We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon in July 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Ranked #9 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2014

The first thing to point out is that this resort was recommended to us by Trailfinders and as we were on our honeymoon we wanted somewhere a bit special and more like a couple retreat than a family resort. What we got was a family resort - this is no fault of the hotel however as it is a family resort there are a great deal of children around with organised activities in the pool everyday. A small jacuzzi is for adults only and at times this did make relaxing more difficult.

Having said all that, the location is absolutely stunning, direct access to a white sand, crystal clear waters of Chaweng Beach. The hotel itself is beautiful, large pool area, swim up bar, plenty of places to eat and enough sun loungers to cope with the volume of guests.

We were in a room with a plunge pool - good size room and on very warm days - there were several - the plunge pool was an amazing way to cool down!! Room is a little dated in our opinion, dark oak and mustard tiles - not as modern as we were expecting. Staff are exceptional and you could tell our room was thoroughly cleaned each day however sections of tiling in the shower are becoming mouldy and the top "spray head" didnt work. The biggest issue with the room however was the fact the air conditioning unit was so noisey - even on the lowest setting of 1, the sound was such that it either kept us from getting to sleep, or caused us to wake during the night. We ended up going to sleep with it off and then putting it on in the middle of the night when it eventually got too warm. You can slide doors in the room to close off the bathroom from the bedroom area and the air conditioning unit is above the roof of the bathroom, however this does nothing to drown out the noise. It is something we coped with but for a venue of this type, price and in 2014 I would have expected a quieter, more modern unit that did not keep you from getting to sleep.

All in all, this is a beautiful resort and hotel in a stunning location. The staff are extremely friendly, very professional and always there to help. All it needs is some modernisation including air con units.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iwillm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear iwillm,

On behalf of all of us here at Centara -congratulations on your recent wedding!

Thank you so much for reviewing your stay with us. We’re glad that overall your stay (on such a special occasion!) was a pleasant one.

Thank you also for your comments and suggestions.

We do hope that you’ll return –perhaps to celebrate your anniversary!

All the best,
Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,557)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,130 - 1,136 of 2,557 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2014

I see all the other reviews and wonder if I am staying at the same hotel as them. Yes the breakfast is nice and the beach picturesque,but that is where the positives stop. The rooms are tired, tiny and run down, THere is no hot water in the bathroom. The door lock was broken and we didnt discover it till we found the hotel staff pushing their way into the room. THe wifi is awful.What a waste of money. If I wasnt with my family on a prepaid break would check out immediately.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adnan969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samuijoe, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

Dear Adnan969,

Thank you for posting your in-house comments.
Presuming you are still with us -please ask for myself or Hester next time you pass through the lobby.
Perhaps we can make this a more positive holiday.

Kind regards,
Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

My family of four have just spent 10 beautiful days at this resort, this is our 3rd time here at Centara Grand, this time as per usual we spent a little extra money to get access to the Club Lounge.

For the whole 10 days we were here the service we received in the Club lounge at Breakfast, lunch, evening cocktails was absolutely fantastic. Lead by Banana, his team of dedicated staff, Pom, Meena, Aom and Lar looked after our needs with such grace and warm genuine friendly service that my 4yr old daughter Edith absolutely warmed to them all, especially Pom and Banana.

The level of service shown by staff at the club all was far above my expectations, and to be honest the Hotel Manager and CEO of the Centara Brand shown be acknowledging them all with some form of award.

If it was not for the Banana and his team offering such wonderful service our time here at would have been not as good as previous times. Whilst our room was a large suite (Hisbiscus Suite) the air conditioner was not working properly for the whole time we were there, never really cool enough and made a hideous noise non-stop. The room was in need of a really good make over, the tiles in the bathroom in the shower recess were mouldy, with silicon grouting falling out, water was yellow and a strong stinky smell was evident from the toilet most days!

We come to Centara Grand for a relaxing time in the Club Lounge, which we got 100% and also to spend relaxing days by the pool and the beach. It was very distressing to find that the pool staff continually played loud inappropriate club music at 930am for what reason I have no idea. After numerous complaints on a daily basis we did manage to get some relief from this, once rectified it did become a relaxing experience by the pool.

Although in saying this the pool is in good need of repair, cracked tiles everywhere and the water quality was not very good, cloudy, I was wearing goggles when swimming and on some days you could not see half way across the pool it was that cloudy.

In all we still very much enjoyed our experience here, but this was entirely due to Banana and his fantastic staff in the Club Lounge. Would we stay here again? Most likely yes, but I would be seriously hoping that the hotel receives some much needed upgrading to the rooms and the pool, right now it states the property is 5 star, but perhaps the brand has been resting on its laurels for too long.

Cheers, once again to Banana, Pom, Meena, Aom and Lar, a truly fantastic time.

Regards

Craig, Tania, Edith and Jenny

Room Tip: Would recommend, booking a suite room, with Club Benefits, and make sure room is not at front of hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Craig T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samuijoe, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Dear Craig T.,

Welcome to Trip Advisor! Thank you making us the subject of your first review. We’re ecstatic to read such positive comments about our team in The Club and how they made such a difference to your holiday experience.
We would be delighted to welcome you back in the future. In the meantime, thanks to feedback like yours, we’ll focus on improving our facilities and raising our standards.

Best Regards,
Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We had a great time in koh Samui, the hotel was very nice and the staff friendly. We had little luck getting hot water in the shower, the water in the bath was yellow and the water pressure was terrible. But because Thailand was so hot the cold showers didn't bother us too much. The wifi was VERY spotty. Breakfast was nice.

Room Tip: laundry and the spa were super expensive. Better luck finding something in town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julieleblanc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samuijoe, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Dear JulieLeBlanc13,

Thank you offering your thoughts after your recent stay with us. We’re happy to learn that you thought the hotel was nice and the staff friendly.

A tip-should you make a return visit you may find the Wifi is most stable closest to the routers in the lobby and restaurants.

Best Regards,
Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

After our intitial impression, which as you may have read was very encouraging .
The Centara Beach resort continued to impress us with its Colonial styled charm, fantastic attentive staff and a position with stunning views that would rival the finest hotels in the world.

We sat daily on the beach in a comfortable sun lounger watching the Thai beach world go by, which included traditionally dressed beach traders who did not impose at all on anyones relaxation ,nor did the food vendors who sat next to roaring hot-make shift barbeques, cooking corn on the cob, chicken and other delights that sent a wonderful aroma to make any tummy rumble.
The hotels restaurants too would draw you in with their wonderful tasting plates of tempting canapes bought to your sunbed to sample the evenings delightful offerings.
Each sunbed has a beach side menu and contactor close to hand attached to a post for you to order from your sunbed allowing you to continue to enjoy your thoughts of staying here forever.

A Thai cooking class awaits you ,were the head chef will take you to the wonderful eye opening local market to see the treats and meats on offer to make fantastic dishes to wet any pallet. then its back to the hotel to don your apron and cook a trio of dishes from Pad Thai, Thai green curry and special fried rice and then sit down and enjoy the fruits of your labour with an ice cold beer or fine wine.

There is far to much to tell you about the Centara Grand Beach resort and I fear I would over indulge in telling you all its finer points as it has many, but I will let you all discover its wonders for yourself, as you will not be dissapointed.

We are booking a trip in September 2015 of 2 nights in Bankok followed by 4 nighs in Krabi and then 10 nights in Koh Samui and they will all be spent in Centara hotels, so look out for a few more reviews.

Joe, we will see you and the gang soon, keep us a pool suite aired and a beer on ice.


See you soon.

Tom & Shelley

Room Tip: A deluxe pool suite is heaven for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Dear Joe B.,

Thank you for presenting such a vivid and descriptive review recounting your recent stay with us. You certainly do have a talent for painting a picture. No wonder you have so many ‘Helpful’ votes!
Maybe you should consider a second career as a travel writer?

Joe B., we very much appreciate that you took the time to write about all aspects of your stay and we’re looking to your next visit (and of course the subsequent review!)

All the Best,

Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

This is our 3rd time to the Centara Grand and the 5th time to Koh Samui. We have always found the resort to be great, catering for families and wonderful service. However this time, there has been some negatives! It is beyond my comprehension why nightclub music would be played from 10am in the pool area - this is NOT relaxing nor tranquil. It is neither appropriate for the time of day or for the type of resort (many families). If I wanted duff duff I would have stayed at the Ark Bar. We complained on 3 separate occasions, however this seems to have fallen on deaf ears. Which is so amazing to me, especially in that we were told, "yes we have had a number of complaints about this." (I also notice it was a point if contention on trip advisor comments as well.) Now wouldn't you think if a hotel has had numerous complaints about a particular topic then perhaps this would be rectified??????? Amazing!!!!
The other issue is the air conditioning in the room. Extremely loud which did not allow my mother who was sleeping in the loungeroom to have a peaceful nights sleep. It was apparently looked at twice but not fixed adequately. A suggestion - if a guest requests something to be rectified - it would be appropriate and courteous to advise the guest if the outcome and not let them guess as to whether anything was done!!!
On a positive note - we couldn't be more pleased with the staff at the club lounge. Wonderful people!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hontay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Dear Hontay,

Welcome to Trip Advisor and thank you for making us the subject of your first review.
We are happy that you enjoyed The Club, amenities and special care that the The Club team delivers.
We’re sorry to learn that your mother was not able to sleep peacefully in your room’s lounge area. Thank you for the suggestion for better communications regarding maintenance issues.

Furthermore, please accept our apologies for the inconvenience the music at the swim-up bar presented. There are times when the youthful exuberance of the team there gets the best of them. Rest assured we have clipped their wings and the music played no longer includes any duff, duff…

We do hope that you’ll return for a fourth time for a more peaceful stay.

Kind regards,
Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 10 nights although the hotel itself was lovely and also the grounds the staff lets it down Their English was not great and it was a bit of a chore trying to make yourself understood in comparison with other hotels in Thailand we have stayed in. The room although big and well cleaned could have done with a fresh coat of paint. Also beds were not changed as often as they should have been . We found that certain guests seemed to be allowed to take glass bottles into the pool and just stand about with these drinking and smoking and seemed to use the pool as their ashtray.
Location of hotel good and beach nice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gregg m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Dear Gregg M.,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We’re glad you enjoyed the beach and grounds.

Guests are not supposed to bring glass to the pool area. This is a basic safety tenet and we have reminded our Beach and Pools team to be more diligent in spotting and removing glass containers.

Thank you for bringing this point to our attention.

Warm regards,
Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
1.4 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,525 reviews
0.4 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,893 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
761 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,484 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui

Address: 38/2 Moo 3, Borpud | Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: $132 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui is a long-established resort that sits right on Chaweng Beach, a tranquil location that yet provides easy access to Central Festival for shopping and the ever-present buzz of Chaweng Road. Complete with the old world charm of colonial-era architecture and an unparalleled beach front setting, the resort is home to a host of facilities and activities, including a beautiful spa, complimentary Yoga classes a large sea-gazing swimming pool with its own swim-up pool bar and Jacuzzi, a fitness centre, two tennis courts and two kids clubs. You’ll enjoy no less than seven restaurants and bars, including COAST Beach Club & Bistro. Perfect for the most tranquil romantic escape or an adventuresome family holiday, the resort also features Muay Thai classes, beach volleyball, and a choice of water sports – think kayaking, windsurfing, sailing, Hobie Catamaran, body boarding and paddle boarding - as well as superb snorkelling and island hopping excursions around Koh Samui and diving opportunities arranged respectively by the tour desk and the PADI Dive Centre. Whether holidaying in Samui just the two of you or with the family, you will enjoy views of over the turquoise expanse of the Gulf of Thailand from your balcony or a private plunge pool. Spaciousness is a feature with all rooms and suites, with total living space ranging from 40 to 132 square metres while selected suites also provide concierge services. And your good times will begin almost from the minute you touch down on the island, as the resort is a short 15-minute drive from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Fastbooking, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Hotel Chaweng
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Hotel Centara Grand Beach
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing