We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away from this overpriced Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Samui Island Beach Resort and Hotel
Ranked #81 of 103 Hotels in Chaweng
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is totally overpriced and offers you almost nothing for free. The pictures on the website are a total lie. There is no beatch in front of the hotel there is just the plain ocean. The area at the pool is very small for 400 rooms and there are only 3 sun umbrellas and only a few deck chairs. The provided towels are shabby and torn. The reception does not speak english and all and is not helpfull. For any extra thing you have to pay extra. For example the Safety box. You have to put coins in it and loose them everytime you open it and get something out. The breakfast is nothing special and the restaurant is not clean and comfortable. The only good thing to say is that the staff at the bar and breakfast is very polite and nice and the rooms are okay. I would definetly never go back there.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Miss_Beetle84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 138 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

About 5 minutes on bike from the main chaweng road. Nice and quiet bungalows with a good breakfast and good service. It's right on the beach but its not the best beach on the island but has good pool.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy_St89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I was travelling with my girlfriend and another couple, we chose this '"resort" because it said it was close to the beach, it isn't, has wifi in the rooms, it doesn't, and because it's a 5 min walk from the town, again it isn't to walk it would take 20 mins, and that will only be the start of the strip, when you get that far you will have been harassed by at least 10 people trying to sell you a suit.

The wifi shouldn't be the focus of my trip but as I was trying to organise the next part of my trip, it was a big plus the hotel having it, but it only occasionally worked out on the balcony of the room, for the price of the room you'd expect the tv to be watchable for when you want to chill out, again though the reception was terrible and it couldn't be watched.

The staff to be fair were really friendly but had no English, for the price of the rooms you'd expect to be able to communicate a problem to reception, the poolside bar has some of the worst food I ever tasted.

It's not a dirty hotel or anything it's just out of the way and greatly overpriced, we found a place down the road, that was actually on the strip for about 1700 baht less a night, if your stuck stay here, but it's not the place for a budget traveller

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TymonMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I had the presidential suite and haven't seen the other rooms. Impression of the hotel as a whole is average. I'd estimate it just below 3 star. Breakfast is okee. Sometimes the chef decides to cook a la carte, what then makes it great. Pool is small and not very inviting to lounge around. Beach is gone when high tide and at low tide small. Forget about sitting on the beach in front of the hotel.
It's close to the busy beach, but far away not to hear much sound. It's about a 10-15 minute walk over the beach to reach the busy beach.
Having said that, their presidential suite is like striking gold. It's right on the beach. You can jump from your big private plunge pool right onto the beach or into water if high tide. View is very very good. At night you see the lights of other hotels in the bay, the moon reflect in the water, you see people in the distance play with fireworks, you hear the waves while you stare into the sea from your plunge pool or bedroom. This is as "beach front" as it gets (otherwise you'd be on the water)! So I'd highly recommend this hotel if you can get the presidential suite!

Room Tip: Presidential suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank galore360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We have stayed now three times in this hotel. Once in deluxe seaview bungalow, once upgraded from deluxe seaview bungalow to President Suite 104 and once (this time) downgraded from 104 to deluxe seaview bungalow for 5 days out of 8 days. They gave us every day a new story, why we couldn't have the room 104 inspite of the fact, that we had booked it and the booking was confirmed. Everyday waiting for the expected room spoiled our stay totally. We found out, that during these 5 days other guests and as far as we could see, different guests were upgraded to 104 or they had paid better price than we for the room. Also we met about 10 guests, who had problems with the bookings, they were not given the booked room or they were moved even to another hotel. One guest told, that in their other hotel they didn't have even a shower. This time it seemed that the whole booking management failed. Because of the fact, that you can not be sure, that they have the room you have booked, this might have been out last stay in this hotel.

Pros. The hotel is basic clean. They changed every day bed linen and towels. The pool area is nice. The breakfast is basic, but enough. The New Year dinner and program was very good. The hotel is quiet, because it is far enough from Chaweng center. You can enjoy the silence. The view from 104 balcony or seaside bungalows is breathtaking. The President suite is excellent.

Cons. Management of bookings failed. They have coconuts hanging in coconut trees. People are sunbathing just below these trees. Lifedangerous. One day they didn't have beach towels. There were spiders and lizards in our bungalow. If the sea is rough, there might be plenty of water in front of seaside bungalows and on sunbathing area.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fintraveller57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I and my wife have just come back from New Year trip in Thailand. During 3 days 2 nights at Samui Island Beach Resort and Hotel, it was really the memorable vacation. The room was really clean and nice. In addition, we saw sunset from our sea view room. The service was also great and its staffs were really, for example, they gave us a lot of sightseeing information (we went to Pha-ngun countdown party because of the recommendation and had a really good New Year time there). The best part of my trip is New Year's Eve party provided by the Hotel, fresh and good taste seafood with variety type of drinks next to the pool. We will definitely come back to this hotel again.

Room Tip: try deluxe sea view .. nice view with reasonable price
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed at this hotel from 14 - 22 November.
It was an absolutely perfect location. Close to the nightlife of Chaweng and the airport.
Advice: Pay extra and stay in the President Suite (104) . MOST BEAUTIFUL VIEW over Matlang Island and the entire chaweng beach area. (see pics) Your own private pool (5x3m).
Yes, there are a few hickups, but usually spoiled brats who CAN afford 5 star resort etc are the ones to complain the most.
Breakfast..... well....same everyday of course. They can try to offer more choices of FRESH juice.
Will i be back...... DEFINATELY

Room Tip: Get the President suite (104)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gdxbtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
3 mi away
Marco Polo Resort & Restaurant
10.1 mi away
Rajapruek Samui Resort
Rajapruek Samui Resort
#7 of 8 in Lipa Noi
222 reviews
2 mi away
Chaweng Resort
Chaweng Resort
#64 of 103 in Chaweng
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
P&P Samui Resort
P&P Samui Resort
#71 of 103 in Chaweng
140 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
0 mi away
Papillon Resort
Papillon Resort
#51 of 103 in Chaweng
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samui Island Beach Resort and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Island Beach Resort and Hotel

Address: 154/3 Moo 2, Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#53 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: $35 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Samui Island Beach Resort and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Samui Island Beach Resort and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Island Beach Hotel Chaweng
Samui Island Beach Resort And Hotel Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing