We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Baan Talay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baan Talay Resort
Ranked #27 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“average!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed there for three nights. Check in was smooth though I think the receptionist could be little more friendly. Rooms are specious with all the necessary amenities. Restaurant is nice and facing to beach. Breakfast was ok. Overall good stay but won’t be going there back as there lots of hotel to chose from with the same facilities. One thing just to mention, I left my iphone charger at Bangkok hotel and was keen to get some assistance from the reception but they simply said they don’t have it! They didn’t even bother to direct me to the alternatives!

Room Tip: pool facing rooms lacks privacy in my opinion wall facing (garden in their terms) are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quazi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    224
    56
    26
    28
See reviews for
69
236
29
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

We booked through AsiaRooms.com I think... we booked a garden room for a week over Xmas. When we arrived, we were upgraded to a pool room - LOVELY rooms! The rooms are big - we had our 2 young daughters with us, there was plenty of room, with firm mattresses (if you've not been to Thailand, I think all mattresses here are very firm). The decor is nice.. Great storage.

Staff are wonderful, friendly, helpful and always willing to go the extra step for you.

The beach is lovely at this end of Chaweng and it's not so noisy. If you're a young single, this isn't the place for you I think... If you have kids, let them play on the beach, while you laze on the lounges up in the restaurant watching. It was just delightful.

The restaurant food was good, but over priced. There are lovely little places down the road where you pay less than a third of the in-house restaurant. Same with beers.. too pricey. However, nothing stopping you heading out and bringing your own in!

We'll most certainly go back here! Loved it! Thanks

Room Tip: Get a pool or beach front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lifeinsingaporeis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

I stayed at the Baan Talay for five nights in Beach Hut number 1. It had an amazing balcony that looked over the beach. It is at the quieter end of Chaweng which we preferred. The food is amazing for breakfast and in the pool bar. The staff were friendly.

This is a really lovely small hotel which I would recommend.

Room Tip: Go for the Beach Hut.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daniellelondon24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here booked through Agoda with two other couples and loved it. We all got room upgrade on arrival which was a bonus. Nice clean pool and right on the beach front - nice quiet end of Chaweng and other resorts around. Can have a drink on the sweet loungers looking over the beach in the evening and a short stroll down the main road (turning right out of the hotel) will take you to plenty of places for dinner and shops. Would DEFINITELY stay here again. The rooms were perfectly clean and nice.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Traveldean2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

we stayed here for 4 nights from 31/12/13 - 4/1/14 and opted for the beachfront room.

The weather was not too great the first 3 days as it was cloudy but luckily it did not rain. we woke up to the sound of waves as it was high tide in the mornings and the waves came quite close to the front of the room.

The whole room was clean, huge with ample power points for a gadget freak like my husband. One of our favorite spots was the deck at the dining area where we can laze around facing the beach after having breakfast. Even though the hotel was full there were enough sunbeds for everyone.
In terms of location, yes it was quite a walk to get to Chaweng centre but there are a lot of taxis right in front of the hotel. If one is more adventurous, hiring a bike to tour the island is recommended.
Would definitely come here again and our only wish was that the weather would be better. the sun was out the last 2 days of our trip and the view was great!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the beachfront are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ayu78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I were looking forward to staying here after an action packed stay on ko san road, in bangkok. We were pleased with our choice, especially when we were offered a free upgrade. Some say its not a good location, I thought it was perfect! Granted it can take you 25min to get to the busier part of chaweng but its a beautiful road to stroll down. We popped into bars and massage parlours along the way and honestly didnt feel it was a laborious walk. Theres great shops directly outdide the hotel and all the way down to the center of chaweng. I noticed construction next door but never once heard any noise coming from it. Breakfasts were good. Fry ups, cereals,fruit yogurt, pastries etc... we couldnt want for more. Lovely pool area. Staff were very sweet. The only thing that did annoy us was the smell coming from the bathroom. We kept the bathroom door closed so the problem was solved. The hotel was good value for money and it delivered!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

just got back from samui 2/12=12/12/13
1-this hotel is 25 min walk from center chaweng
2- construction noise is just terrible ..you wake up in the morning to shouting and noise not so nice for vacation
3) poor resort nothing to offer no athmospere no nothing
beach is very narow there

so many other options with same price
even more so if your ayoung solo travler dont go there

Room Tip: if your alredy there ask for rooms with less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gold2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.4 mi away
First Bungalow Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Samui Verticolor
Samui Verticolor
#63 of 104 in Chaweng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.7 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#7 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
#30 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.6 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
0.3 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Talay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Talay Resort

Property: Baan Talay Resort
Address: 17 / 36 Moo 3 Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baan Talay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the southern part of the paradise island of Samui in Chaweng beach. Ideal for romantic get-aways, families and friends. Our team speak well English, French and Thai ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Baan Talay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Talay Hotel Chaweng
Baan Talay Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing