We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Samui Natien Resort
Ranked #10 of 68 Chaweng B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 21, 2012

There is a bewildering array of resorts and hotels to choose from in Samui and if you went on a random hunt, you will likely spend several days and in the end, still end up none the wiser as to which one to choose. If you are a first time traveller to Samui, your research might have told you there are a few beaches to choose from while deciding where you want to stay and the best way of deciding on a resort is to choose a beach first.

The busiest/most happening of all beaches in Samui is Chaweng which is where Samui Natien is located. If you want to be near all the nightlife, scores of shops, a frenetic market, parties on the beach and the ilk, Chaweng is your beach and Samui Natien is one of the best options here. We booked for 3 nights via Agoda and got a deal which was a fair bit cheaper than equivalent options nearby.

The resort impresses for delivering great value for money but is not something you would remember for being extravagantly impressive or luxurious. The rooms are comfortable though the bathrooms are painfully small. The villas have an extra bed and aren’t much more expensive than the standard rooms, so works out well even if you are an odd number of people or with children. There’s a lot of green within the property which is well tended to by the workers giving it a nice feel. The restaurant is located right on the beach and whips up decent fare. The breakfast was functional at best, but had all the standard compliments so you wouldn’t really find anything amiss unless of course you are staying for long when the lack of variety will be bothersome. The pool is quite tiny but the sea bang in front is a curious little creation where you can wade 100 meters inside and still only be waist deep in water, so you may not miss a bigger pool too much. I also noticed that the pools at most equivalent resorts (like the Iyara next door) were equally small, so unless you were staying at a higher end property like Amari Palm or Sareeraya, this is probably what you will get everywhere. There’s also a small gym and sauna within the resort, access to which can be obtained from the staff at the restaurant. Wi fi isn’t free but you can always find several restaurants in the market which have free wi fi while dining or having a drink.

The best thing about Natien besides the value for money is its location. It’s located at the end of the busy part of the main street, so you are always within walking distance of all the nightlife. Also, by not being bang in the middle you avoid the noise that you might have encountered in the business end of the walking street. Some of the others like Nora that lie beyond Natien are slightly far off in terms of walking to and fro to the market every time. However, as some of the other reviewers have noted, the beach is not as good around Natien as at the other end, but you can always walk along the white sand and go where you find the sea to your liking.

Overall, a great value for money option if staying at Chaweng and well located.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bastaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 180 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in a superior villa. The Thai descriptions of accommodation are a little difficult to work out. I wouldn't have classed our room as superior by UK standards but it was very clean and it had everything we required. The air conditioning kept the room cool which we were grateful for when the temperature exceeded 40 degrees. The staff were helpful and friendly and spoke very good English. The pool wasn't very deep so it was more like a bath but it is was clean and the bar area served great food and cocktails. The resort was small which we liked and there were always sunbeds available on the beach. Sunbeds and parasols were provided by the hotel free of charge. The beach and sea were not the cleanest and clearest I have seen but if you walked a little further along the beach this improved. On one side of the hotel was the main street lined with shops, restaurants and bars. On the other side of the hotel was the beach, again lined with restaurants and bars offering a wide selection of food. The hotel, rooms and surrounding areas were well maintained and very clean. It was a little expensive in comparison to other accommodation we had but it was fairly average compared to similar hotels in the area. My only frustration was that they gave you a voucher that you had to take to the restaurant each morning for breakfast. I forgot to take this on the first morning as I had not experienced this method before. The member of staff that greeted us looked at me like I had 3 heads when I gave her my room number instead of the voucher! The breakfast buffet was not as extensive as other hotels but it was sufficient for what we required.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GemRobWales_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

This year was our 3rd time at Samui Natien Resort and we enjoyed our stay even more than the previous two times. The hotel is located at the North end of the beach where it is always nice and quiet at night but only a few minutes walk to all the restaurants in central Chaweng. The hotel is split into a hotel building and bungalows set in a beautiful garden. A tip for bird lovers - stay on the upper floor and enjoy the bird life + a fantastic view from your terrace. All personel is very kind and nice to talk to and after a couple of days, they will know your preferences in seating, drinks, food etc. There are two massage parlours right outside the hotel on the beach - both are good and cheap. Total relaxation - we had to count our breakfast tickets to keep track on the days. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trane&Trane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

Usually we opt for more comfort when in Thailand, but this time the trip was decided in the spur of the moment, and the range from which to choose limited. The room was rather spacious, but very dated. The front desk staff service-minded and corteous. The room nicely cleaned daily, but without any extras (rose petals/flowers/elaborate towel figurines) which we've grown accustomed to during previous visits to Thailand (and at all kinds of hotels). The breakfast was pretty basic, and to my husbands taste (eggs and bacon, etc) but I found the buffet-style quite un-appealing (the youghurt was warm from staying out too long in a massive bowl and flies were swarming over the food that had no cover), and since they didn't offer oat meal, for instance, dark bread or other more wholesome alternatives, I didn't eat there more than once. My husband ate breakfast every day for the whole fortnight and would've liked to see some variation, which there weren't. The location is fine when considering seclusion and noise, but the hotel is on the north-end of Chaweng Beach, and the beach is so much nicer - and also busier - at the other end. So it depends on what you value when picking your spot.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyinBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I recomend Natien Resort. The location is wonderful just next to the beach and Chaweng Street full of pubs shops etc. Food is pretty good. If you look for calm and relaxing place you should find another place but here you are im the middle of the party. They have awesome garden. Unfortunately wifi didn't work out all my staying.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agnieszka P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. It is a bit north but it was good because during the day we could relax without the hassle and at night it was a 2 min walk to the main areas. Massage places across the road which was really cheap and good. Me and my friend both 23 found this hotel really good. A few people might prefer closer to the action but we found this place good for value. Breaky was pretty boring.. same thing every morning and not much variety. staff were friendly but did not always understand English which did get annoying at times. Room was cleaned daily. You can walk along the beach and 2 min away is a volley ball net and many restaurants along the way. We had friends staying closer to the action but they always seemed to have people walking through their resort at all hours of the night. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and I will return.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ren1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Very nice ,the Natian is in the quiet north end of Chaweng,not far from restaurants shops and bars,it was nice to stroll down the main road of a evening,stop to have a meal and drink.The beach is not the best,but the pool was nice,a bit on small side and ok.The rooms were lovely,big and very very clean,beds towells changed every day,and a fab smell in rooms .The hotel was very quiet only ten rooms were full,so breakfast was not lade out you had to tell them and it would be made for you ,we didnt have to wait long.
The staff in reseption were lovely,only ask for something June would do her best for you.Just outside the Montian travel shop is very good ,you can tell him what trip you want ,he will get you a good price.Massage on the beach was great,200 bht 1 hr,the ladies are so nice,just sit and have a chat ,thay love it.The gardens are kept lovely,they work from morning till night to keep it looking its best ,and there is always a good morning to be said.Wishing the staff at Natian all the best ,thank you for a lovely holiday .

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jesseywales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.1 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,574 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
0 mi away
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
#57 of 104 in Chaweng
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
#35 of 104 in Chaweng
631 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samui Natien Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Natien Resort

Address: 101/1, Moo2, Chaweng Beach | Suratthani, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Chaweng
Price Range: $60 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Samui Natien Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samui Natien Resort is a member of Thai Hotels Association. The property is located on the secluded end of Chaweng beach and within an easy reach of all major shoppings and nightlife activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Samui Natien Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Natien Hotel Chaweng
Samui Natien Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing