We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent returning again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Ranked #9 of 103 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Before anyone starts reading this totally impartial review please be aware that we have stayed in many hotels around the world and it is very rare we ever return to pre visited destinations let alone the same hotel. However following an amazing stay at the centara grand in 2012 we are revisiting along with friends from Australia to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary in October. The accommodation was above expectations for thailand, offering an excellent level of cleanliness and service along with impeccable gratitude from some of the kindest attentive staff that we have experienced throughout our travels. We had exceptional attentive service from Meena and Banana along with other staff in the club and nothing at all was too much trouble. It is obvious from reading the negative reviews that too many of those guests do not communicate fully at the time when they feel service is a little below par and then take time out to complain on reflection once they are home. We would recommend this hotel to anyone considering a holiday on Koh Samui and we are certainly looking forward and counting the days down to our return in 5 weeks.

Dave and Mandy Milner ~ Hull UK

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear Mandy M,

On behalf of the whole Centara team, we would like to thank you for taking the time to offer your review on this forum. We thank you for your kind comments.

You’ve got a point. We really can’t do much to solve a shortcoming once a guest has returned home. We think just having to return from holidays makes people a little grumpy. You’ll be happy to hear that Meena and Banana are up in The Club right this moment doing what they do best. They’ll be thrilled to hear that you’re on your way back.

We’ll save our congratulations on your 25th anniversary for the party when you’re here!

Yours sincerely,

Joe Clasby
Quality Manager
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,531)
There are newer reviews for Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,302 - 1,308 of 2,531 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

After reading some of the negative reviews,I felt compelled to write.My partner and I stayed with you in March 2013,we enjoyed it so much that I have already booked with Trailfinders for March 2014,this time for 14 days instead of the 10 days we had this year.Our room was lovely,and we were fortunate to see four weddings from our balcony.We had no trouble with pool as schools hadnt broken up,so not too many children around.Loved the beach,loved the food and the staff make the place a joy to come back to again.
Looking forward to seeing you all.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sueashleyallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear sueashleyallen,

On behalf of all of us here at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui thank you for taking the time to offer your cheerful review. We think you’re on right track staying longer than your last visit -two weeks in March is a fantastic idea! You’re accurate with your comment that love is in the air that time of year and of course our youngest guests are still hard at work in their classrooms.
We all look forward to welcoming you back!
Yours sincerely,

Joe Clasby
Quality Manager
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

From arriving from the hotel, service was impeccable. Welcome drinks, orientation to the hotel facilities & being brought to our room. The view was beautiful, looking out to the beach. There are lovely pool facilities, along with a gym & spa. We spent our days on the beach, where there are sun loungers for hotel guests, enough for everyone so no need to be up really early on your holidays to try & grab one! There's a pool/beach towel service too. The sea is just heaven to swim in. Great hotel. Breakfast was excellent, huge selection of food & all members of staff are so polite. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nordlaw06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear nordlaw06,

On behalf of all of us here at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your glowing review following your recent stay.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind remarks regarding our staff and services are received with great pleasure.

We’re happy that you didn’t bother waking up at the crack of dawn to put a towel down on a sunlounger to ‘reserve’ it. As you say, there are plenty to go around.

It is always gratifying to know that we have been able to please our guests and we all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.



Sincerely,

Joe Clasby
Quality Manager
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Just taken 5 mins out to share a quick review as I had read a lot before I came here. As a travel agent I always have high expectations and as we came here directly from Atlantis in Dubai of course the standards will be different!

This place is paradise what an amazing hotel we've not ventured out yet as we arrived fairly late last night. We are in the club which allows us to have breakfast snacks and drinks all day.

Our room is a little dated but ok. My only criticism is the room is a bit dusty skirting boards and door frames need a clean and the seal around the sink is a bit grubby. One of the plug sockets was hanging out by the bed so I fixed it! Again very dusty - But don't let this put you off. The beach setting is fab and the staff and service is good. We love Meena in the club lounge already. I'll write a full review on my return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Ben I,

On behalf of the management thank you for the in-house review. We’re glad to hear that you settled in well and have met our team at The Club.

Our Guest Relations Manager has been by to see you and assist with remedying the maintenance issues you’ve mentioned.

Thank you for your kind words on our location, staff and service.

Now all that’s left for you to do is relax and enjoy your stay in Paradise.

Kind regards,
Joe Clasby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Centara Grand is an expansive place & we had a terrific 7 day holiday there with our friends in the middle of our recent holiday. Reception was friendly & helpful with both check-in & check-out done quickly & efficiently. We had an Ocean View room on the same level as reception (2nd floor) & it was large enough with a large bathroom & shower & a nice balcony, although the mozzies were very friendly on the balcony, the only issue with the room was the hardness of the bed (not rare in Asia) which was creating some problems for my wife's back by the end of the stay.
You have to pay for internet in the rooms, so we made use of the free internet in the lobby & we were able to Skype home easily from our laptop without any issues, the only issue being that we may have been a bit noisy for the other guests, but no-one complained (not that we know of)!
There was a wide range of foods available at breakfast & even though the resort is large we didn't have an issue getting a table.
Swimming pools were nice, but we don't spend all of our time lounging around them. The beach was right there & although my wife & I didn't go in the water some friends did & they said they got bitten by sea lice which was uncomfortable. The walk along the beach to the busier part of Chaweng was pleasant, particularly earlier in the earlier part of the day before it got too hot.
We also made the trek a number of times into the main part of Chaweng along the road, (15 -20 minutes or so depending on shopping stops) & this wasn't a problem & if we were in a bit more of a hurry or tired we would get on a Songthew.
The fitness centre was spacious & had plenty of equipment, my wife & a friend even did the yoga class in the morning, they even got a bit more then expected (I think the yoga instructor needs a new pair of shorts!).
There were a couple of Roti Pancake vendors close by & they got a hammering over the week.
On one of the nights they had a cocktail party for a couple of hours before dinner & we mingled with other guests & this was great, There was free drinks & finger foods which was terrific.
We like to eat outside of the resort so did not have any meals in the restaurants apart from breakfast so can't comment if they were good, bad or indifferent.
All of the staff were very friendly & we had a great stay.

Room Tip: Ocean view room 2nd floor (same as reception) are great
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Badger01_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Badger01_12,

On behalf of the management and staff here at Centara Grand Beach Resort we would like to offer thanks for your comprehensive (and entertaining) review.

We always enjoy hearing how our guests spend their days and nights. We know that the walk in to the busier part of Chaweng is a great way to see what else is on offer. We agree that a morning stroll on the beach is a fantastic way to start the day. You have to make sure you walk back though to tan both sides evenly as the sun rises!

We love banana pancakes too…we think those, watermelon shakes, massages and of course Thai food are some of the things everyone must try when they visit Thailand.

We’re thrilled you took pleasure in the cocktail party. It’s the best way we know to thank our guests and give them a chance to meet our management team.

You may be interested to hear that in addition to being the Quality Manager I’m also the yoga teacher. Thank you for the heads up on the shorts. I’ve since bought a new pair!

Badger01_12, thank you again for taking the time to share your review, we’re pleased that you had such a wonderful experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back before too long.

Sincerely,

Joe Clasby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is one of the very best places I have been, and I have been in many places indeed. Accomodation is perfect, with all of these details which make living here a pleasure.
The staff is beyond what you can expect : with discrete efficiency, you are always made comfortable and everybody is attentive to you as if you were the most distinguished host of the place.
Efficiency is remarkable, when they are asked for some help.
The reception by the manager and the staff is a lovely moment of the stay. The manager, Dany, is very friendly and with a high sense of hospitality.
We visited only the japanese restaurant, where we found top rank gastronomy, even for those who have lived a long while in Tokyo.
The equipments (fitness, swimming pool and so on) are of pertinent standard ; the places are never crowded, as sometimes happens when their size has been underestimated.
Situation : the hotel is placed at a quiet place of the town and thus safe from the nightly noise (orchestra, cars, shops, ....).
The beach is wonderful, silent, highly equiped with parasols and so on.You are always at a reasonable distance from your neighbour
The customers contribute to the peaceful and cosy atmosphere of this wonderful place.
I think this is the place you should choose for your Koh Samui stay.
Please be indulgent for my approximate english, a langage I have chosen today for the (hopefully) sake of efficiency.

Room Tip: Our rooms were 832 and 833, third floor and sight on the sea ; probably the best ones ?
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Alain M.,

On behalf of the management team, we’d like to express thanks to you for taking the time to offer your wide-ranging review following your recent stay at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind remarks regarding our staff and services are received with great pleasure.

Your assessment really is very comprehensive. It is clear that your family made the most of your stay with us and explored all available facilities.

We agree with your statement, ‘The customers contribute to the peaceful and cozy atmosphere of this wonderful place.’ We are blessed to have a wonderful mix of considerate and thoughtful guests. As a result, we know that many of our guests look forward to seeing their Centara ‘holiday friends’ each year when they return to Samui.

Alain M., you and yours are part of our family and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.


Yours sincerely,
Joe Clasby
Quality Manager
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

we stayed here and cant fault the hotel. The gardens were well kept and beautiful. Staff were so freindly. The restaurants,were ever so good breakfast,they served everything you could think of and more. The rooms were very comfortable clean and the upstairs ones had wonderful views. The location was right on the wonderful beach sands like talculm powder and the sea 5 shades of blue. Thought our holiday here was very good and would recommend it to anyone wanting to travel. Chaweng beach road is all hustle and bustle and a real taste of thailand, we travelled to Bangkok which is a must.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samuijoe, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Heather C.,

On behalf of all our team, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your review.

You describe the beach and sea perfectly; in fact today the Sea probably is 6 shades of blue!

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind comments regarding our staff and services are received with great happiness and have been shared with all concerned.

It is always rewarding to know that we have been able to please our guests and we all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again soon-it’s been too long already!



Yours sincerely,
Joe Clasby
Quality Manager
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.4 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 103 in Chaweng
1,862 reviews
1.4 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 103 in Chaweng
2,489 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 103 in Chaweng
739 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 103 in Chaweng
1,473 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 103 in Chaweng
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui

Address: 38/2 Moo 3, Borpud | Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: $125 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui is a long-established resort that sits right on Chaweng Beach, a tranquil location that yet provides easy access to Central Festival for shopping and the ever-present buzz of Chaweng Road. Complete with the old world charm of colonial-era architecture and an unparalleled beach front setting, the resort is home to a host of facilities and activities, including a beautiful spa, complimentary Yoga classes a large sea-gazing swimming pool with its own swim-up pool bar and Jacuzzi, a fitness centre, two tennis courts and two kids clubs. You’ll enjoy no less than seven restaurants and bars, including COAST Beach Club & Bistro. Perfect for the most tranquil romantic escape or an adventuresome family holiday, the resort also features Muay Thai classes, beach volleyball, and a choice of water sports – think kayaking, windsurfing, sailing, Hobie Catamaran, body boarding and paddle boarding - as well as superb snorkelling and island hopping excursions around Koh Samui and diving opportunities arranged respectively by the tour desk and the PADI Dive Centre. Whether holidaying in Samui just the two of you or with the family, you will enjoy views of over the turquoise expanse of the Gulf of Thailand from your balcony or a private plunge pool. Spaciousness is a feature with all rooms and suites, with total living space ranging from 40 to 132 square metres while selected suites also provide concierge services. And your good times will begin almost from the minute you touch down on the island, as the resort is a short 15-minute drive from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Hotel Chaweng
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Hotel Centara Grand Beach
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing