We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's difficult not to pay attention to many details, when you are there.”
Review of Baan Talay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Baan Talay Resort
Ranked #31 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“It's difficult not to pay attention to many details, when you are there.”
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Ok... I think it's better to write stories. The first one is short. If you don't have big experience in travel and it's not very important where to stay and you don't want to spend to much money, then it's ok for you.
And now the second story. It'll be longer. At first I must say, that it's very strange hotel. On the first hand the sea is very close to this hotel. You don't need to go somewhere to swim. The beach is clean. At the night they have security guard there.
You can relax near the pool, drinking some cocktails or beer, for example. But...
They don't think about your comfort in the room. It consists in different things:
1. It's hard to close the door, when you leave your bungalow. You think it is closed, but ... no. it's not. So you have to use something to close it.
2. Bath is dirty in some places. Inside part of the door is not painted. It looks like it is 20 years old.
3. There is a ceiling made of glass. So it could be very nice to see the clouds or something, but ... it's so dirty, that you don't want to look at this.
4. Breakfast. I spent 17 nights there. They should cook something else, except 3 kinds of fruits, bacon, sausages, disgusting juice (come on... it's so easy to make fresh juice in this country).
5. Wi-fi. Sometimes it's free (I think they don't know about this). But... sometimes you need to pay for it. But you can't, because they don't have special cards or something.
I stayed in two types of bungalows. Garden view and pool view. there is a difference, but it's not so big like the difference between the price.
About that wall. Yes. There is terrible wall. It's wallview. It means that you can't see anything except big wall. So be careful about this type of bungalow.
I think it's good for students or somebody like them.

Room Tip: Garden view bungalow without the wall would be ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pashaslon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    240
    62
    30
    29
See reviews for
82
247
34
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

This was our 2nd year at baan talay resort but with 6 different friends.We stayed in a beach front bungalow and so did 2 other people and the other 4 stayed in garden view room.The garden view rooms are basic but excellent value for money.Beach front bungalows are great,just open your door and you are on the beach. It is great just people watching all day and buy from people on beach from your verandah.It is on the quiet side of chaweng beach.Staff our very friendly and helpful and the restuarant is very nice.A SPECIAL MENTION TO ALEX AT RESTURANT THAT WAS VERY HELPFUL.Heaps to do at koh samui and we will definetly be back next year for another 14 days.THANK YOU ALL THE STAFF AT BAAN TALAY FOR MAKING OUR HOLIDAY SO MEMORABLE.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marshall90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Rooms were great size & great condition. Breakfast good & till 10.30. lovely pool, located right on the beach.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Haz2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Me and my son stayed here the first three nights on Koh Samui. Spacious rooms with an enormous bed. Very hard though, but we slept well. The staff is friendly and nice. Pool area very nice and also the beach. No problem finding sunbeds. Breakfast was ok, but nothing extra. The restaurant had good food, but a little pricey.
A short walk outside the hotel, to the right, is this fantastic massage place. In the four weeks we stayed this summer, this was the best place.
We will for sure come back here!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoctailsAndDreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2011

Got to the hotel and they didn't have a room for me even though I had booked like 2 months earlier. So...they give me a room "upgrade" but they only do it for 1 night and then I had to pack up all my stuff and go to another room. The hotel was nice enough but the staff is the most incompetent I have seen in a very long time. Then as I'm checking out they charge me $50 dollars for a nick in the cheap plastic keychain they gave me with the room key. That plastic keychain couldn't have been worth more than $1 in Thailand! When I went to another hotel (about the same price a night) they gave me a keychain that was already a bit scuffed I asked if that was going to be a problem when I checked out and they laughed and said of course not why would they charge for a scuff on a plastic keychain.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank caligrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights earlier this month. Overall, I was pretty disappointed with this hotel and would not choose to stay here again, the main reason being that I definitely felt deceived by their advertising. The hotel is a lot shabbier than it looks in the photos; common areas like the reception, restaurant and lounge chairs on the beach could definitely use updating and I didn't really want to sit down on some of the lounge chairs because they had so many stains. But what really tipped the scale against against them was the fact that they seemed to be using two different standards of cleanliness depending on which level of room you stayed in. If you stayed in the more expensive rooms ("Pool View" rooms), you had nicer linens, furniture, towels, etc. In the less expensive rooms, you barely wanted to sit down on the bed due to all the stains on the sheets. We know this because we were so uncomfortable, we decided to upgrade from a "Garden View" room to a"Pool View." We were on vacation and didn't want a big hassle by changing hotels, but honestly, I don't think that I should have had to pay a $41 price difference to use clean towels and have clean sheets at the same hotel!

I had originally booked a garden view room because of the lower price (about $90/night) and I wasn't looking for luxury. What I got was really disappointing. The sheets had stains, there was no real blanket - just a wool blanket tucked into two sheets. Bathroom was falling apart and the water pressure wasn't very good. The entire place just felt unclean.

We walked by the more expensive "Pool view" rooms and decided to upgrade - what a world of difference. It felt like we were staying at a different hotel. The nicer rooms had real comforters. The hotel even marks the towels for which level of rooms they belong in. The bathroom was clean and pleasant. When we upgraded, we noticed that the construction of the bungalow was much better, higher ceilings, more windows. The furnishings were newer and the linens and towels were clean! Amazing.

If you decide to stay here, definitely book a Pool View or Beachfront room, but honestly, I agree with other reviewers that with the lack of amenities, they really are over-charging their customers.

One thing I will say is that we ate dinner here one night and it was surprisingly good (albeit overly priced). The beach here is also really nice - fine white sand - and the location at the quieter southern strip of Chaweng was a plus, but given that there are so many hotels to choose from around here, don't bother with Baan Talay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank phm22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
556 reviews
243 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2011

The resort is very cosy and compact and offers both a nice pool area and quick access to the sea. The newer rooms are built and decorated in a design-ish style, which is a fresh alternative to those outdated oriental styles. Staff was very friendly and helpful. As to the room equipment, we were happy to find safety boxes in the rooms (I don't recall that to be mentioned in the hotel data)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexey Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.3 mi away
Samui Verticolor
Samui Verticolor
#62 of 104 in Chaweng
535 reviews
0.4 mi away
First Bungalow Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
#36 of 104 in Chaweng
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Samui Resotel Beach Resort
Samui Resotel Beach Resort
#37 of 104 in Chaweng
699 reviews
0.6 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,448 reviews
0.7 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Talay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Talay Resort

Property: Baan Talay Resort
Address: 17 / 36 Moo 3 Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baan Talay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the southern part of the paradise island of Samui in Chaweng beach. Ideal for romantic get-aways, families and friends. Our team speak well English, French and Thai ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baan Talay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Talay Hotel Chaweng
Baan Talay Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing