We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Grego2
New York City, New York
Nice Hotel in Samui
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Oct 25, 2012
Enjoyed my Stay at Samui Island Beach Resort. Here are my pros and cons:
Pros: Good Sized Rooms with Private Balcony
Friendly and Helpful Staff
Reasonably Priced
Good Restaurant and Infinity Pool
Five minute Motorbike ride to center of town

Cons: Beach is not great and you will probably go in pool instead of Ocean

Overall, I enjoyed my stay. In the future I might look for a place next to a nicer beach, but would also have no problem staying here again in the future.
Date of stay: March 2012
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$298
  • Vio.com
    $292
  • Prestigia.com
    $270
  • Hotels.com
    $299
0.5 miles from Samui Island Beach Resort and Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$114
  • Vio.com
    $104
  • Algotels
    $98
  • travelup.com
    $135
0.6 miles from Samui Island Beach Resort and Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$120
  • Expedia.com
    $157
  • Agoda.com
    $109
  • Vio.com
0.9 miles from Samui Island Beach Resort and Hotel
Free parking
Beachfront
Booking.com
$350
  • Official Site
    $404
  • Agoda.com
    $346
  • Vio.com
1.9 miles from Samui Island Beach Resort and Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$51
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    $45
  • Priceline
0.1 miles from Samui Island Beach Resort and Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$72
  • Vio.com
    $67
  • Hotels.com
    $78
  • Expedia.com
    $78
1.4 miles from Samui Island Beach Resort and Hotel
Pool
Beachfront
Booking.com
$149
  • Priceline
  • Lol.travel
    $133
  • Vio.com
0.6 miles from Samui Island Beach Resort and Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$111
  • Tripadvisor
    $110
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $110
1.6 miles from Samui Island Beach Resort and Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$97
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $106
  • Vio.com
    $80
  • Expedia.com
    $106
1.1 miles from Samui Island Beach Resort and Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$187
$118
  • Hotels.com
    $187
  • Expedia.com
    $186
  • Priceline
2.4 miles from Samui Island Beach Resort and Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Chaweng
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveler rating
43
37
23
19
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
43
37
23
19
30
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 152 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2012

There were a lot of mixed reviews about this place when we researched it. We were only staying one night so weren't too bothered by the negative ones....

Honestly some people expect WAY too much of some places - the resort was clean, staff were friendly, room was nicely laid out with air con, bath tub, shower and tv. It was a lovely place to stay for one night. Someone had commented that the beach was too rocky to swim in but that's not true at all, it was fine, just a little shallow.

The only downside to this place is the walk up a very steep hill to get back to the main road, but it does mean it's a lot quieter.

All in all, a lovely place to stay!

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karine85
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

We have just spent two nights in this hotel while travelling around Thailand. Please save your money and stay somewhere else. There are many other resorts that are cheaper and much better than this one. We were given a bungalow in the garden which was just awful. See the pictures below. We had geckos and cockroaches in our room. Not surprising seeing the whole we had in the wall where the air conditioning unit was. The room was old with cracks everywhere. The bathroom was tired and the sink was not even straight. Considering this was low season and there were only around 5 couples in the whole hotel, they could have easily given us a nice room and it would have made our experience. The staff are pretty disinterested and the guy at the front desk just laughs at you if you mention anything.

The breakfast was pretty poor. One day the bread was so stale that even after toasting it it was still chewy. The second day they had some fruit which had flies all over it. There is no running juice that you can get yourself. I asked for a second glass and the girls was like you want tea coffee? I said no juice. She said water? I said no juice. They were so tight with it. Just stay somewhere else please. It's not worth it.
The hotel is also pretty far away from the main action. We timed the walk it was 20 minutes. And that's just to the start of the strip. It is the last hotel on the beach so actually there's not much beach there you have to walk somewhere else to chill on a beach.

Overall would not recommend and would not stay here. There were many hotels closer to the strip that were much cheaper.

Date of stay: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank merzie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in August. Very disappointed by this hotel. We had booked a Deluxe Seaview Room. When we checked in I asked staff when the next full moon party was which they were advertising in reception but non of them had any idea. When we got to our room it was nothing like what we had booked. It was half the size, dark and dirty. We spoke to the manager and showed him the photo of the room that we had booked. To our disbelief we were told that the room that they show online is actually a "show room" and there is only one room like that it in the hotel! So its the luck of the draw if you get that room. They still charge the same per night for the room we were given. I argued with the manager that they can't charge the same rate per night for a totally different room which is smaller and of a much lower standard. He seemed to find the whole thing funny!! We were moved to another room which was slightly better and was told that we could have the room we had booked in two days time when the couple who had the room featured online had checked out! A totally rediculous situation. So we ended up having to move rooms 3 times during our stay.

The hotel breakfast was terrible! The only thing worth eating was the fruit and the toast. The so called hot food was left out for flies to land on it and was cold. It looked like yesterday's left overs. Bar and meal area dirty and untidy was cables, wires, old xmas decorations (in Aug) handing around. From what we could see of the kitchen it looked dirty and unorganised. The waitress who was there on a morning kept picking her nails and looked sick of her life! Its worth paying to eat breakfast in town. There's were plenty of places serving great full english/american breakfasts for around £4 each. Would even consider eating in the hotel on an evening.

Although the hotel is on the beach, its the last hotel right at the end and out of the way of anything.

We had previous stayed in Phuket for a few days previous in an exceptional hotel and spa which cost less per night that the Samui Island Resort!

The only good thing I have to say about this hotel is that they allowed us to keep our room until 7pm for an extra £20.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I booked by booking.com. My room on the second floor had a beautiful ocean view. The room was modern and the bed was very comfy. My room was also very clean and was made up by 1pm daily. The restaurant and the pool are closer to sea. Loved our barman! Funny guy. All staff really lovely and the food was excellent. The location is about 10 minute walking distance from town which suited me just fine

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scott e
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed in the deluxe room for two nights, we found the room quite spacious, the bathroom new, the view from the balcony was fantastic! The staff didn't understand a lot of English, but we got by. The restaurant food was amazing! We had a great time here, and I would definitely recommend it!

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews