We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stayed there a while back - Great Memories”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Samui Natien Resort
Ranked #7 of 65 Chaweng B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Beer Yackov
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Stayed there a while back - Great Memories”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed here in Sept 2007 for our honeymoon. A simple small hotel with great service & smile. We stayed for 10 days and are dreaming of coming back since. Maybe with our children. We got a recommendation from another couple who were there at their honeymoon.

The hotel was fun, we enjoyed the beach (not so much the water but definitely the views) and the small pool is fun. Just thinking of it brings back memories. Loved the place and the Island.
Also great location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackTheShark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    80
    31
    5
    4
See reviews for
21
72
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Resort is small but very clean and gardens are lovely, well kept and tidy.
Breakfast is basic, eggs, two choice of cereals only, bacon was horrible, ham was kept in water along with their little pork sausages. Bread rolls and fruit was covered in flies most mornings. Staff very attentive though. The villas are overpriced (garden view) as we paid twice what our friends paid and all we got was a slightly bigger room with a spare bed and ceiling fan. Our friends were in the apartment style block opposite us and their room was perfectly fine for half the price about $45 per night. Be aware that April May June are low season and are very very hot and humid. The pool is small and only 1.2m deep. No room for lounges around the pool so you have to use lounges on the beach. They have umbrellas and the lounges are free supplied by the hotel. It was soo hot though that you needed to be under the trees for relief from the heat, and the only way to be cool was to stand under the shower near the pool. The beach water was so hot it had algae growing in it and was smelly. The lagoon out the front has two small islands which stop the ocean from refreshing the lagoon area at low tide ( which seemed to be every day all day) and you couldn't swim in it. There are no safes in the rooms but they have lockers behind reception. We supplied our own lock for this to be sure. The beach area further south away from the islands was much nicer this time of year. Maybe the tides are higher earlier or later in the year and the beach would be fine but May is definitely not the time to go to the north of Chaweng beach unless you like pools only but then you need a lounge to lay or sit on and this hotel doesn't have them. Restaurants are fantastic. this island has the most 5 star restaurants I have ever seen. You are spoilt for choice. Recommend Happy Elephant at Fishermans Village.
Shops are not so keen to bargain and were much dearer than Bali for similar items. Beer was a little dearer than Bali too. I am a non drinker so stuck to fruit juices which were lovely. The island has Walking Streets on various nights in different areas which are lots of fun. Food stalls presenting heaps of yummy food and souveniers, with entertainment too.

Room Tip: If you don't mind staying in a room with others above or below you I would chose the basic room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Balitragic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boras, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This hotel could not be located in a better place at Chaweng beach. It is situated just north of the one-way tourist filled shopping and dining street that hugs the coast at Chaweng beach.
The beach by the hotels pool is also the northern, more relaxed, part of the beach.
The rooms were nice and of a good size, the only complaint I have about this hotel is that they don't seem to clean the balconies very often. I know I'm more sensitive than most to the stink of old sweat, but one would expect them to at least clean the balconies with water between guests. They had not in this case which made the balcony unusable for me during my whole stay (to cowardly to complain to the cleaning staff I guess :).
The only other complaint with this hotel was the unimaginative breakfast buffet and that they could have gotten better containers for the food that would keep the flies away from the food.
Freshly cut pineapple isn't all that appetizing when a cloud of small fruit flies lifts of when you reach out to get some fruits.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fredrik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Great price great location great view and friendly staff, close enough to the party action but far enough away to escape and relax. We were 4 students staying there and chaweng was the main place to party so was great for us. The resort is right on the beach and there are restaurants all down the beach. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashleighmay1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

A nice hotel and the biggest complaint was that there were not any safes in the room but you could use the hotels deposit boxes.
The lost power to the Island for 2 day while I was there so it was good that the hotel had its own generator for lighting BUT not the air conn but they did put a fan in he room and that helped.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlesRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Samui Natien is a great little resort located in a perfect spot along Chaweng Beach. It is well positioned along the street which is close by to a 7 eleven, money exchangers, shops, restaurants, etc. It is also well located along the beach where you will find many places to sit and eat at night or even have a drink or two.

Normally we would stay in a higher end resort whilst travelling, however as previous friends had stayed here it was recommended to us, and can I say we were not at all disappointed!

Everything about the Natien is what you would want in a resort. Beautiful kept grounds, very clean pool, friendly staff, clean and tidy rooms and excellent food.

We had lunch a couple of times by the beach/pool area and found the service outstanding as well as the taste of the food. The cocktails were also a good buy.

We never had a problem with finding a sun bed/lounge (which we’ve previously had issues at when staying at 4.5-5 star resorts) so it was nice to come out – whatever time of the day to find an array of sun beds to choose from.

Housekeeping was fantastic; the rooms were always very clean and tidy and could not fault this at all. There was a dull smell in our room, however this was probably due to the humidity and perhaps an old air conditioner on the way out, but we didn’t let that affect our stay at all. The bathroom could probably do with a renovation (more so the colour of the tiles, etc.) but that is only if I was to be picky!

Breakfast area was good you had all the usual choices bacon, eggs, pancakes, fruit, bread, cereal etc. which is all you really need, so no complaints there.

Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Samui Natien. It is a great value for money resort, especially if you’re staying for a long time in Koh Samui and we would probably return on one of our trips back to the Island.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BirdyAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

There is a bewildering array of resorts and hotels to choose from in Samui and if you went on a random hunt, you will likely spend several days and in the end, still end up none the wiser as to which one to choose. If you are a first time traveller to Samui, your research might have told you there are a few beaches to choose from while deciding where you want to stay and the best way of deciding on a resort is to choose a beach first.

The busiest/most happening of all beaches in Samui is Chaweng which is where Samui Natien is located. If you want to be near all the nightlife, scores of shops, a frenetic market, parties on the beach and the ilk, Chaweng is your beach and Samui Natien is one of the best options here. We booked for 3 nights via Agoda and got a deal which was a fair bit cheaper than equivalent options nearby.

The resort impresses for delivering great value for money but is not something you would remember for being extravagantly impressive or luxurious. The rooms are comfortable though the bathrooms are painfully small. The villas have an extra bed and aren’t much more expensive than the standard rooms, so works out well even if you are an odd number of people or with children. There’s a lot of green within the property which is well tended to by the workers giving it a nice feel. The restaurant is located right on the beach and whips up decent fare. The breakfast was functional at best, but had all the standard compliments so you wouldn’t really find anything amiss unless of course you are staying for long when the lack of variety will be bothersome. The pool is quite tiny but the sea bang in front is a curious little creation where you can wade 100 meters inside and still only be waist deep in water, so you may not miss a bigger pool too much. I also noticed that the pools at most equivalent resorts (like the Iyara next door) were equally small, so unless you were staying at a higher end property like Amari Palm or Sareeraya, this is probably what you will get everywhere. There’s also a small gym and sauna within the resort, access to which can be obtained from the staff at the restaurant. Wi fi isn’t free but you can always find several restaurants in the market which have free wi fi while dining or having a drink.

The best thing about Natien besides the value for money is its location. It’s located at the end of the busy part of the main street, so you are always within walking distance of all the nightlife. Also, by not being bang in the middle you avoid the noise that you might have encountered in the business end of the walking street. Some of the others like Nora that lie beyond Natien are slightly far off in terms of walking to and fro to the market every time. However, as some of the other reviewers have noted, the beach is not as good around Natien as at the other end, but you can always walk along the white sand and go where you find the sea to your liking.

Overall, a great value for money option if staying at Chaweng and well located.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bastaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.1 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,300 reviews
0.9 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,685 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Muang Samui Spa Resort
Muang Samui Spa Resort
#3 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
1.1 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samui Natien Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Natien Resort

Property: Samui Natien Resort
Address: 101/1, Moo2, Chaweng Beach | Suratthani, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Samui Natien Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samui Natien Resort is a member of Thai Hotels Association. The property is located on the secluded end of Chaweng beach and within an easy reach of all major shoppings and nightlife activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Samui Natien Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Natien Hotel Chaweng
Samui Natien Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing