We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal choice for our Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Ranked #8 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2006

This was our 2nd visit to Chaweng Beach but 1st time to Central Samui.

From 1st impressions we were already impressed. Very warm welcome and a cake and bottle of Sparkling Chardonnay in our room.

We ugraded to a Club Room which gave us access to a Club Lounge with free Internet access, snacks during the day and a free bar each evening. we also got our laundry done free as well. For about £20 a day we thought this was excellent value for money. Ate at Spice Island once but tended to eat on the strip most nights which proved excellent value for money.

Can highly recommend the Loft for typical Thai cuisine which was really cheap and if you fancy a few home comforts the Green Bottle run by Paula & Stuart (& Lola) provided excellent English and Thai Food and was a really friendly atmosphere.

Overall the honeymoon was fantastic and despite building work going on throughout the hotel it was definately a great place to chill out and relax and we couldn't have asked for anything more.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank noreen&John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,606)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,939 - 1,945 of 2,606 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2006

It was our first trip to Thailand and this was a great hotel to start with! The staff are great - nothing is too much trouble and they will try and accomodate your every need. We ate at the Spice Island at few times - would recommend the prawn patties! A word of advice - the wine is expensive (even thai wine) generally across the island. We met some people who had bought their own wine, kept it in their mini bar and had that if they fancied wine. Beer is much cheaper with meals. Do eat out in Chaweng high street - all of the food we had was great. The Eat Sense rest: on the beach is excellent.
We booked the Eco-safari excursion with Turismo Asia which was really great and we thought excellent value for money. The weather wasn't sunny when we were there (which was apparently unusual for that time of year) but don't be fooled by the clouds! Lots of people got burned as the sun was still really strong behind the clouds. You will get hassle from traders in the street but they are generally harmless. Valentinos were a great tailor if you fancy getting some clothes made? All in all, a really good hotel, apparently due for room refurbs next year so can only get better I think? Have a great time.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank Mabelcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2006

Central Samui resort was absolutely excellent. The location was great, - its a little bit further away from the main street Chaweng hussle & bussle - but there are still a lot of shops and stalls on your doorstep selling the same type of things you can find on the main strip
The beach is excellent - wide, spacious and much quiter than higher up on the strip. Chaweng beach is by far the best on the island, in terms of the size of the beaches as well as the soft white sand.

THe resort itself was great, the onsite dining also offers a good selection at reasonable prices, and breakfast by the sea (at Spice Island) is a great way to start the day. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the centara spa treatments are great, if a little pricey compared to the selection of massage shops on the Chaweng street.

All is all, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Shezam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2006

Hi,

This was our 2nd visit to this Hotel we stayed here two years ago for our Honeymoon, I'd emailed the Hotel direct and told them we were returning and requested a room on an upper floor.

Upon arrival we were given a welcome drink in a coconut and some refreshing towels, and the receptionist said welcome back, we thought nice touch. We checked in and was taken to our room we stayed in room 731 on the upper floor which I'm sure we were given a upgrade the room was lovely and a lovely view, got into the room and there was a loveheart cake and a letter welcoming us back really nice that they valued our return to the hotel.

Great Breakfast, and a great location, and a lovely pool area, we also used the gym which was good.

The staff are very attentative too.

Whilst there my Husband had a ear infection and the hotel tool us to the Hospital which was nice.

When we checked out we had 2,000 baht of our bill which we were surprised about when my husband asked what that was for the lady said maybe some inconvienice by the hotel, maybe noise at breakfast or something else, we think possibily it was that we had a problem with the TV, but they did fix it.

Would definately stay here again love the Hotel.

Julie

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Goonerbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2006

I could not find a fault with this hotel..only maybe a bit pricey for Thailand. Staff lovely, Food great, Great location on the beach.
Breakfast very nice had everything. I would reconmmend this hotel to everyone. You pay for what you get.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank C31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2006

Stayed at the Central in late August and thought the hotel was everything a five star hotel should be..very clean, efficiently run, lovely grounds, fantastic location and lots of amenities. The staff here are wonderful and friendly and always greet you with a smile and a" Swatdi-kah".
The grounds here incorporating the pool area here are just fantastic and are immaculately kept by the groundsmen. Food fantastic too, especially the breakfasts which we totally indulged in.
The beach area at the Central is also lovely with powdery white sand and crystal clear water and no where near as crowded as I first feared as Chaweng beach is the most popular beach area on the Island.
The hawkers are not to annoying as they can be in other parts of the world and they do seem to offer what you want whilst being baked by the immense heat..i.e ice Creams, fresh fruits etc.
The nightlife on the Chaweng strip is very busy and a walk along the main street is certainly an experience with constant greetings by business owners/staff to sample their restuarant/shop/strip joint, the worst being the tailors who are definately the most forward but normally a simple "No thanks" should suffice.

Definate locations to visit on the strip are:-
The Wave bar - fantastic english food and marvellous selection of books and also good info to be had about Samui in regards to safety, excursions and traditions.
Mama roma restuarant - gorgeous Italian food and great service.
Chaba Cabana hotel - seafood to die for and great selection of thai dishes and the service the best I have ever experienced.

My only cautionary note to potential travellers to Samui is the amount of Stray dogs on the streets. If you are an animal lover like myself this can be particularly upsetting as some of the dogs do seem to be in a poor state although their is an organisation in Samui currently addressing this problem.
Also for info purposes, a massive belt of land on Chaweng beach strip has been purchased so expect in the next year alot of building work going on as the sex bars are moved away and the flagship hotels from 4 seasons, Amari and Marriott move in. This can only be good as Koh Samui wants to get back to the "family resort" it once was.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank darren2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2006

We stayed twice here over the space of two weeks in August/September 06. Whilst its not particularly cheap for Thailand, I would definitely recommend this hotel.
The positives:
Great location on the beach and very much a beach club type atmosphere with staff on hand to help.
Staff excellent, all very polite and friendly. Every single person made an effort with us.
Breakfast was excellent. Make sure you get it included as the first time it wasnt included.
Views from our room were great.
Meals were very high standard.
The pool area was great and gave a very different experience to being on the beach.
A welcome drink and flannel on arrival was a nice touch.
A cocktail party put on by the hotel was such a nice touch and really gave us a warm feeling about the hotel.
The negatives:
Very expensive for the standard of the hotel, especially as our first stay didnt include breakfast. Make sure you get it included!
The rooms were a little tired, whilst spotlessly clean and great amenities, they could have done with a bit of refurbishment.

Overall, we were very happy staying there and whilst the hotel is perhaps getting a little dated we would happily go back there and know we would have a great time.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hawkipa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
1.4 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
2,576 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
1,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,395 reviews
0.2 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
793 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#6 of 104 in Chaweng
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui

Address: 38/2 Moo 3, Borpud | Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#5 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: $146 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui is a long-established resort that sits right on Chaweng Beach, a tranquil location that yet provides easy access to Central Festival for shopping and the ever-present buzz of Chaweng Road. Complete with the old world charm of colonial-era architecture and an unparalleled beach front setting, the resort is home to a host of facilities and activities, including a beautiful spa, complimentary Yoga classes a large sea-gazing swimming pool with its own swim-up pool bar and Jacuzzi, a fitness centre, two tennis courts and two kids clubs. You’ll enjoy no less than seven restaurants and bars, including COAST Beach Club & Bistro. Perfect for the most tranquil romantic escape or an adventuresome family holiday, the resort also features Muay Thai classes, beach volleyball, and a choice of water sports – think kayaking, windsurfing, sailing, Hobie Catamaran, body boarding and paddle boarding - as well as superb snorkelling and island hopping excursions around Koh Samui and diving opportunities arranged respectively by the tour desk and the PADI Dive Centre. Whether holidaying in Samui just the two of you or with the family, you will enjoy views of over the turquoise expanse of the Gulf of Thailand from your balcony or a private plunge pool. Spaciousness is a feature with all rooms and suites, with total living space ranging from 40 to 132 square metres while selected suites also provide concierge services. And your good times will begin almost from the minute you touch down on the island, as the resort is a short 15-minute drive from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Fastbooking, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Hotel Chaweng
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Hotel Centara Grand Beach
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing