We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Samui Natien Resort
Ranked #10 of 65 Chaweng B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boras, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Location, location, location ...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

This hotel could not be located in a better place at Chaweng beach. It is situated just north of the one-way tourist filled shopping and dining street that hugs the coast at Chaweng beach.
The beach by the hotels pool is also the northern, more relaxed, part of the beach.
The rooms were nice and of a good size, the only complaint I have about this hotel is that they don't seem to clean the balconies very often. I know I'm more sensitive than most to the stink of old sweat, but one would expect them to at least clean the balconies with water between guests. They had not in this case which made the balcony unusable for me during my whole stay (to cowardly to complain to the cleaning staff I guess :).
The only other complaint with this hotel was the unimaginative breakfast buffet and that they could have gotten better containers for the food that would keep the flies away from the food.
Freshly cut pineapple isn't all that appetizing when a cloud of small fruit flies lifts of when you reach out to get some fruits.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fredrik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    78
    31
    5
    4
See reviews for
21
71
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Great price great location great view and friendly staff, close enough to the party action but far enough away to escape and relax. We were 4 students staying there and chaweng was the main place to party so was great for us. The resort is right on the beach and there are restaurants all down the beach. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashleighmay1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

A nice hotel and the biggest complaint was that there were not any safes in the room but you could use the hotels deposit boxes.
The lost power to the Island for 2 day while I was there so it was good that the hotel had its own generator for lighting BUT not the air conn but they did put a fan in he room and that helped.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlesRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Samui Natien is a great little resort located in a perfect spot along Chaweng Beach. It is well positioned along the street which is close by to a 7 eleven, money exchangers, shops, restaurants, etc. It is also well located along the beach where you will find many places to sit and eat at night or even have a drink or two.

Normally we would stay in a higher end resort whilst travelling, however as previous friends had stayed here it was recommended to us, and can I say we were not at all disappointed!

Everything about the Natien is what you would want in a resort. Beautiful kept grounds, very clean pool, friendly staff, clean and tidy rooms and excellent food.

We had lunch a couple of times by the beach/pool area and found the service outstanding as well as the taste of the food. The cocktails were also a good buy.

We never had a problem with finding a sun bed/lounge (which we’ve previously had issues at when staying at 4.5-5 star resorts) so it was nice to come out – whatever time of the day to find an array of sun beds to choose from.

Housekeeping was fantastic; the rooms were always very clean and tidy and could not fault this at all. There was a dull smell in our room, however this was probably due to the humidity and perhaps an old air conditioner on the way out, but we didn’t let that affect our stay at all. The bathroom could probably do with a renovation (more so the colour of the tiles, etc.) but that is only if I was to be picky!

Breakfast area was good you had all the usual choices bacon, eggs, pancakes, fruit, bread, cereal etc. which is all you really need, so no complaints there.

Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Samui Natien. It is a great value for money resort, especially if you’re staying for a long time in Koh Samui and we would probably return on one of our trips back to the Island.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BirdyAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

There is a bewildering array of resorts and hotels to choose from in Samui and if you went on a random hunt, you will likely spend several days and in the end, still end up none the wiser as to which one to choose. If you are a first time traveller to Samui, your research might have told you there are a few beaches to choose from while deciding where you want to stay and the best way of deciding on a resort is to choose a beach first.

The busiest/most happening of all beaches in Samui is Chaweng which is where Samui Natien is located. If you want to be near all the nightlife, scores of shops, a frenetic market, parties on the beach and the ilk, Chaweng is your beach and Samui Natien is one of the best options here. We booked for 3 nights via Agoda and got a deal which was a fair bit cheaper than equivalent options nearby.

The resort impresses for delivering great value for money but is not something you would remember for being extravagantly impressive or luxurious. The rooms are comfortable though the bathrooms are painfully small. The villas have an extra bed and aren’t much more expensive than the standard rooms, so works out well even if you are an odd number of people or with children. There’s a lot of green within the property which is well tended to by the workers giving it a nice feel. The restaurant is located right on the beach and whips up decent fare. The breakfast was functional at best, but had all the standard compliments so you wouldn’t really find anything amiss unless of course you are staying for long when the lack of variety will be bothersome. The pool is quite tiny but the sea bang in front is a curious little creation where you can wade 100 meters inside and still only be waist deep in water, so you may not miss a bigger pool too much. I also noticed that the pools at most equivalent resorts (like the Iyara next door) were equally small, so unless you were staying at a higher end property like Amari Palm or Sareeraya, this is probably what you will get everywhere. There’s also a small gym and sauna within the resort, access to which can be obtained from the staff at the restaurant. Wi fi isn’t free but you can always find several restaurants in the market which have free wi fi while dining or having a drink.

The best thing about Natien besides the value for money is its location. It’s located at the end of the busy part of the main street, so you are always within walking distance of all the nightlife. Also, by not being bang in the middle you avoid the noise that you might have encountered in the business end of the walking street. Some of the others like Nora that lie beyond Natien are slightly far off in terms of walking to and fro to the market every time. However, as some of the other reviewers have noted, the beach is not as good around Natien as at the other end, but you can always walk along the white sand and go where you find the sea to your liking.

Overall, a great value for money option if staying at Chaweng and well located.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bastaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, Uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in a superior villa. The Thai descriptions of accommodation are a little difficult to work out. I wouldn't have classed our room as superior by UK standards but it was very clean and it had everything we required. The air conditioning kept the room cool which we were grateful for when the temperature exceeded 40 degrees. The staff were helpful and friendly and spoke very good English. The pool wasn't very deep so it was more like a bath but it is was clean and the bar area served great food and cocktails. The resort was small which we liked and there were always sunbeds available on the beach. Sunbeds and parasols were provided by the hotel free of charge. The beach and sea were not the cleanest and clearest I have seen but if you walked a little further along the beach this improved. On one side of the hotel was the main street lined with shops, restaurants and bars. On the other side of the hotel was the beach, again lined with restaurants and bars offering a wide selection of food. The hotel, rooms and surrounding areas were well maintained and very clean. It was a little expensive in comparison to other accommodation we had but it was fairly average compared to similar hotels in the area. My only frustration was that they gave you a voucher that you had to take to the restaurant each morning for breakfast. I forgot to take this on the first morning as I had not experienced this method before. The member of staff that greeted us looked at me like I had 3 heads when I gave her my room number instead of the voucher! The breakfast buffet was not as extensive as other hotels but it was sufficient for what we required.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GemRobWales_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silkeborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
180 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

This year was our 3rd time at Samui Natien Resort and we enjoyed our stay even more than the previous two times. The hotel is located at the North end of the beach where it is always nice and quiet at night but only a few minutes walk to all the restaurants in central Chaweng. The hotel is split into a hotel building and bungalows set in a beautiful garden. A tip for bird lovers - stay on the upper floor and enjoy the bird life + a fantastic view from your terrace. All personel is very kind and nice to talk to and after a couple of days, they will know your preferences in seating, drinks, food etc. There are two massage parlours right outside the hotel on the beach - both are good and cheap. Total relaxation - we had to count our breakfast tickets to keep track on the days. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trane&Trane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.1 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,277 reviews
0.9 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Muang Samui Spa Resort
Muang Samui Spa Resort
#4 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
1.1 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samui Natien Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Natien Resort

Property: Samui Natien Resort
Address: 101/1, Moo2, Chaweng Beach | Suratthani, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Samui Natien Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samui Natien Resort is a member of Thai Hotels Association. The property is located on the secluded end of Chaweng beach and within an easy reach of all major shoppings and nightlife activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Samui Natien Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Natien Hotel Chaweng
Samui Natien Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing