We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Ranked #10 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Modiin, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent 5 nights at the hotel. The location was excellent just 10 min away from the center (walking) and very quiet because its not IN the center.
The pool was stunning with a nice (but relatively expensive) bar inside the water. There was a lot of games like balls inside the pool. The beach was stunning as well, very clean , and not over crowded.
Breakfasts at the hotel was also very good, a good and tasty food and lots of variety.
Our room was big and the cleaning in the room was good. We got bath robes and slippers as well.
There was a band singing every night at the lobby and it was very nice. There was free wifi at the lobby.
I would defiantly come back to this hotel some day !

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maayan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Maayan M.,

We’re glad you had such a wonderful holiday and thank you so much for coming back to tell the readers of Trip Advisor about it. We’d love for you to come back again sometime soon for another relaxing stay.

All the best,

Joe Clasby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,336
    784
    222
    91
    55
See reviews for
742
1,249
50
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (567)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at centara on the 5th of October for 8 nights.

The location was fantastic for us and the resort itself was absolutely stunning. From the moment we arrived the staff were so friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was plentiful but we really got over it as there was no changes to it.
The pool is amazing, we were in it everyday and became regulars at the sip and dip bar.
Constant security guards around the beach area looking out for all the guests.

Our room was very dated and really needed a good clean, the lights had a build up of dust and the shower needed an extremely good scrub. The house keeping we're great coming twice a day and seemed friendly but never understood one word I was saying. For those with a touchy stomach don't read on, obviously you get the odd mosquito in your room well the people before us obviously squashed them and there was blood splatters on the walls... This was in room 218. Disgusting...

I did think it was absurd that you had to pay for wifi in your room, a hotel that size surely can supply it to your guests...

My husband organised a surprise private dinner on the beach and is was just amazing how they set up the hut and the food was just wonderful. My husband being a chef was impressed...!! Our waiter was so lovely and attentive.

The lady at the tour desk was great very helpful and guided us into the best tours for us to do. She also introduced us to "ninja crepes" a restaurant down the road - which became our favourite Thai eatery :-)

I would recommend this hotel to others, however if all the rooms were like mine - pre warning they are the cleanest and prettiest rooms going round.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Michelle G.,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We’re pleased that you enjoyed the beach, pool and location.

Of course we also have to take on board your other comments of aspects you were less thrilled with. We just hired a new Executive Housekeeper and she has already shown herself to be diligent and motivated. We're confident she can help us improve our standards.

The candlelight dinner is always a guest favorite and we’re gratified that it passed your chef’s scrutiny!

Thank you again for your observations and candor.

All the best,

Joe Clasby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Spent 10 nights and enjoyed our stay.

Rooms - we had a delux ocean view room - was a little disappointed when we first got to our room as the shower room looked a bit grubby but when u look at it closer it is more the fact that it is quite old. The shower looked the worst but on using it found the force of the shower and the plenty of hot water more than made up for it. The toiletries supplied were all good and kept replaced. The bedroom was good with exceptionally comfy bed. The rooms were always very well cleaned by our maid. Nice to have free water supplied in your room which you could keep cold in the mini bar. Lovely comfy furniture on patio.

The swimming pool was good with unusual shape and always looked clean. Plenty of sun beds and shade. Beach lovely again with plenty of beds and shade. Few venders along the beach and I would recommend trying the corn on the cob that they sell - makes a nice lunch time snack.

Staff - I can not praise these enough - the were helpful and friendly throughout - even to the very rude guests (and there seemed to be quite a number of these) who never seemed to have been taught how to say please and thank you and just demand things. Glad to say these weren't the Brits.

Breakfast was excellent with everything you could imagine and a egg station where eggs were cooked fresh and the way you like them. Can not comment on the restaurants as we did not eat in any of them as they were far too expensive.

My two big gripes with the hotel is first the cost of the food n drink on site - think it is a shame as the bars and restaurants looked well under used and made you think twice before ordering a drink. Second the fact that wi-fi is only available free in the lobby - today you expect a hotel of this standard to have it throughout and this would be the only reason why I wouldn't use this hotel again.

The massages on the beach are excellent value only £4 was 60 min full body Thai. If you are looking to hire a car or motorbike I would recommend the young chap across the front of the hotel called Michael very helpful and reasonable. The little bar next door think it was called the happy bar is a nice place to have a drink in the evening and watch the world go by and a lot cheaper than the hotel.

Make sure you check your bill on departure - on checking ours we found we had been charged for a meal at the hotel we hadn't had when staff checked the receipt somebody had used our room number. You have to sign when you book things to your room so it was easy to prove that it wasn't our signature.

Bit worried about the Mosquitos before we went but glad to say we didn't have any trouble with them although we did spray ourselves most of the time but not all the time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank meinir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear meinir,

Thank you for your thorough and practical review of your recent stay. Last things first we’re glad to hear that mossies weren’t much of an issue for you. It’s true that a little preparation goes a long with repelling them.

We appreciate that you mentioned spotting a slip up on the billing at departure. We do our best to prevent any errors, but the possibility does exist and we will reiterate our policy that our line staff get the guest name clearly printed with the room number.

Taking time out for massages is part of the Samui experience. We think a nice Thai massage is the best way to spend the hottest hours of the afternoon.

Thank you for your observation on the food and beverage pricing. We understand that providing great food at a fair price is a basic expectation for today’s travelers and we keep that thought in mind when forming menus and theme nights.

We smiled at your remark about our staff’s ‘Grace under pressure’. Its true that not everyone we meet has the same generosity of spirit and consideration as our friends from the UK, but Thai hospitality recognizes all as honored guests…deserving of a cool heart.

We’re pleased that you found the other areas of your stay met expectations.

We all look forward to welcoming you back again for more sunshine days in Samui.

All the Best,

Joe Clasby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I stayed at the hotel with my wife in premium room
The room was large and spacious with a balcony overlooking the sea
Hotel pool large and Fun,Jacuzzi by the pool was very good
Hotel have long beach strip witha lot sun loungers
Breakfast was good
Prices are a expensive at hotel bars
Overall we enjoyed and we want to return In the future.

Room Tip: Take the premium rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liran80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear liran80,

It’s wonderful to hear that you and your wife had a great holiday and we thank you for sharing your feedback on this forum. It was a pleasure to read that the most important aspect; the room, beach, pool ect. exceeded your expectations.

We now present several promotional offers and Happy Hours at our bars to make enjoying a few drinks a better value for money proposition.

We thank you for mentioning that you would return and we sure hope that you do.

All the Best,

Joe Clasby
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

was in chaweng btn 10th-16th oct with my family...stayed at centara..plunge pool room..its an excellent property to stay in..quite big as the name suggests..located on beachfront...the beach is clean and safe...excellent pool../watersports...lots of activities for kids in its kids club...friendly staff..good breakfast..good mix of tourist from around the world...
..downside...located south of chaweng away from the hustle and bustle and night life of chaweng...so need to travel back north towards Arkbar every night to enjoy the nightlife..internet is chargeable in the rooms which i feel is absurb...it should have free wifi all around for a hotel of this size...
overall excellent place to stay...if travelling with kids/family...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DKINDIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear DKINDIA and Family,

Thank you for your great feedback. It’s nice to hear your little ones enjoyed the holiday with the beach and kids club as highlights.
Guests generally agree that the nightlife section of Chaweng is well within reach. Perhaps less so if you are walking with children. It is easy to get a baht bus there and that does save some time and energy.
Your comment on WiFi is noted. We do offer free service in the lobby, all restaurants.
We hope to welcome you and your family back soon for another Samui holiday.

All the Best,

Joe Clasby
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Great resort...excellent hospitality. ..awesome food....good location...dip n sip bar was great..all rooms with sea view...spa services were very relaxing...staff was courteous. ..would recommend this hotel to everyone travelling to koh samui. ..n would definitely visit this hotel again abd again..

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Sneha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Sneha M.,

Thank you for you concise and positive review following your recent stay. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back again someday.

Kind regards,

Joe Clasby
Quality Manager
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I checked in on the 10th October 2013. The hotel is located on Chaweng beach and it has a wide beach front. The hotel grounds is spacious. The beach is not rocky and the water clear (even in October). Because the beach is also accessible to the public, there are always hotel security guards near the beach looking out for the hotel guests. The room is clean and comfortable. There are shops along the road just outside the resort. I tried the foot reflexology at “My Friend” Spa just outside the hotel gate (it has a few outlets along Chaweng alone) – really good! I had a manicure and pedicure there too (400 baht). Centara Grand Beach Resort is located at the quieter part of Chaweng (more south). You may want to get to the more rowdy parts of Chaweng via transport and take a long walk back to the resort if you are up to it – there are shops all along the way. The hotel also has a small playground for kids. According to reception, all rooms have the view of the sea – mine did, and I caught a beautiful sunrise on my first morning there - from my room’s balcony. Surprisingly, there is a golf course quite close to the hotel (Samui Royal Golf course). But beware, it is a very difficult no frills mountain course – but the view is the best! I would recommend Centara Grand Beach Resort to those who prefer a quiet beach retreat.

Room Tip: My room was 4 floors up from ground. There is only one lift for this wing - and my room was at the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ortega122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Ortega122,

Greetings from Samui!
Well it sounds like you definitely made the rounds during your stay. If you made it up to SRGC you were taking in one of the best viewpoints on the island –the golf there is, as you say, not for the faint of heart.

We’re so glad to hear you got up early and enjoyed the sunrise from your balcony. Very energizing and a great way to start your day.

You’re right about the beach-no rocks, no coral, just smooth sand bottom and plenty of shade trees to sit under after your swim.

Ortega122, we thank you for taking the time to share your experience and travellers tips from Samui. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Joe Clasby
Quality Manager
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.4 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,813 reviews
1.4 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#11 of 104 in Chaweng
2,448 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
727 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,353 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui

Property: Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Address: 38/2 Moo 3, Borpud | Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui is a long-established resort that sits right on Chaweng Beach, a tranquil location that yet provides easy access to Central Festival for shopping and the ever-present buzz of Chaweng Road. Complete with the old world charm of colonial-era architecture and an unparalleled beach front setting, the resort is home to a host of facilities and activities, including a beautiful spa, complimentary Yoga classes a large sea-gazing swimming pool with its own swim-up pool bar and Jacuzzi, a fitness centre, two tennis courts and two kids clubs. You’ll enjoy no less than seven restaurants and bars, including COAST Beach Club & Bistro. Perfect for the most tranquil romantic escape or an adventuresome family holiday, the resort also features Muay Thai classes, beach volleyball, and a choice of water sports – think kayaking, windsurfing, sailing, Hobie Catamaran, body boarding and paddle boarding - as well as superb snorkelling and island hopping excursions around Koh Samui and diving opportunities arranged respectively by the tour desk and the PADI Dive Centre. Whether holidaying in Samui just the two of you or with the family, you will enjoy views of over the turquoise expanse of the Gulf of Thailand from your balcony or a private plunge pool. Spaciousness is a feature with all rooms and suites, with total living space ranging from 40 to 132 square metres while selected suites also provide concierge services. And your good times will begin almost from the minute you touch down on the island, as the resort is a short 15-minute drive from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Hotel Chaweng
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Hotel Centara Grand Beach
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing