We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little gem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Samui Natien Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Samui Natien Resort
Ranked #9 of 65 Chaweng B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Just spent a magical 10 days at Samui Natien ! Found this through tripadvisor and am pleased to say that it looks just as beautiful as the online photos! We stayed in one of the villas, a stones throw from the pool and beach. It was perfect... nothing fancy but all that one requires in that stunning location. The staff were extremely friendly and efficient and the gardens and beach area are immaculately maintained. A lovely quiet location, yet central to everything too...we were so grateful that we weren't in the busy beach part of Chaweng, where music pumps late into the night and revellers leave their empty bottles strewn around. Enjoyed it being a quieter time of the year as well. I don't know what the rooms in the building are like... but I would really recommend the villa room. It was a wonderful holiday... and I hope to visit Samui Natien again!

Room Tip: The villas are perfect...room 603 very close to pool, yet private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    77
    31
    4
    4
See reviews for
21
69
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Have visited Koh Samui 4 times and this was my second stay in Samui Natien. There are many types of accommodation available to sort all needs on Samui but, this small resort suited my needs.

About a 10 minute drive from Samui International Airport it's located at one end of Chaweng Beach.

2 types of accommodation individual villa types or rooms within a block. I have stayed in both and they are both clean, tidy and provide all the basics one needs for a pleasant stay.

Staff are friendly and just outside is a travel agent who can arrange any trips/tours on the Island or throughout Thailand in general. There is plenty of these all over the island but, I've used this particular one twice and had no problems.

Breakfast buffet is sufficient not the best defiantly not the worst. A simple but, effective pool on the beach allows you to relax the days away in relative calmness compared to some of the more rowdy resorts further along the beach.

The main night life that is on par with Patpong in Bangkok is a 10 minute walk away known as Soi Green Mango comprising of many bars and 2 clubs, Green Mango and Sound.

The Island is easy to get around and whether you chose to explore on foot, moped, organised tour or the more expensive option taxi I find Samui Natien is an ideal base for both a relaxing and quiet stay with the party scene if you need it only a short walk away but, further away not to notice.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dunky75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beer Yackov
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed here in Sept 2007 for our honeymoon. A simple small hotel with great service & smile. We stayed for 10 days and are dreaming of coming back since. Maybe with our children. We got a recommendation from another couple who were there at their honeymoon.

The hotel was fun, we enjoyed the beach (not so much the water but definitely the views) and the small pool is fun. Just thinking of it brings back memories. Loved the place and the Island.
Also great location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JackTheShark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Resort is small but very clean and gardens are lovely, well kept and tidy.
Breakfast is basic, eggs, two choice of cereals only, bacon was horrible, ham was kept in water along with their little pork sausages. Bread rolls and fruit was covered in flies most mornings. Staff very attentive though. The villas are overpriced (garden view) as we paid twice what our friends paid and all we got was a slightly bigger room with a spare bed and ceiling fan. Our friends were in the apartment style block opposite us and their room was perfectly fine for half the price about $45 per night. Be aware that April May June are low season and are very very hot and humid. The pool is small and only 1.2m deep. No room for lounges around the pool so you have to use lounges on the beach. They have umbrellas and the lounges are free supplied by the hotel. It was soo hot though that you needed to be under the trees for relief from the heat, and the only way to be cool was to stand under the shower near the pool. The beach water was so hot it had algae growing in it and was smelly. The lagoon out the front has two small islands which stop the ocean from refreshing the lagoon area at low tide ( which seemed to be every day all day) and you couldn't swim in it. There are no safes in the rooms but they have lockers behind reception. We supplied our own lock for this to be sure. The beach area further south away from the islands was much nicer this time of year. Maybe the tides are higher earlier or later in the year and the beach would be fine but May is definitely not the time to go to the north of Chaweng beach unless you like pools only but then you need a lounge to lay or sit on and this hotel doesn't have them. Restaurants are fantastic. this island has the most 5 star restaurants I have ever seen. You are spoilt for choice. Recommend Happy Elephant at Fishermans Village.
Shops are not so keen to bargain and were much dearer than Bali for similar items. Beer was a little dearer than Bali too. I am a non drinker so stuck to fruit juices which were lovely. The island has Walking Streets on various nights in different areas which are lots of fun. Food stalls presenting heaps of yummy food and souveniers, with entertainment too.

Room Tip: If you don't mind staying in a room with others above or below you I would chose the basic room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Balitragic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boras, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

This hotel could not be located in a better place at Chaweng beach. It is situated just north of the one-way tourist filled shopping and dining street that hugs the coast at Chaweng beach.
The beach by the hotels pool is also the northern, more relaxed, part of the beach.
The rooms were nice and of a good size, the only complaint I have about this hotel is that they don't seem to clean the balconies very often. I know I'm more sensitive than most to the stink of old sweat, but one would expect them to at least clean the balconies with water between guests. They had not in this case which made the balcony unusable for me during my whole stay (to cowardly to complain to the cleaning staff I guess :).
The only other complaint with this hotel was the unimaginative breakfast buffet and that they could have gotten better containers for the food that would keep the flies away from the food.
Freshly cut pineapple isn't all that appetizing when a cloud of small fruit flies lifts of when you reach out to get some fruits.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fredrik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Great price great location great view and friendly staff, close enough to the party action but far enough away to escape and relax. We were 4 students staying there and chaweng was the main place to party so was great for us. The resort is right on the beach and there are restaurants all down the beach. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashleighmay1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

A nice hotel and the biggest complaint was that there were not any safes in the room but you could use the hotels deposit boxes.
The lost power to the Island for 2 day while I was there so it was good that the hotel had its own generator for lighting BUT not the air conn but they did put a fan in he room and that helped.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlesRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.1 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,250 reviews
0.9 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
#48 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Muang Samui Spa Resort
Muang Samui Spa Resort
#4 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
1.1 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samui Natien Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Natien Resort

Property: Samui Natien Resort
Address: 101/1, Moo2, Chaweng Beach | Suratthani, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Samui Natien Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samui Natien Resort is a member of Thai Hotels Association. The property is located on the secluded end of Chaweng beach and within an easy reach of all major shoppings and nightlife activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Samui Natien Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Natien Hotel Chaweng
Samui Natien Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing