We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Chaweng”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #21 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We spent 6 nights here in May. Got a room on the second floor, which was OK, but meant that we had to climb stairs in the heat (kept us fit I guess). The room was OK. A little bit dark, and had a door joining in the room next door, which did not seems to have a lock on it (ie. just had the large couch pushed up against it), which made us a little concerned. The hot water was a bit temperamental also, but since it was so hot there anyway it didn't matter too much. This hotel is located in the flight path for the airport, so you will have planes flying over every 45 minutes or so (you get used to it though).
The grounds are lovely and lush and well maintained. The restaurant is overlooking the beach, which is a great way to eat breakfast each morning. Breakfast was sufficient, with a good selection (maybe not the best we had on this trip, but certainly noting to complain about). The location was great, being right on the beach, and just a short walk to the main drag of Chaweng. The Ark Bar down the road could be heard one night with its loud music (not sure why they need to play it so loud).
I'd probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (614)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

167 - 173 of 614 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

The hotel was kept really clean, the gardens were beautiful and so was the swimming pool, restaurant, beach area and the general surroundings. The staff were very pleasant, helpful and friendly. I stayed in the Premier Deluxe Room which was huge, had a lovely walk in shower area, nice bed, all new and clean furniture and a balcony which overlooked the beach and palm trees! Was in the best part of the beach for sun bathing and swimming as well as being minutes away from the main street, bars, shops etc.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for a week during April 2014.
If the centre of Chaweng, with all its shopping and night life activities are for you, you cant go wrong with this hotel. All the action is within walking distance. We had a large comfortable room, the staff was very helpful and friendly and service was excellent. Our room was serviced daily and kept spotlessly clean. The beach area is stunning and the front villa's are virtually metres away from the sand. On the negative side, slight as they may be, our room is possibly ready for an upgrade while the aircon in the room was noisy, despite it being a split unit. However, we soon got used to the aircon and it did not limit the overall enjoyment of our stay at all.
We can sicerely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose one of the seperate villas close to the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johannhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We stayed here in April/May 2014. We were on the second floor on the left side and was fairly noisy at night. Service was pleasant and friendly. Watch out for the planes flying over head (all Chaweng)

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights in a superior villa (a group of 3 rooms, we were on the end) and had no noise issues from neighbors or the Ark bar but we sleep with the a/c on so that would cancel out any noise if there was any. Room was great, good size comfort bed, roomy inside and bathroom all good, except it can get very hot in it as ours did as the shower roof area let's the sun in so during the day very hot. Rooms restocked everyday, breakfast was pretty average for us. Pool area was nice with direct access to the beach, plenty of chairs around to choose from. Beach water was so warm like a bath so the pool more refreshing. Ocean was mostly clean but by the afternoon a bit of rubbish here and there but gone by the morning. No troubles with jetski beside us. You can eat on the beach at night which is lovely. We found staff not rude but not overly friendly which is strange for the Thai's. You are right below the flight path so will hear planes coming and going but it's not constant all day just a few here and there but the big planes are quite loud.

Out the front restaurants and shopping in both directions, massage places more to your left. There is a Bondi bar a few doors up to youe right to watch the footy and laundry for 50 or 60 baht to your right on the same side about a 1 minute walk, there is a sign and they also sell joggers etc. Good and reliable, they weigh in front of you.

Loved Samui and hope to be back one day, I would recommend staying here if the planes aren't an issue.

As the hotel is villa style and open yoy will get mosquito in your room, just ask for bug spray and we even asked for mosquito coils and this was no problem at all. The gardens are just beautiful and what you see on their website is what you get.

One more thing, get the foot scrub from the ladies on the beach best 200 baht you'll spend, worked wonders on my husband's cracked heels.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Nomes_BNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed for two nights at this hotel. It has plusses and minuses. The plusses - it is reasonably priced, the restaurant where breakfast is served looks out over the beach and is very pleasant (although very few people chose to eat there at other times), the rooms are large and the surroundings are attractive, with well-maintained gardens around the bungalows. It is also very central to restaurants and shopping.
The minuses - it is directly under the flight path of the (quite frequent) departures from Koh Samui airport. It is also close to the Ark Bar and the music from there can be very loud until about 2am...
While the bungalows are large, they are also quite bare and have little decoration or comfortable furniture - our room felt 'cold', although it was certainly very clean and well maintained. The other design problem is that all the bungalows have a huge glass window at the front, which should be great if you have one near the sea and want to enjoy the view. The down side however is that all passers-by can see in. This means that you can either have privacy or a view but not both. The bungalows have small verandahs where you can sit but, again, it is very public.
The breakfast is not of a great quality, however you can have eggs cooked to your liking. Service is hit and miss but the staff are pleasant. The pool is not large and massages are carried out beside the area where some of the sun-lounges are. Not ideal.
All in all it is hard to strongly recommend this hotel when there is such a huge choice in Chaweng.

Room Tip: If you don't want to be in full view, ask for a room away from the main walkways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darlene3501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

I thought this was a great hotel! The rooms are a very generous size with a lovely balcony and a great size bathroom. All the staff were really nice and welcoming.

The hotel itself was set in some lovely greenery and made strolling through at night time from the town to my room very nice. It's set away from the road so you can't hear the noise of the loud streets.

The pool was right next to the beach so you could lie by it and hear the sea with stunning views.

My only negative about this hotel, was that it was in the flight path of the airport, so when a plane went over you know about it, however this doesn't happen very often and doesn't happen at all at night.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,524 reviews
0.4 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
1,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
1 mi away
Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas
1.2 mi away
Samui Resotel Beach Resort
Samui Resotel Beach Resort
#42 of 104 in Chaweng
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 90/1 Moo 2, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#18 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#25 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: $99 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Chaweng Beach Hotel Chaweng
Baan Chaweng Beach Resort And Spa
Baan Chaweng Beach Bophut
Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing