We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly enjoyed our stay at Buri Rasa.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Ranked #2 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Truly enjoyed our stay at Buri Rasa.”
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Travelled to Koh Samui in November (apparently the wettest month - we had nothing but sunshine).

Stayed for 4 days, and it wasn't long enough!

On arrival we were greeted at the front of the hotel, with one of the staff helping us with our bags to the lobby. Cool towels and welcoming drinks were quickly on hand, as we were checked in and upgraded from a Deluxe Premium room to a Family Suite. We had arrived early from Phuket, and although the room wasn't ready - the staff were more than happy for us to enjoy the amenities the resort had to offer.

Once the room was ready, we were escorted to the suite (room 31) which was towards the dining area/pool area further back from the road. The staff member showing us around the room was fantastic - showing us where things were kept, and how things worked.

The family suite was enormous - with a living area + small kitchenette, two balconies (one with day bed and a separate table/chairs), a large bathroom with double basin, sunken spa bath, large shower and all the little luxuries that come with a well-appointed bathroom, a 'walk-in' robe/change area, and the bedroom with a comfortable queen 4-poster bed, a dresser table/mirror, additional seating and second television.

The suite was fantastic. And tastefully decorated too - a blend of modern design with hints of Thailand throughout. A nightly turn-down service with different sweet Thai treats and a little card with a description - I may be a little daft - but I truly looked forward to each night to see what was new.

The resort backs onto a strip of beach - as do a lot of the hotels in Chaweng. To the left was an empty plot of land, and to the right - the construction site that previous TA reviewers had mentioned. Needless to say - we had booked the room a month or so before all the reviews about noise etc started coming through on TA - I will admit I had second thoughts about the resort.

Perhaps when we were there they had 'scaled down' the work being done. Yes, some noise punctured the air while we were enjoying breakfast (absolutely fabulous by the way) or lounging on the deck; but in all honesty - the noise was so brief and would last only 2 or 3 minutes at a time (we mainly heard a loud strange thud, thud followed by a truck engine)...no idea what sort of machinery makes the sounds we heard. But I am so glad I didn't cancel our booking.

The 'infinity' pool is on the smaller side, and with the resort backing onto the beach - you have two choices of swimming.

We travelled in early November 2011, the water was flat and crystal clear. There is a large selection of deck chairs on the the deck, loungers on the beach, and even blue 'bean-bags' on the deck. Plenty of umbrellas too - we never had to fight over a spot to lounge. The pool guys/bar guys were very quick in helping set you up and were so attentive. Just sublime!!

Breakfast was a huge hit. A large selection, plus made to order (eggs/bacon/pancakes/french toast) so no bain-marie's with cold bacon (though Thai's seem to do their bacon to a crisp most of the time). My partner has an appetite - and even a second serve of french toast was no hassel. The service at the restaurant was great - we never ate dinner (a short walk outside the hotel & so many choices we ate out every night) ; but we did eat lunch there once - the food was really good.

Happy hour was well used - buy one, get one free; with the bar staff always smiling and happy to recommend/assist as needed.

I honestly could not fault this place. I would not hesitate in returning to Buri Rasa & would highly recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littlepichka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,062
    194
    50
    17
    10
See reviews for
262
715
52
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We stayed at the Buri Rasa for 3 nights from the first week of this month. Before that, we had stayed at another resort, the Bophut, which is on the quieter north side of the island.When we arrived at Buri Rasa look like nobody at the front desk just 1 lady around and we have to carry our baggage my myself from the street to the lobby area. all resort propoties was ok and great location. someday i heard about some noise around the resort but not nessessary for me.Also when we checked out at 12:00pm we called to 0 but nobody answer. i have press 2 times but still quiet. i understand maybe they are busy on that time and i have to carry by myself again when we checked out.

Room Tip: You can book the room and request the room in the middle of resort because more quiet from the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew Murphy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Stayed 3 nights. Room description from booking.com did not match the room given. The hotel was very understanding, and upgraded us to a room more befitting our expectations. The room was comfortable. We had a sea view deluxe which had a small spa bath, which was nice to relax in of an evening. The hotel is situated at the middle-southern end of Chaweng beach. All the shops and restaurants were very nearby, but is was away from the nightclubs etc. We had easy access to the beach which was good. The construction noise bothered us on one morning, when we wanted to sleep in, and made breakfast a little less relaxing with the background jack-hammering. The staff here are great, very helpful and friendly. Happy hour at the bar was good value, with a good selection of cocktails etc. Breakfast was very good, with fruit, bread, cold-cuts, juices etc on the buffet, and a good selection of cooked food made to order, including various coffee types.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edcanstay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Me and my wife just got back from a 6 day holiday and loved this place. Was a little concern when I've read on the constructions that were going on but seriously, we didn;t hear any thing at all during our stay. There were a new hotel that was coming up right beside this hotel, but again, we did not hear a thing.

The service was excellent at this hotel. We ordered a bucket of ice to put in a bottle of wine we have just purchased, and I'm not joking when I say, as soon as I put down the phone, there were a knock on the door and the bucket with the ice was delivered. It was like these guys were right beside my door when I made this request :) And the reviews were right when they say that every staff were extremely helpful and were always willing to go a little further in helping the guest.

Was also a little concern on the mosquito situation and the beds (a little small) that I read from the reviews but again, did not experience any mosquito problems. They did fog the place regularly though and that could be the reason. On the bed situation, the bed's were smaller and not a king size bed as mentioned by the other readers, nonetheless, the beds were extremely comfortable and we loved sleeping on them.

The beach was simply lovely. The waves were a little rough though as it is the monsoon season at this time.

Overall, loved this hotel and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J0achim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

This was our second time here in 2 years and we fell in love with it all over again. The hotel is lovely and small and is an oasis away from Chaweng Road. The breakfast is amazing with both buffet and made to order selections with cappuccino or latte available if you ask. The staff make this place and the wonderful Chart was fab - helpful, friendly and super efficient. The boys on the beach/around the pool were also great. Happy hour mojitos were very popular! as was the revamped pool area with a new bbq area and soft bags to lounge on located on wooden decking overlooking the beach.
The location is great on a beautiful stretch of beach , which is perfect for people watching. The hawkers on the beach just need a polite no thanks if you don't want bothering.We loved letting off chinese lanterns on the beach and also the lovely corn and pineapple freshly prepared in front of you.
I love massage and my 6 year old daughter decided she wanted to come along. We went to the girls in the wooden sala at the front of the hotel to the left (looking from the beach) and they were great. I had a fantastic thai massage and my daughter lay next to me having a very gentle massage which she loved an all for 600 bht including tip. The hotel spa was great for nails and again my daughter came with me for a treat and the staff were lovely with her and she was thrilled with her pink nails! I also used the massage place opposite the beachcomber on Chaweng Road for a foot and leg massage and it was very professional and clean - would definitely recommend it.
Only a couple of minor issues - gosh the mossies! both years there were loads. We travelled to other hotels and there were nowhere near as many - maybe it's the lovely lush foliage in the hotel grounds? This year we sprayed the room every night with spray from the mini mart as we went out and this seemed to help and i only got a couple of bites over 6 days compared to over 40 over 2 weeks last year. Happily they don't like the taste of our daughter and she only got one "nibble".
The other thing that may or may not be a problem is the construction noise next door. I feel so sorry for the hotel as it's been going on for years and then just as it was due to complete and the hotel open it was ruined by the floods (it's much lower down and the floods escaped through it's grounds on to the beach). We could here the noise in the room but only during the day and it didn't spoil our enjoyment at all.
Can't wait for a return visit again!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Actually a great resort, but there's serious construction going on next door 9AM -5PM 7 days a week....the kind of construction that you can hear 3 blocks away. Bulldozers, jackhammers etc. I was not warned of this until I got to my room, where the noise was almost unbearable. I would have simply switched hotels, but I prepaid through expedia for a cheaper rate. Also, this is not a "remote" resort as a few mentioned, it's just down the street from the busier area. It looked like the construction could go on for months, which is a shame because it's actually an awesome resort. If it wasn't for the construction, I would have rated it 5 stars. Call before you book to see if the construction is done.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank rba115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuriRasa, General Manager at Buri Rasa Village Samui, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
Dear rba 115,

Thank you for your very valuable comment and apologies for the belated reply.
The noise from next door was the result of demolishing the front part of a recently to open resort which has been damaged beyond repairs in the flooding of March/April 2011. The local municipality has advised the owner to clear all within a space of 2 weeks and thus our resort had no advance warning of these works. I sincerely apologize for this inconvenience and herby advise that the land has been cleared and that there is no further demolishing or constructing occurring at present.

I am delighted to hear though that you have been pleased with our resort overall and I would be delighted if we have the chance of welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future.

Thank you and apologies once again.

Bernd Schillig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

We stayed at Buri Rasa for just over one week at the beginning of October. We had an absolutely lovely time. We were upgraded to a room with a garden courtyard. The rooms were tastefully decorated, plenty of space, and each room has it's own private courtyard or balcony. The bathroom was spacious, the complimentary toiletries were lovely. We usually don't use the toiletries provided at hotels as they are often of poor quality, however, the shampoo, conditioner and shower gel provided at Buri Rasa were fabulous. Other thoughtful details included: pillow menu, complimentary water, well stocked mini bar/fridge, natural and effective mosquito repellant spray and wipes.

The breakfasts were great, plenty of choice and presented beautifully. We also had lunch/dinner here on a few occassions - fantastic food and service. Try the seafood specials.

We were blessed with a week of sunshine and so we spent a lot of time on the beach. The hotel has it's own section of beach, which was great. The loungers were comfortable and towels were provided. The dip pool was beautiful and clean.

We enjoyed the location of the hotel. It is right on Chaweng beach. If you wanted to go out at night everything is on your doorstep. However, as soon as you step off the main road into Buri Rasa you find yourself in a little oasis of clam! Best of both worlds!

What really sets this hotel apart is the attention to detail and the helpful and genuine attitude of the staff. The staff were so friendly, polite and helpful. They really could not do enough for you.

We were supposed to leave Buri Rasa after one week and then spend two days in Bangkok before flying home to London. However, we were having such a great relaxing time at Buri Rasa that we scrapped our plans to go to Bangkok and stayed an extra two days at Buri Rasa! The hotel accommodated our last minute change of plan - nothing was too much trouble.

We have already recommended this hotel to our friends and family. A little bit of paradise set within bustling Chaweng beach.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrandmrslord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
0.6 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
677 reviews
0.1 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,399 reviews
0.3 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,740 reviews
1.1 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
2,357 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buri Rasa Village Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buri Rasa Village Samui

Property: Buri Rasa Village Samui
Address: 11/2 Moo 2 Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#2 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#2 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#4 Business Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Buri Rasa Village Samui 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning Buri Rasa Village located at the very center of Chaweng Beach, Koh Samui. Buri Rasa is an enchanting traditional southern Thai dwelling in a Garden of Eden. Echoes of halcyon days with once upon a time tales of aristocracy escaping to country or paradise island retreats with a full compliment of servants and services to meet their every need & requirement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Buri Rasa Village Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buri Rasa Village Hotel Chaweng
Buri Rasa Village Koh Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing