We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best holiday! Great hotel and service ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi
Ranked #30 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best holiday! Great hotel and service ”
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed with about 30 other guests for 9 days. We were given the apartments on the beachside and they were beautiful! Location was amazing everyday breakfast by the beach it felt like we were in paradise. Both the wedding and a 59th birthday took place at the resort and they did an amazing job! In every aspect service was spot on rooms were cleaned daily and staff were always friendly. We had the best time and if I ever go back of stay at kandaburi again no complaints here thanks for a great trip!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank NatFrequentTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, General Manager at Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear NatFrequentTraveller,
Happy you enjoyed it here, and many thanks for the kind words.
We loved your group, and thanks for being such great guests. Hoping we can see you back here someday
with best regards/JG
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    357
    148
    70
    36
See reviews for
246
466
37
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

The short story here if you are looking for a great hotel to sort out your wedding, this is the place so read on.
If you want a great hotel for a holiday the review may not be for you I can only say the hotel is fab and a perfect holiday place.
Weddings, I chose this hotel after reading a review from a mother whose son had a wedding here, I can only say that I couldn't have wished for more. The celebrate who conducted the ceremony was fantastic and made it special for all of us. The hotel securtary (Nan) is the most wonderful lady I have meet,nothing and I mean nothing was too much trouble or out of the question. I had a business as a wedding planner and so my eye for detail is acute, they fulfilled everything. The flowers the food was amazing with far more food than we could ever eat, the service.... I could go on for ever.
I have to say the final thanks to John the hotel manager, I arranged everything directly with him by mail and can only say he gave me more than 100%
If you are thinking about your wedding here feel free to contact me and I will be pleased to continue my utter praise for the Kandaburi and all it's staff.
Thanks Kandaburi

Room Tip: Beach side 137 is a great room with lots of light Hillside 327 is fantastic for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NottinghamCrazylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, General Manager at Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear (ahem) NottinghamCrazylady,
We have to thank you for all you invaluable help in organising the wedding. We all loved having you all here, a truly nice group of people.
Hope you can make it back for a proper holiday sometime.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 4 weeks at the end of November, and met up with our Australian friends there. This was our 3 stay here and every time is better. The staff can't do enough for you and are always so polite.
We stayed on the hillside, which was fantastic and the road is not a problem, it's nice to be away from the activity on the beachside.
There are plenty of good restaurants near the hotel within walking distance and reasonably priced.
There are also many lovely restaurants on the beach.
Try the massages on the beach next door to the hotel to your left - amazing!!
Breakfast in the hotel was great, something for everyone!
We really didn't want to leave and can't wait to return

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sianiflewog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, General Manager at Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Sianiflewog,
Many thanks for the kind review. It was lovely to have you both here again, and for the third time! We all look forward to welcoming you back for the fourth time.
all the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed in the two bedroom beachside room. A nice comfortable room (without a seaside view however) with plenty of room for 5 people. However it was the little things, shower door didn't close so you wet the floor of the bathroom, handles on drawers and wardrobes missing - nothing major, just little things (which if I was paying for a cheap hotel I wouldn't mention, however for the price I do expect these things fixed).

Housekeeping was atrocious, as we ran out of things they weren't replaced, some areas of the room weren't cleaned at all. Beach towels were never changed over - one day we left on floor of bathroom to see if that worked (it did) however we had to phone reception to get new towels as they weren't replaced, just taken away. Rubbish collected from our room sat out the front of our door for over 24 hours in plastic bags before it was removed. The maid service spent an awful lot of time standing around chatting!!! However the hotel itself is well kept and the surrounding public areas are well maintained.

Staff were not all that friendly or helpful, with the exception of one of the pool/restaurant workers (I cannot remember his name - but he was always happy) and trying to get served by the pool was almost an impossible job.

The hotel is in a fantastic location, with everywhere you need to go accessible by the beach. Although staff & service not that great, I would still stay in this hotel again as the good does outweigh the bad. Nice rooms, great pool, good spot near the beach, great restaurants nearby, close to the busy section but just enough removed to enjoy a bit of tranquility - I would recommend this hotel, just don't have high expectations.

I know some people have mentioned the mosquitos, I don't think you can really blame the hotel for that - sensational insect repellant can be found in most stores and at the markets which certainly solved that problem for us!

Room Tip: If you want ocean view you need to ask for hill side rooms, however you have to walk across the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12345love2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, General Manager at Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear 12345love2travel,
Thanks for taking the time to post a review.
Apologies for our Housekeeping shortcomings. Although naturally disappointed to read of your problems I'm happy that you brought them to our attention so we can bring these issues up with those concerned.
Despite this, we are happy that you say you wouldn't mind returning. Hope this happens, and we can welcome you back some day.
With thanks and best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

The location of this hotel is ideal as it is away from hustle and bustle of Chaweng's main strip. Cost around 100 baht to jump in taxi to main centre and always plenty of them around. Staff all very pleasant and polite. Rooms are very large and nicely decorated with excellent air con which was fab after a hot day outside. Pool near our hill side room nice and quiet and not so busy as one near beach. Pool towels are available too. Breakfast was great selection of breads, croissants, fruit, eggs, and also Thai food. If i was to be picky the few issues which could be better were we seemed to be one of last rooms cleaned and on many occasion had returned after 4pm and still hadn't been done which meant we had to wait on balcony while they cleaned or say we didn't need it- however only got two tea bags per day so always asked for these and some
More water. They could have provided slightly more than 1 tea bag and 1 sachet of coffee per person per day IMHO! The drinks around pool were pricey so we opted to buy our own from local shop a few mins away- If the hotel was to lower prices they would def have more guests buying drinks throughout the day from them. Spa prices were also expensive given that you are spoilt for choice in Chaweng and could get a treatment at a much lower price so we didn't use the spa either.
Overall though- a lovely hotel and would recommend! Great holiday

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lexib82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, General Manager at Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Lexib82
Thanks for the taking the time to post your review, and thanks for the kind words.
Apologies for making up your room so late, I realise what an inconvenience this can be. Again, sorry,
Thanks for posting, and hope we can welcome you back some day.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is was what we expected.

We were in the hillside, rooms were large and more than adequate. Bathrooms are very nice.

The breakfast is ok but could possibly be improved we ate it every day and had no problems with it.

The beach area was nice but may be a few mote loungers on the beach would bw better.

Location perfect for those wanting to avoid the rif raf of chaweng. Chaweng is only 15 mins walk away when you fancy a trip.

The staff around the bar area were great. Always very helpful and attetive.

Be careful on in he pool on the hill side as the walk way projects over the swimming pool. Its very dangerous and I bumped my head as there was no sign indicating that pool had a projection.

Overall we were happy with the hotel. It is not a boutique hotel but we did not pay for this and there for were not disappointed.


Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AmirD930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, General Manager at Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Amir D,
Many thanks for taking the time to post a good balanced review, much appreciated.
Hoping we will see you back here some time.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We booked 7 nights at kandaburi in a beachside room which was not exactly that, was still a walk to the beach just on the beach side of the road, staff were so rude ! Would not recommend To anybody, if we could have changed our flights we would have left early! Very disappointing end to our trip, after such a fantastic time
In koh phangnan. Will not be staying in any of the kata group venues again!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, General Manager at Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Abaug,
Thanks for replying to me and clarifying your disappointment with us. I accept that we should have been quicker with the maintenance issue in the room, and I'm happy that room service the second time around got it right.
Apologies for our shortcomings, and thanks for taking the time to respond directly to me. very helpful, and appreciated.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.3 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#11 of 104 in Chaweng
2,448 reviews
1.4 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,813 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa De Mar
Casa De Mar
#18 of 104 in Chaweng
375 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas
1.5 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi

Property: Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi
Address: 20 Moo 2 Chaweng-Chongmon Road | Bophut Samui, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Kandaburi Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#19 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#20 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#25 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Chaweng Beach and Koh Matlang, Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi offers range of accommodations with a private balcony. Its 4-star facilities include 2 outdoor pools, a spa and a well-equipped gym. Spacious rooms at Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi feature modern interiors that combine contemporary and wooden furnishings. Each well-furnished room is equipped with a 42 inch flat screen TV and a large private bathroom with a bathtub. Guests can enjoy relaxing massage treatments at the Spa or relax sipping cocktails at beach bar right on the beach. Car rental and sightseeing arrangements can be made at the tour desk. Tom Yam Thai Restaurant serves a fine selection of traditional Thai dishes, while international food can be enjoyed at bar Beach and restaurant. Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi offers also free parking, and is a 5-minute drive from Samui Airport and from Chaweng Town area ideal for shopping and nightlife activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandaburi Resort And Spa
Kandaburi Hotel Chaweng
Kandaburi Hotel Bophut
Kandaburi Resort Bophut
Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing