We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice holiday in Kandaburi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi
Ranked #28 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A nice holiday in Kandaburi”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel before new year. The hotel crew were really nice. we were welcomed with a nice drink and while we were resting in lobby area they proceed with the check in. the hotel has two sides and we were staying in Hillside which was located on the other side on the road. The room was so clean and spacious. the only thing was that toilet and bathroom was separated only with a curtain and not a door which was a bit uncomfortable to use.
The breakfast had not too many choices but it was fine. Hotel has one restaurant and swimming pool for each side. I'm not sure if you are be able to use the beach side restaurant when you are staying in hillside. but i guess the only advantage was a nice view of the sea and beach...Hotel has a got a private beach which is quite nice and we spent most of our time there.

The only problem or may better to say lack of service was room service which was very very slow in a way that in our second day they didn't clean our room while we were out and when we came back to our room around 4 pm for a short rest they still had not reached to our room yet and we didn't want anyone to disturb us when we were in.

All in all it was a nice stay. However, I'm not sure if I stay there again as the hotel location was in a long walking distance from the happening area of Chewang beach. We usually took cab late night as some parts on the way were dark and we didn't feel so safe. but if you are brave enough and like long walking it's a nice one considering overall high price of hotels in KSM.

Room Tip: You may note that most of resorts in KSM ,as i noticed, have two sides. Hill side and beach side and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank At0usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    350
    144
    69
    34
See reviews for
228
461
35
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We returned to Kandaburi on the 5th December and it was just as good the second time.

This time we stayed in a poolside room rather than the hillside, the room was really spacious, spotlessly clean and it was great being so near the pool, restaurant and beach. If you're looking for a room with a view I'd recommend the Hillside rooms but these poolside rooms have a lovely outside sitting area overlooking the gardens.

The restaurant overlooks the pool and there is a lovely outside area looking out over the sea, we had lunch every day and there was a really good choice - salads, sandwiches, pizza or Thai. Breakfast was buffet and again a good choice of cereals, pastries, Thai, fresh eggs and omelettes with hot trimmings. There is a fabulous themed buffet a couple of times a week and the evening meals are superb with a wide choice on the A La Carte menu and very reasonably priced for a hotel.

The staff at the hotel are lovely, very attentive, polite and friendly, they looked after us really well.

I'd highly recommend this hotel, it's excellent value for money, a great location (about 15 minute walk into Chaweng - not too far out but nice and quiet).

Hope to return again in March :)

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view head to the Hillside rooms, they have a lovely pool as well. If you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

We are staying for 5 nights and stayed on the beach side in a 2 bedroom apartment on the top floor.

The rooms are extremely spacious which meant we could all really relax throughout our stay. No ensuite though. Air con in every room which is nice. The decor is Thai style so not overly modern but suits the resort

Pool area and front beach is an amazing area where you can choose to swim in either the pool or beach

The beach and area is in my opinion the nicest along Chaweng beach as it's clean and flows nicely to the pool area, unlike many other beachfront resorts

We don't normally laze around the pool but we have done so at Kandaburi due to how relaxing it is

Food onsite is fair to good and caters for kids ok.

We would come back!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank racingspec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed 6 nights in a beach front room from 28/10-3/10 and found the resort to be good.
The rooms are huge!! and was a nice surprise upon entering :-).
The beds are hard as per usual for Asia but it was a King size. The rooms are very dark unfortunately and we did find ourselves turning the lights on constantly to find something even during the day. A very very simple fix would be to increase the wattage of the light bulbs and the problem would be solved instantly :-).
Breakfast was good and the food/catering staff were excellent and friendly.
The front of house staff is a different story unfortunately, we found them to be quite rude and disinterested on almost every occasion. and it wasn't just us as we were travelling with others who said the same thing. We are very easy going people who are easy to please but rudeness just isn't needed and was a let down. My rating of the service is 2 star only due to the front of house staff. 5 star for the beach front staff :-)

The beach and staff at the front of the resort are awesome!! plenty of deck chairs available at all times, beach was clean and staff were eager to help :-).

Overall a nice resort, with a few changes it could be a great place! One thing that can never change is the fact that it is quite a way out of Chaweng so if your into going into town a lot it can be a let down, the resort does offer a free transfer 3 times a day otherwise is tuk tuk.

Overall we were happy but would we spend our money staying there again...Unfortunately no.

Room Tip: Beach side is the go for sure!.... hillside is very much a hill side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MetalMad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Rooms by the beach very spacious! nice and very comfortable!! easy access to all amenities.
Only 5-10 minute tuk tuk ride to the main shopping strip in Chaweng.
Very Quiet and makes for great night strolls on the beach.

Room Tip: Choose a room closet to the beach! bigger pool and of course the Beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Bavaria, Germany
Level Contributor
87 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed in Kandaburi for two nights. We didn’t choose this hotel. It was booked by the travel company we had booked our entire trip with.
It was booked for our first and our last night of our two week holiday to Koh Phangan – since there were no transfers offered at the time of
our flights in Koh Samui. We would have never booked this hotel but again it was booked automatically by our travel company.

Our first impression from reading the reviews on Trip Advisor and the pictures in the catalogue didn’t give me a reason for concern. It all looked
very nice.
We were greeted friendly upon arrival but not in the warm and charming way you expect and know from the Thais.
The Thai Style architecture looks impressive at first sight but taking a second glace at the facilities, its actually run down and not taken care of.
Our first room was across a busy street in a whole different complex with a separate pool, separate breakfast area and with a view of a run down
deserted hotel ruin.
The room was decent sized, actually quite big. Although I’m not very picky, there were small things that I could not leave unmentioned such as the remote
control from the TV that wasn’t working. The towels that were either grey or fuzzy because they were just old. The waters facets were dirty with water
stains. All in all, OK for one night.

Next day we moved to Koh Phangan and returned after two weeks. Our hotel in Koh Phangan has a branch in Koh Samui which we learned during our
stay. We tried to change our stay from Kandaburi to this other hotel. As this didn’t work out, we instead got an upgrade at Kandaburi to a “Family Room”
on the beachside.
The family room had two bedrooms, a living room and a kitchen area. The style of this room appears older and more run down then the room we had before.
And same thing here, water stained facets and old fuzzy towels. In addition to that, our shower flooded the complete bathroom, although it’s supposed to
be a closed shower. We found a cleaning detergent bottle next to the sink in our bathroom left there from housekeeping.
The safe in our room didn’t work. We were told to use the one in the other bedroom. We would have if we would have found it. This worried me as the front
door was a joke. One kick against it and it would have been open.
Door knobs from drawers and wardrobes were missing. Sometimes they were just laying around.
The worst thing about this place, we both woke up in the morning with puffy eyes. I’m 100% sure because of some insecticide that was sprayed in our bedroom.

This hotel seems to be a happy destination for all believing to have book some luxury but are really too drunk to notice it’s not. At least that’s how it sounded
when some of our neighbors got home at 3 in the morning.

We didn’t use the pool or beach area but did have a look. The pool (on the beach side) was surprisingly inviting. But the pool bar staff were
all bored and didn’t seem to care. If you want a beautiful ocean, well, don’t book here. On both sides, there are water drains that go directly in the ocean.
I don’t think I would want to swim there.

Breakfast is presented very nice. But I think that’s the only nice thing about this hotel. If you travel to Thailand for the party in Koh Samui, you like to sleep
all day and enjoy a dip in the pool every once and a while. Then go for this place. But if you are looking for anything authentic, then don’t go here.

Don’t be blindsided by the pictures. We looked a bit closer and found that this place is not what it seems.
Its obvious that no cares here. The management doesn’t even take the time to respond to any reviews.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Fairytella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We had a short stay in a 2 bedroom appartment on the beach side of the hotel. The appartment was massive and clean. Our 2 young daughters enjoyed the pool area and i enjoyed the massages by the pool. Breakfast was nice - lots of different types of food, though it did involve walking up some steep steps and across the road (crossing man available to assist). We did have an issue when our room was not available on the first night but we were provided with a perfectly adequate room for the first night, given assistance with moving and also a decent reduction in the price without having to request one. Hotel is close to other restaurants and bars and close to the airport. I managed to leave my mobile phone on the bed when we left - i called the hotel when i returned to Australia and it was located and couriered to me for no charge - fantastic service!

Room Tip: 2 bedroom appartments are massive and great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.3 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
2,361 reviews
1.4 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,743 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,401 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas
0.1 mi away
Casa De Mar
Casa De Mar
#13 of 104 in Chaweng
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi

Property: Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi
Address: 20 Moo 2 Chaweng-Chongmon Road | Bophut Samui, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Kandaburi Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#18 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#19 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#25 Family Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Chaweng Beach and Koh Matlang, Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi offers range of accommodations with a private balcony. Its 4-star facilities include 2 outdoor pools, a spa and a well-equipped gym. Spacious rooms at Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi feature modern interiors that combine contemporary and wooden furnishings. Each well-furnished room is equipped with a 42 inch flat screen TV and a large private bathroom with a bathtub. Guests can enjoy relaxing massage treatments at the Spa or relax sipping cocktails at beach bar right on the beach. Car rental and sightseeing arrangements can be made at the tour desk. Tom Yam Thai Restaurant serves a fine selection of traditional Thai dishes, while international food can be enjoyed at bar Beach and restaurant. Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi offers also free parking, and is a 5-minute drive from Samui Airport and from Chaweng Town area ideal for shopping and nightlife activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandaburi Resort And Spa
Kandaburi Hotel Chaweng
Kandaburi Hotel Bophut
Kandaburi Resort Bophut
Novotel Samui Resort Chaweng Beach Kandaburi Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing