We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location & Relaxed Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Baan Talay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baan Talay Resort
Ranked #27 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location & Relaxed Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2010

My partner and I met up with the some friends and stayed at the Baan Talay. After months of research we selected Baan Talay for its location and individual bungalows. We selected correctly. The location is the best I believe on Chaweng as the beach is beautiful and not too full of tourists or jet ski's but close enough to the action if you are wanting it. The staff were lovely, very helpful and friendly, and the rooms and resort were very clean. The spa and massage place across the road was also a bonus, lovely people, great massages and foot scrubs for those in need. We would definitely stay a Baan Talay again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MemeMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    224
    56
    26
    28
See reviews for
69
236
29
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2010

Baan Talay is a gem of a hotel, the staff are so friendly and helpful, the rooms are spotlessly clean, and are set in a pretty garden setting ,with little ponds dotted around. We stayed in a garden room which was very spacious and we could see the pool and the sea from our terrace. The beach was lovely,its at the southern end of chaweng so slightly quieter,the views are fantastic from the restaurant. I was initially worried about staying here as some of the reviews were quite negative,so arrived with low expectations but was very impressed with the standard of the resort and can only praise the lovely staff and management of Baan Talay as we had a fantastic holiday!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrea075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2010

I took my wife to thailand for her 40th birthday,stayed in the newly renovated pool view room it was neat clean tidy and comfy. The service was warm and friendly the staff went out of their way to look after us even a surprise birthday cake music candles and all the staff in the restaurant wishing my wife a happy birthday was fantastic on her big day. breakfast was included in package and food was excellent and the coconut shakes yum!
The room service was fantastic and the staff when making the room each day make a little animal with the fresh towels on the bed, the resort is quiet at night and the layout of the villas around the pool and gardens is beautiful.GREAT LOCATION! GREAT VALUE! Baan Talay we will love you long time and will come back with our kids next time.
thankyou for making our first holiday to thailand so special regards stuart & sue A.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stuart2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2010

I loved this resort, and it was well worth the money. I shopped around and got a great deal on the poolside room, I was a single parent travelling with children (8 & 13yrs), and being able to let them play in the pool whilst i stayed in the room to rest or get ready was THE BEST. The hotel was safe, with visable security at all times. We hired a safety deposit box in reception for the week and all our valuables were safe, although we did tend to transfer our valuables back to the room when we were in.

As there were 3 of us, the hotel made up the sofa bed and tried charging a steep amount of money for the extra bed per night, however, i told them to take it away. As i was travelling around Thailand i had with me some linen and made up a bed on the sofa bed for my daughter which she slept in, all 5"7 of her!!! and was comfortable. BEING IN A TROPICAL COUNTRY YOU REALLY DON'T NEED HEAVY BLANKETS UNLESS YOU HAVE THE AIR CON ON FULL BLAST!!

The rooms were modern, clean and very big, with complimentary tea and cofee, TV and walk in shower room. It offered plenty of storage space and was very roomy for the 3 of us.

The breakfast buffet which i had prepaid for (ohhh except for the extra child in the room, had to pay for that on arrival) was delicious, eggs made to order, cereals, fruit, waffels meats etc, As was the lunch / dinner menu, it was delicious food for a very competitive price a meal would be about £2.00 which for food in a hotel was excellent value, offered in decent surroundings and quality food and presentation. Out of the hotel you don't always find such value and quality.

Cheweng on the hole was ok, vry commercial, however, the Baan Talay offered a great place to come back to. The staff were freindly especially the resaurant staff and they loved the children, always speaking with them and giving them sweets.

The entrance to the hotel is not to the same standards to the rest of the hotel, however, we didn't sleep in the reception!!!!

I would definately recommend this hotel to friends and family!!!!

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RubyReal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, british columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2009

Far enough from Chaweng Beach so its quieter on the beaches and only a short taxi ride away from the craziness of Chaweng beach for the late nights.
The resort had a nice pool, a good restaurant with laid back seating with a nice view overlooking the water and a great beach. The staff was friendly and helpful. There are a lot of insects due to the fact the resort is lined with ponds, some of the critters do get inside your room. The rooms were okay, nothing great. Overall, I don't think the Baan Talay was worth the price that we paid. You could find better value elsewhere.

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank goagz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2009

This was my first time to Thailand and in particular Koh Samui. My partner however had been previously. We knew this wasn't the best time to travel due to the rain, however thought an afternoon shower in the heat/humidity wouldn't be so bad. The rain however did not stop! Not much you can do about the weather though.

I must admit when we arrived at the resort I was a little taken back, as from the street it is not that appealing. The resort recently had renovations done which I can see, but it still wasn't at the level we expected. We stayed in the "beach bungalow" of which there are only 3 in the resort, smack bang on the waterfront. The bungalow was nice, not too much to complain about, but I certainly wouldn't rave about it. We were initially put in "bungalow 1" which is right up against the fence where next door are doing construction works. Luckily the first night there was no noise, but we still opted to move to "bungalow 2" the next morning so we weren't right next to it. This was accommodated without question. The staff here are all generally nice as you'd expect in Thailand, although English can be a bit of a problem. From what we could tell, the room wasn't entirely ready for our arrival (late afternoon) as there were no hand towels, minibar wasn't stocked correctly etc. This was corrected by a staff member knocking on our door soon after we checked in. There isn't a safe in the room. Instead you have to buy a padlock from reception and use the lockers behind the reception desk.

Chaweng Beach was not as my partner remembered it. A friend of ours referred to it as "washaway bay" and we soon realised why. Unfortunately there just isn't any sand. The water is literally lapping at your doorstep. You can't lie out on the sand during the day as there isn't any and you have to dodge all of the rubbish. We initially booked for 6 nights, but decided to leave after 4 as we were well and truly over it. Upon requesting a refund for two nights or something, our request was flat out refused. The main road in Koh Samui, Chaweng Beach Rd is very similar to Kuta in Bali. It's messy, dirty, lots of shop owners constantly trying to drag you into their shops. We thought this would cease after the first few "NO'S", but it continued every time we stepped foot onto the road. As said, because of all of this combined we left two nights early and flew up to Chiang Mai and enjoyed ourselves tenfold.

At the end of the day, we enjoyed it somewhat. It wasn't necessarily the resort that put a dampner on it, but rather Koh Samui itself. Both of us agreed we wouldn't return again in the future. The resort is neither here nor there. If we were ever to return again, we would probably look elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussieflyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.4 mi away
First Bungalow Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Samui Verticolor
Samui Verticolor
#63 of 104 in Chaweng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.7 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
#31 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.6 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
0.3 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Talay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Talay Resort

Property: Baan Talay Resort
Address: 17 / 36 Moo 3 Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baan Talay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the southern part of the paradise island of Samui in Chaweng beach. Ideal for romantic get-aways, families and friends. Our team speak well English, French and Thai ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baan Talay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Talay Hotel Chaweng
Baan Talay Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing