We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value family hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Samui First House Resort
Ranked #60 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
SA
1 review
“Great value family hotel”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed in a family room which was huge with plenty of space for our family. The second bedroom had no windows which created a great dark space to encourage the young ones to sleep in! The pool was fantastic and my 6 year old spent many hours swimming in it. When the weather was good the beach in front of the hotel was absolutely gorgeous. The breakfast was good and free with our deal so that was a bonus. My only complaint would be that there was no privacy on the balconies.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiji2010Sa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    162
    104
    42
    20
See reviews for
46
132
27
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was average. Staff do not speak much English and were not of much assistance. Rooms were clean and big. We were in a deluxe room. Beds were as hard as rock and the light outside did was not turned off at night so a little hard to sleep at night. Air conditioner was ok but very loud. Buffet breakfast is excellent with lots to choose from. Restaurant is expensive but nice. It is on the end of chaweng beach so a little far out but ok.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AusGirl000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fethiye, Turkey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We booked in here and were allocated a standard room up in the a joining building and up 4 flights of steps with no view or balcony. We immediately asked to be moved to the main block that overlooks the pool as there was no way I was going to stay in a room that if you pulled the curtains you looked out at a wall 2ft away with a/c units over it!
Once we had moved we settled and enjoyed the rest of our 4 day stay. Breakfast was 300tbt on top and you can get cheaper, about 120bht, 5 mins walk away at the Italian up the small hill.
It's only a few minutes to walk through to the beach and Monkeys Shack on the Chaewang Noi beach where there were sunbeds to use free of charge. You could get the taxi into Chaewang central for the bars and shops and noise but we liked the few restaurants we found walking towards Chaewang.

Room Tip: Insist on the block around the swimming pool for the best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We ordered this place on a deal so it was significantly cheaper than all the other hotels we stayed in during our trip in Thailand, so we were expecting a simple place, but not a horrible one.
The ceiling in the corridor was maybe 20 cm above our head, the room had a weird stench, the bathroom's wall paint was coming off with cracks and mold everywhere, the curtains were yellowish of time and stained. In addition, the place was farther from Chaweng center than we thought (nearly half an hour walk), which wasn't comfortable during rainy weather.
The beach was ok, but resembled a cheap health resort for the elderly.
There is no safe deposit box in the room, but they provide personal lockers in a room by the reception. They are made of plastic and locked with a padlock.
The only thing that was pretty good was the service that was prompt and kind.

Room Tip: There are several buildings of varying quality. Be wary of deals, they don't state that you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YuliaAndRoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chaweng hotels

Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

You should remember that you get what you pay for! And in this hotel you actually receive more than that!
The breakfast is very nice! The pool is well located, though it is a bit small, but acceptable.
The main issue here is the location! The hotel has its own beach (small but still very nice). It's located on the far end of the Chaweng beach, which means a quiet environment and not in the middle of all the night life, but still close enough. The hotel facilities are nice, the gym is basic but it's ok. The stuff was very helpfull and nice!!
For the price, it is a very nice hotel in a good location.

Room Tip: Ask for the higher levels so you won't be facing a wall view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tolik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We were extremely disappointed with this hotel. As we have had the opportunity to see other hotel, this one is probably one of the worst hotel in Koh Samui.
- The service was really bad and the employees unfriendly, particularly the manager.
- We were placed in a room in front of a building in construction such that it was noisy in the morning and throughout the day. These rooms should not have been rented in the first place in our opinion. When we complained, the employees and managers were not at all sympathetic and we were not offered a decent solution.
-The building we were in was also not the one that we could see on the pictures from the hotel website. We were placed in a building that was not pictured, and that is not in front of the pool so we have also been misled from that perspective.
- The beach in front of the hotel is probably the worst spot on Chaweng as there is a sewer pipe at a few hundred meters from it, making the water not clean at all and the beach really bad. We therefore did not go to the beach of the hotel at all.
- The morning breakfast was of very poor quality.
- The location is not very convenient, as it is not close to the main shops and restaurants of Chaweng.

Overall, our hotel experience was terrible.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelling_Joe_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

I'm sort of hesitant to write this because it may seem unfair. This hotel is actually quite nice. We had a huge room with a separate sitting area with a couch and chairs to chillax. We had a semi view of the ocean and a big balcony facing the Pool. It is not located at the bottom of the strip it's even further. It's ok when you bargain down the motor taxis but it gets annoying at times when everything is further up and you need to pay because its too hot to walk. They have their own private beach which is beautiful too..
The female staff were absolute gems and overall we had a really pleasant stay until....
As we were checking out the manager mr ton was there and almost literally threw us out of the hotel. We were going on a day trip and we checked out EARLY at 8am. Due to unforeseen circumstances we were able to stay another night in samui and while he was yelling we asked if we could check in another night. A polite female staff tried to answer but be cut her off and yelled "no!" This ruined our stay and even though everything was great, that last experience left us with negative feelings towards the place.
They did let us leave our Luggage at the reception until we could bring them to the next place...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Taibash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.2 mi away
First Residence Hotel
First Residence Hotel
#39 of 104 in Chaweng
213 reviews
0.0 mi away
First Bungalow Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Seascape Beach Resort
Seascape Beach Resort
#59 of 104 in Chaweng
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sans Souci Samui
Sans Souci Samui
#32 of 104 in Chaweng
233 reviews
0.6 mi away
Samui Verticolor
Samui Verticolor
#64 of 104 in Chaweng
521 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chaweng Resort
Chaweng Resort
#66 of 104 in Chaweng
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samui First House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui First House Resort

Property: Samui First House Resort
Address: 4 Moo.3 Chaweng Beach | Tambon Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Chaweng
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Samui First House Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samui First House Hotel is located on the largest island of the Gulf of Siam, called Koh Samui. Its beautiful white sand beaches, crystal clear water, jungle, hills and waterfalls create a very changing landscape, rarely found on the other islands. Koh Samui has now become an internationally-renowned holiday destination and receives more and more tourists every year, attracted by its unchanged beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Samui First House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui 1st House Resort
Samui First House Hotel Chaweng
Samui First Hotel
Samui First Resort
Samui First House Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing