We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #25 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

I thought this was a great hotel! The rooms are a very generous size with a lovely balcony and a great size bathroom. All the staff were really nice and welcoming.

The hotel itself was set in some lovely greenery and made strolling through at night time from the town to my room very nice. It's set away from the road so you can't hear the noise of the loud streets.

The pool was right next to the beach so you could lie by it and hear the sea with stunning views.

My only negative about this hotel, was that it was in the flight path of the airport, so when a plane went over you know about it, however this doesn't happen very often and doesn't happen at all at night.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    233
    77
    20
    17
See reviews for
120
222
34
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

We had a very nice stay at this resort. The staff was helpful, the room clean and was very affordable. Luckily we were in far enough away from the Ark Bar so that the noise did not disturb us. The breakfast was ample and the coffee was excellent. The massages at the beach were very relaxing and the cost couldn't be beat. The downsides for me were - room towels are sub-par, frayed, not plush and had some stains; the prevalence of jet skis was bothersome; the hotel is right under the flight path of the airport. All in all, I would recommend Baan Chewang to anyone wanting a nice hotel on Chewang Beach.

Room Tip: Superior villa on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rlk814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here during the final days of our honeymoon in Thailand. We used a traveling agency to book the trip and initially they assigned us another hotel which was also in Chaweng beach but was awful!! We had to stay there for one night before the travel agency could arrange for us to move to Baan Chaweng. What a difference! It is located in front of the beach (before all the party places). The beach area was very nice (cannot say the same for other hotels in which the beach area was dirty and full of garbage). The rooms are small bungalows located in a sort of garden. Very well kept and cute. Breakfast is good. There is an egg station, pancakes, bacon, jams and toast. Coffee sucks! But luckily there is a coffee place 2 min walking from the hotel. Also a convenience store less than 2 min from hotel that sella cheap beer, bug spray and sunblock. Restaurant in front of the beach is very good (this is also where you have breakfast) very relaxing to have your morning juice (or coffee if you are into bad coffee) watching the ocean. Free wiffii.
Overall we had a lovely stay!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mariangeli84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in February 2014. On arrival we found that our booking (which was made through an agent I was forwarded to by Tripadvisor) had been cancelled as the funds had not been paid to the hotel. The hotel staff did everything they could to accommodate us even though the hotel was almost full. The service was 110% at all times. The locations is perfect, on the best part of the beach. We didn't find the resort noisy at all ..... and the beds are very comfortable and extra large. Our room was perfect, spacious and clean. The surroundings are beautiful, really pretty and very well kept.

I really couldn't fault this hotel. Our experience at Baan Chaweng made our holiday and I would definitely go back and would not hesitate to recommend it to friends.

However, I would suggest trying to book with the hotel directly, to avoid the problems we had with the agent which Tripadvisor forwarded us to.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

We had a nice stay at this resort. Having said that, it's been a somewhat mixed experience and to do this place some justice, I'd like to give a fair account of our stay. The biggest assets of this resort are it's location and the staff. Baan Chaweng is located in a tropical garden which is nicely kept and simply beautiful. In front of the beach there is a huge terrace with plenty of seating. This is the dining area, where you get your breakfast with great ocean views and whatever else you are having. On our night of arrival, there was a private birthday celebration going on - a great setting for a special occassion! Staff at breakfast was very nice and attentive, offering coffee refills continously. I can't see why other TA reviewers complained about that. The american breakfast buffet was good average with a limited choice of two hot local foods, cereals, fruit and a cook to prepare eggs the way you want it. The beach itself is teriffic - on a day when it is actually there. During our first three days, the ocean was unfavourably wild and the water was getting very close to the sunbathing area, leaving virtually no sand between the sunbeds and the water. Moreover, the tide was bringing in all the garbage from the sea. Hotel staff did everything they could to clean up the hotel beach, but at times this was a fight they simply could not win. Luckily, the weather got better the next days and finally the ocean was clean, beautiful and quiet. Much more annoying than that trash issue was the human factor, with many of the other (mostly german) hotel guests placing their 'reservation' towels on all the sunbeds in the early morning hours. Unfortunately, there simply aren't enough sunbeds at Baan Chaweng, which either forces you to join in this antisocial 'reservation' behaviour or to end up with no sunbed at all. I am aware that it is hard for the management to change poor guest behaviour, but maybe they should simply store away the sunbeds in the night and put them out again at 9 am to end that reservation business. Getting a good night's sleep unfortunately also was a matter of luck during our stay. We had a nice room on the upper floors which was well-kept and clean, although nothing special. It also has a balcony which hardly offers any privacy, as your neighbours' balcony is located just right next to it. Some of our neighbours turned out as party folks, starting to play loud music around midnight or arguing loudly at 3 am the other night. Luckily, a short call to the reception desk helped and both times they tended to those matters successfully. Good job! However, there were another two noise sources which the resort cannot control at all. As other TA reviewers already have complained (and some denied): there is the party location ARK bar some blocks away. Depending on the date, they do play loud music until 2 am in the morning and there is no denying that. If you have problems falling asleep with little noise sources around, this might be troublesome for you. This seems to be a matter which the resort management can't solve on their own and they should probably unite with the other neighbouring hotels to enforce some local political pressure. A third noise factor is the Samui Airport. Depending on the weather conditions, you might find yourself alarmed by a plane taking off above your head around 6 in the morning, as we did one day. To make this a fair review, I do recall two mornings on which we found ourselves being woken up by the nice sound of the birds from the garden outside and having slept beautifully. To sum it up, this resort or rather it's staff do everything to make your stay as pleasant as possible. This actual possibility, however, is somewhat related to good chance. So, if the tides of the ocean keep the trash to themselves, if your neighbours are considerate, if the WiFi server isn't slow and if the ARK bar is not having a heavy party night you might be lucky enough to enjoy a very pleasant stay at Baan Chaweng. Which is just what we did on the better half of our vacation here.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank simon78_says
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

We were a group of 11, we had 4 superior building rooms in the same block, which was great as we were right next to each other. The rooms worked out at about $125 AU each, I personally had two rooms with an interconnecting door as my teenaged girls where travelling with us. Having two rooms did kind of make it expensive, but we found Ko Samui quite expensive in general. Thank God the cocktails were cheap.

The hotel itself is very nice, the beach outside was beautiful, it was the best bit along the strip, which I wasn't expecting. It's so entertaining sitting on your sunbed and watching the world go by. Eating yummy corn and pineapple for lunch, the best Magnum icecream in the world for afternoon tea, (how do they keep them so perfect), and then some pretty strong 100 bht mojito's as a sundowner. Aaaaaahhhhhh bliss!!!

The location is great, you have all the action at your fingertips on Chaweng Beach road and then the lively beach strip running paralell to it. Then throw in this very pretty, little hotel smack bang in the middle of it all.

The hotel is very nice, the rooms and bathrooms were pretty basic but clean and comfortable. Our rooms had very good sized porches to sit out on of an evening, loved the clothes airers provided by the hotel. The gardens are beautiful and it is obvious a lot of pride is taken in them. The breakfast was great, I honestly can't think of anything negative. The pool was chrystal clear, not massive but hardly used anyway so never saw it crowded.

Yes, the towels have seen better days but they are changed daily. I can see why this would irk some people, I wasn't too bothered. I LOVED the aeroplanes, they stop around 10pm and don't resume til about 8.30am, good fun waving them in and out.

Check in was very confusing, there were 4 seperate bills, pieces of paper and money going everywhere!!

One morning I decided to let kids sleep in, so they missed breakfast. As we were leaving I put 4 pieces of bannana bread into a serviette to take back for the kids. I was told I could not take food out of the restaurant, even after explaining why. I can see the hotel's side of this but I think a little flexibilty is needed at times.

The sunbeds!! Bit of a problem there, (seems to be a universal one). Hotel maybe needs to educate their guests a bit more. More signs, bigger signs, only allowing 1 towel per person etc.
More umberellas wouldn't hurt.

Some nights were a little noisy, seemed to be coming from entertainment strip across the road, people letting off fireworks at 2am a bit hard to handle, and some twit walking around in high heels on a hard floor right above my room very early on my last morning.

The staff, apart from the bananna bread police were fabulous. They never failed to give us the right room key when we returned from an outing. Room service ladies were terrific.

This is a great hotel, but you're not going to get a 4/5 star ritzy place, you will get a well run, well located, cozy one instead.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

The location of this hotel suited us well. Directly on the beach and two minutes to the centre of the town. We have stayed at five star properties in the past, but it has always involved taxis to get to a choice of restaurants and bars. Added expense! The hotel was clean and although towels were changed daily they were GREY not white. Such a shame as the staff always seemed busy. Most of the reported noise was from day time over head aircraft. The planes did not fly during the night so our sleep was not interrupted. Gardens were well lit during the evening another plus. We asked for a quiet room and this was duly allocated. We had seven nights un disturbed sleep with no outside noises despite reading that music could be heard. We are light sleepers. Breakfast was Buffett with varied food for foreign guests. Adequate towels for the beach and excellent staff giving massages for competitive prices. Recommend a massage here. This was our second choice of hotel to book but we were not disappointed. If the towels had been WHITE would have given more stars. Sorry but I do like to see a clean WHITE towel!!!!! We own a property in Cyprus and would not dream of owning towels this colour! Throw them out! The beds are firm, but this was not an issue for us.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swindontown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
0.1 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Montien House
Montien House
#77 of 187 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.5 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,602 reviews
0.5 mi away
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
#48 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 90/1 Moo 2, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#22 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#25 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Chaweng Beach Resort And Spa
Baan Chaweng Beach Hotel Chaweng
Baan Chaweng Beach Bophut
Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing