We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Showed up with reservation and no room available!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Ranked #2 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Showed up with reservation and no room available!!”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Upon arrival we were first ignored for 20 minutes by one person working at front desk with another patron. Once the desk agent finally finished and acknowledged our presence, we were told that they had a problem with their email and that they LOST our reservation which we had booked through Expedia and was already fully paid. We were told that no rooms were available and that they would help us find another hotel nearby. Meanwhile there were no options nearby where we wanted to be and our day in Ko Samui was totally ruined.. Beware!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Mike561nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,026
    188
    50
    17
    10
See reviews for
249
695
47
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We are burirasa as I write this review. Exceptional staff, service, comfort and peace. My only regret is that we never got here sooner. The photos don't really give good idea of how good it is here and we have not experience anything like this in Thailand. Well worth a visit!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank gcapza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The only bad thing I can say about this Hotel is that the building noise next door is a bit much, Great service and lovely grounds, plus the attention to detail is spot on. A little oasis in the heart of Chewang.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurenMarbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I was traveling with a friend and we were upgraded (for free, not sure why but can't complain!). The room was great, very clean and modern, with the free WiFi from the restaurant able to stretch to our room. Because we had to wait for our room when we arrived (it was barely a 20min wait), they gave us free lunch! All the staff were very friendly. The Thai breakfast (included) was great. Would definitely stay here again, but it's much better suited to couples than two friends traveling as it is a long distance from the "party" side of the island. That said, there was plenty to do and a small village immediately behind the resort with nice restaurants, a dive shop, a convenience store, etc.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

From the outside, Buri Rasa, did not make that huge an impression on me. It seemed pretty, but not remarkable, given that one usually tend to associate luxury with opulence. However, once inside, I was so proven wrong. The resort is luxurious in a quite, understated way. Our suite had a private dip-pool, a bathroom so soaked in culture (yeah, they had a traditional thai -bath area and it was super cute) and details, that one would never get out, a small garden of one's own, direct access to the beach just as you step outside and so much more.

But what was even nicer were the small details that the resort really paid attention to. Like the way they would keep these cute little thai sweets with a message, or the way their staff caters to all your needs in a very quick an efficient way. Ah! so nice. And the best part is that it is situated at the Chaweng beach and so one is quite in the thick of things and yet has complete privacy.

Room Tip: Go for the dip-pool suites, They are the best..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank veenukhandelwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Buri Rasa for 4 nights just before Christmas and were impressed at every step of our trip. Upon our arrival we were upgraded to an enormous room that was full of character and charm. There was a welcome fruit plate along with a special message and display on the bed. The breakfast was fantastic with a great combination of local fruits and dishes along with more traditional western fare. The salt water pool is rather small but a pleasant escape from the sun. The location is nice toward the southern end of Chaewang Beach with the ocean being no more than 20 steps from the pool.

The true secret of this oasis is the staff. Everyone from the manager to the grounds keepers say hello with a sincerity that is lacking at most hotels. They gave me tips on where to go and Aor even offered me her cinema discount card so that we could get a cheaper price on tickets. It's always fun to return to the room after dinner to see what surprised has been left on the bed.

Here are some tips on Koh Samui:
-Rent a car for THB 1,500 or a Moto for THB 300 - the companies bring the vehicles on empty so they can make extra money on the gas you don't use. THB 400 is plenty to drive a car around the island.
-The spa is expensive at Buri Rasa. You can get a 1hr massage on the beach for THB 300. There is also a nice place 5min walk North on the street on the left. It has orange colors.
-Food is very good at Buri Rasa but you can find cheaper prices at restaurants on the street. There is a great pizza place on the street N of the hotel.
-Snorkeling to Koh Tao is a fun day but the snorkeling is mediocre compared to other spots I've seen

Room Tip: Rooms with a dip pool are a great idea but not particularly practical
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed at Buri Rasa for 2 nights - December 17 - 19, 2012 - after moving from the Hansar Resort, Bophut where we had stayed for a few nights earlier in the week. Our stay at the Hansar was really excellent and the resort is a high quality property so the move to the Buri Rasa was a shock to say the least especially since expectations were high on account of the good reviews/recommendations. We arrived at 12.30 having checked out at 12noon from the Hansar and were told that our room would be ready at 2pm. We were were finally shown to our room at 2pm and it was apparent that this was more like a 3 star property. We had booked a 'family' room which turned out to be very different to the images we saw on the hotels website when we had booked. The so called swimming pool is frankly not much bigger than a hot tub - I estimate the dimensions as 20feet long and 10 feet wide (which after the amazing infinity pool at the Hansar was quite a shock to the system). The hotel is basic but service is good and staff are very friendly and professional so that is probably the only redeeming feature of the place. Also the breakfast was very good and the quality of food was excellent. The beach is average but the staff at the pool/breakfast area were really very nice. Unfortunately the red flag was out on both days we were there, so swimming was a challenge/restrictive.

The place is infested with lizards which was a real problem for my wife and 2 daughters who are paranoid about the critters.

There is construction activity going on adjacent to the hotel so if you want to sleep late this is not the place to be.

The Hotel is at one end of Chaweng beach so there are many restaurants and shopping within a short walk of the resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arif99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
0.6 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
634 reviews
1.1 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
2,273 reviews
0.3 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,367 reviews
0.1 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,636 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buri Rasa Village Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buri Rasa Village Samui

Property: Buri Rasa Village Samui
Address: 11/2 Moo 2 Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#1 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#2 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#4 Business Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Buri Rasa Village Samui 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning Buri Rasa Village located at the very center of Chaweng Beach, Koh Samui. Buri Rasa is an enchanting traditional southern Thai dwelling in a Garden of Eden. Echoes of halcyon days with once upon a time tales of aristocracy escaping to country or paradise island retreats with a full compliment of servants and services to meet their every need & requirement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Buri Rasa Village Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buri Rasa Village Hotel Chaweng
Buri Rasa Village Koh Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing