our holiday. we LOVED this place. Resort is on the beach front and has a great view. Its location is quite convenient. Just a 5 min by motocycle to the night market as well as to the main shopping belt. The rooms are lovely and clean. The beach is lovely and wasn’t too busy when we visited. The pool was a simple.

We enjoyed the breakfast buffet which had many things we liked. We also loved lazing around on the day beds and ordering cocktails. The staff were always quick to attend to us and very polite.Staffs were excellent - everyone very friendly and helpful. I celebrated a birthday while staying and was surprised to receive a cake, flowers and card from my wife and the staff.! Great cake. Overall the experience was excellent and it is a well run. The dinner menus at “Le café des arts” restaurant were appealing to all our tastes It was also excellent. - OMG - the best ever!

The owner of Papillon Resort told me that they have “Papillon residence” that’s apartments rent for week or month. I no need to pay a lot of money. If i want to stay in Samui a long time. Great deal for me and my family.

Would love to stay here again, we recommend it to you all

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

The staff was very nice. The environment was beautiful and quiet. The room was clean. You can relax by watching seaview from the resort and restaurant.

The facilities were OK. I love the style in the restaurant “Le café des art” and the taste was so delicious -Thai and international food.

I stayed at papillon resort for 1 week. I have a great trip.
Anyway, I will come back again

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadera, Israel
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed at Papillon for 3 nights on our family vecation.
Located at the northern end of Chaweng beach this resort has a beautiful beach that can't be used for swimming. When there is high tied you can't walk to the rest of the beach. When there is low tied you can walk on the beach (10 minutes) to the area of shops and restaurants, but the sea is very far and you can't swim.
Thus you must rent a scooter to get everywhere. If you do so - location is good and close to everywhere.
Staff is nice and willing to help. As most of the guests are french, the Thai people speak french but their Englisg is very weak.
Rooms are very nice decorated and have a special atmosphere. They are clean and with AC, DVD, fridge, and good shower.
Food is good, but very expensive, beside breakfast that was included in price.
Wifi is free only in public areas.
Swimming pool, which includes jacuzzi, is on the beach with beatuiful views of Chaweng beach.
overall a nice expeience.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rafaely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

My 1.5 year old and I stayed there for 1 night before our flight back from Ko Samui to BKK, and liked it -

Location: It's located on the edge of Chaweng Beach, pretty remote - so definitely a long walk or car ride to town. Nowhere near the action of course, but cabs are cheap and walk is nice. Lots of great places to eat etc on the way too if u take the road - i had amazing massage at Magnolia only a couple of blocks away - highly recommend. Taxi to town and back is easy and cheap and yet the place is very calm and remote

Rooms: Small and basic, but with nice touches (stone in the bathroom everywhere, little patio etc)

Pool and beach - it was OK, a bit dirty and deserted at the time, but they were cleaning it and it was rainy anyhow, and we were swimming for the past 3 weeks before, so were OK. Beach didn't look swimmable, but the hotel is right on the beach (our bangaloo was garden view, so no view, but there seems to be view from other rooms and definitely fromthe restaurant

Restaurant - pretty decent food, cheap prices. electricity was down but they still were able to cook something for us, and it was pretty good

Internet - needed to buy a card, and internet was a bit problematic at this hotel (I needed it in the rooms). Other travellers said that it was easy and free to connect at the restaurant. I needed to reconfirm my reservation and staff let me use their computers which was really nice of them i thought...

Staff - very friendly, played with my daughter and tried to help us with our needs. Gave us a ride to the airport too (a driver spoke great English as a nice bonus).

Bed was of course hard but u can't expect more from a budget hotel in Thailand. TV worked well, there were several english channels.

Overall - definitely good value for the money, we paid very little last minute.
It's french owned i think and lots of visitors are french - adds nice touch to otherwise pretty simple hotel

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeraandVeronika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

We had chosen this hotel mainly due to the food reviews and were looking forward to trying the food. When we arrived we were informed that the restaurant was closed for 4 days since they were replacing the roof but there was breakfast and sandwiches available. When we saw the extent of the renovation we realised this was more likely to be 4 months. We find it unfortunate that we weren't informed of this. They had set up a proxy kitchen in the restaurant which i am happy to work with.
What i find inacceptable is the pack of dogs running in and out of the restaurant and kitchen. When you were eating breakfast you would have up to 6 dogs surrounding you and running in and out of the preparation area. Disgusting.
The rooms are small dark and unclean. The cleaning staff don't clean and our sheets were only changed once in 9 days. Mosquitos are horrendous and they do not supply coils or spray. There maybe wifi access but the internet is decidedly expensive.
The pool is tiny and if there is one group of 4 or more then there is no room to get into the pool. The jacuzzi/spa had a mucky brown scum around the tiles and indicated it had never been cleaned.
A couple of times we went for a drink at the bar in the eveing and it is quite a job to get the barman to acknowledge you, let alone get you a drink. The hotel is at the end of a road and when it rains heavily it floods and you have to wade through calf high water to get out to anywhere.
As a positive the view out over the sea was quite lovely but there are much better options available.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgeandjaneUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
2.2 mi away
Seascape Beach Resort
Seascape Beach Resort
#61 of 104 in Chaweng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.6 mi away
City Dance Hotel
City Dance Hotel
#29 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.0 mi away
Samui Island Beach Resort and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Marco Polo Resort & Restaurant
2.5 mi away
First Residence Hotel
First Residence Hotel
#40 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
2.5 mi away
First Bungalow Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papillon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papillon Resort

Property: Papillon Resort
Address: 159/3 Moo 2 | Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Papillon Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Papillon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papillon Hotel Chaweng
Papillon Hotel Koh Samui
Papillon Resort Koh Samui
Papillon Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing