We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just keep your promise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Ranked #9 of 103 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2007

We stayed at the Central Samui Chaweng Beach from 28 December 06 to 1 January 07. We payed a bombshell to stay at this peak time but as we had limited time & wanted an ocean view room we had little choice.We had stayed at Le Meridien, Phuket years before & had paid a lot of money without knowing that you had to request an ocean view room before you got there & pay even more money for it.So we bit the bullet & paid a fortune this time only to have our hearts broken yet again.Like Le Meridien, Phuket this hotel was also in dire need of a renovation & unless we hung ourselves from our not so private mosquito infested balcony, we did not get ocean views.The room was tiny & the bathroom required an immediate overhaul.I'm VERY tired of hotels touting 'every room faces the ocean' only to get there & find that the reality is opposite.Last time we complained bitterly & were given a pool facing room in Phuket but this time, we didn't have the heart to do it.The poor Thai people don't like to be bullied by farang.Yet the staff are put in the front line by big foreign corporations who own the facilities, pay the staff pittance, make maximum profit due to little renovation & sting the tourists in the process.
On the upside, the facilites were wonderful, Thai staff were lovely & the hotel was happily situated on one of the best beaches in Thailand.
Still it was horribly overpriced.Take my advice & go during the off season.It will be better value.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank majnoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,531)
There are newer reviews for Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,876 - 1,882 of 2,531 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2006

Without a doubt, when the renovations have been finished, this will be the best hotel on Chaweng Beach. Stunning wide beach front location, fabulous pool and gardens, great service. We can't wait to go back !
Don't be tempted to book one of these 'Boutique' hotels they look smart, but they all have a long narrow garden with a small claustophobic beachfront area.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank nigelll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2006

lovely grounds , spacious rooms with nice bathrooms.sea views. breakfast very good but be sure itsincluded or else it costs 650 bahts (£10). Evening food expensive 4 X more than local restaurants. On Chaweng beach-long main beach of Samui- good sand , shallow water and big waves. beach full of lots of locals trying to sell you thingsall the time. Chaweng very touristy and slightly tacky- dont go there if you want a tropical island experience. Go to Centrals samui village on south east tip. lovely tropical beach, 3 poolsand accomodation in private huts-also cheaper and we wish we had stayed there instead.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2006

What a delightful stay we had in the Central Samui Beach Resort from Oct 6-13, 2006! I couldn't help thinking how true the reviews from this site were. I had chosen this hotel finally based on the beach and the pool reviews and we were not disappointed. We have 2 swimmers in the family and an itsy-bitsy pool wouldn't do for them. (We took a peek at some of the other hotel pools to the left and right of CSBR, which were almost just like huge bath tubs. OK, am exaggerating a bit.) I think the longest length on one part of the pool in CSBR was about 30 meters?? Since there were times when no one was swimming, my husband and my son could do their laps.

The beach was very clean and with the beautiful, clear blue water, looked just perfect. Now if only the jellyfishes moved farther away from the shore! That was such a shame. My son got stung on the first day but the hotel had such a very quick and efficient first-aid using the leaves from their garden and vinegar. Fortunately too, the sort of jelly fish here in this part of the world is not as dangerous as the one in the Mediterranean sea this year. (My husband got stung there in June and he suffered from red, itchy and very painful welts for more than 2 weeks!) Anyway my son recovered quickly enough after an hour with nothing to show for it! He never went back to the sea again though although the rest of us did, hesitantly and we stayed not too long as we always spotted a jellyfish or two. (That's how clear the water was!)

There were renovations going on but we did not hear anything, nor were we bothered at all. The Centara Spa was also undergoing renovation and they did their treatments in some hotel rooms. My husband was pleased with their spa service (20% off) although I thought it didn't look too special as the treatment was done in a basic hotel room.

Here I have to reveal another "truth" - about the worn-out bathrooms, as written in some of the reviews. My heart sank when I saw our bathroom (same with the bathroom of our boys next door)! I had hoped against hope that the reviews were just a little bit exaggerated. Alas, they weren't. How shabby and in need of repair: the bathtub, the wooden shutters lining the bath tub wall, looking rotten already from the water and moisture - a mystery to me why they use this material here!
OK, so I had expected this and it wasn't too painful as I didn't plan on spending too much time in there during our stay!

It is also true about the cabinet space and the lack of it, esp drawers.

Other than that - the room was lovely with nice wooden floors and a good, firm bed, which my husband appreciated for his bad back, and yes, the nice view.

My husband had a birthday during our stay there and he was given a delicious birthday cake and flowers.

I have to say something about their gym, which I thought was very nice, air-conditioned and had a beautiful beach view. There was one room for the cardio machines and another for the weights. I used it once and my husband was there everyday.

So my family and I were kept busy (relaxing and lazing around) in this beautiful resort. The hotel employees were just wonderful, friendly and very helpful. Because we found it so nice here, we did not bother going out of Chaweng Beach as we had done our touring and sightseeing in Bangkok and Siem Reap already.

There were some nice small boutique hotels close to CSBR but I wonder what happens when they are full with their tiny pools? In CSBR, I appreciated the huge, well-tended grounds, the large swimming pool - so even if this hotel were full, it wouldn't feel crowded.

We heard that all the hotel rooms will be undergoing renovation and so when my nice, new chic bathroom will be ready, we'd love to come back again.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank MCSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2006

The Central Samui Beach Resort is an excellent place to stay on Koh Samui. The grounds are absolutely beautiful, the rooms are very nice and the staff at this hotel are beyond excellent. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Beyond_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2006

This was our 2nd visit to Chaweng Beach but 1st time to Central Samui.

From 1st impressions we were already impressed. Very warm welcome and a cake and bottle of Sparkling Chardonnay in our room.

We ugraded to a Club Room which gave us access to a Club Lounge with free Internet access, snacks during the day and a free bar each evening. we also got our laundry done free as well. For about £20 a day we thought this was excellent value for money. Ate at Spice Island once but tended to eat on the strip most nights which proved excellent value for money.

Can highly recommend the Loft for typical Thai cuisine which was really cheap and if you fancy a few home comforts the Green Bottle run by Paula & Stuart (& Lola) provided excellent English and Thai Food and was a really friendly atmosphere.

Overall the honeymoon was fantastic and despite building work going on throughout the hotel it was definately a great place to chill out and relax and we couldn't have asked for anything more.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank noreen&John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2006

It was our first trip to Thailand and this was a great hotel to start with! The staff are great - nothing is too much trouble and they will try and accomodate your every need. We ate at the Spice Island at few times - would recommend the prawn patties! A word of advice - the wine is expensive (even thai wine) generally across the island. We met some people who had bought their own wine, kept it in their mini bar and had that if they fancied wine. Beer is much cheaper with meals. Do eat out in Chaweng high street - all of the food we had was great. The Eat Sense rest: on the beach is excellent.
We booked the Eco-safari excursion with Turismo Asia which was really great and we thought excellent value for money. The weather wasn't sunny when we were there (which was apparently unusual for that time of year) but don't be fooled by the clouds! Lots of people got burned as the sun was still really strong behind the clouds. You will get hassle from traders in the street but they are generally harmless. Valentinos were a great tailor if you fancy getting some clothes made? All in all, a really good hotel, apparently due for room refurbs next year so can only get better I think? Have a great time.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank Mabelcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.4 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 103 in Chaweng
1,861 reviews
1.4 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 103 in Chaweng
2,490 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 103 in Chaweng
739 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 103 in Chaweng
1,473 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 103 in Chaweng
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui

Address: 38/2 Moo 3, Borpud | Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: $129 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui is a long-established resort that sits right on Chaweng Beach, a tranquil location that yet provides easy access to Central Festival for shopping and the ever-present buzz of Chaweng Road. Complete with the old world charm of colonial-era architecture and an unparalleled beach front setting, the resort is home to a host of facilities and activities, including a beautiful spa, complimentary Yoga classes a large sea-gazing swimming pool with its own swim-up pool bar and Jacuzzi, a fitness centre, two tennis courts and two kids clubs. You’ll enjoy no less than seven restaurants and bars, including COAST Beach Club & Bistro. Perfect for the most tranquil romantic escape or an adventuresome family holiday, the resort also features Muay Thai classes, beach volleyball, and a choice of water sports – think kayaking, windsurfing, sailing, Hobie Catamaran, body boarding and paddle boarding - as well as superb snorkelling and island hopping excursions around Koh Samui and diving opportunities arranged respectively by the tour desk and the PADI Dive Centre. Whether holidaying in Samui just the two of you or with the family, you will enjoy views of over the turquoise expanse of the Gulf of Thailand from your balcony or a private plunge pool. Spaciousness is a feature with all rooms and suites, with total living space ranging from 40 to 132 square metres while selected suites also provide concierge services. And your good times will begin almost from the minute you touch down on the island, as the resort is a short 15-minute drive from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fastbooking, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Hotel Chaweng
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Hotel Centara Grand Beach
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing