We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Service and Maintenance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Ranked #8 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Very disappointed in this hotel that was recommended by friends. Even though the booking was made well in advance the original room offered was ordinary and little immediate interest in making good.

Very poor - almost non-existent service around the pool. No security controlling the handful of drunk and disorderly patrons in the pool bar area that were disrupting everyone elses peace and quite.

A considerable number of unsupervised children around pool areas.

Mantenance issues, were plentiful and in need of some TLC.

Maybe I just took the wrong advice and made the wrong choice. Definitely not the hotel for those looking for peace and quite.

Room Tip: I wouldn't choose one - just dont stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear Ross C.,


On behalf of the Management team, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your review on this forum.

We have taken a good note of your comments regarding the service quality from our Beach & Pools staff. We have just appointed a new, young and enthusiastic Food & Beverage Director. The upgrading of the Beach Butler system (push button for service) is one of the first areas he will be addressing.

We would tend to agree with your inference that it is always helpful in this day of the World Wide Web and so many social media sites like this one to do your own research. Our resort is popular with families and this is often mentioned on this forum and elsewhere.

Also, you are accurate, during school holidays there are more families with children staying with us. Generally speaking, the children are elated to be out of school and they tend to express their high spirits when they play. At the same time, their parents are almost certainly equally thrilled to have some time to themselves and often choose to celebrate with a cocktail or two at our swim-up bar. We encourage our guests to enjoy themselves and we’re disappointed when they don’t. We apologize that their merriment disturbed your peace and quiet.

Still, as we have stated on this forum before -there is always space to be on one’s own if one doesn’t want to mix with the other guests at the pool for example. We have ample space in the gardens or on the beach to easily accommodate all our guests even when the resort is fully occupied.

With regards to maintenance issues, we are making progress. For example, in your previous correspondence you mentioned a problem with the door lock at your room. We are systematically replacing all the door locks on our guest rooms. The majority of them will be changed before year’s end.

Again, we would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused.

We thank you once again for sharing your review.


Sincerely Yours,

Joe Clasby
Quality Manager
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,641)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,403 - 1,409 of 2,641 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

We have just come back from staying at The Centare Grand Beach Resort Samui in July and loved it. The staff were amazing and a special thanks to the ones in The Club area. The location is fantastic close to shops and the walking street at night with all the markets. We also found lots of great restaurants thanks to the trip advisor restaurant guide. The pool and beach are a great place to unwind beautiful views with warm breezes. Such a lovely holiday destination.
The management of this hotel are very pro-active in looking at ways to improve your holiday experience through feed back which I think is really great.

Room Tip: We were in the 2nd block third floor pretty quiet great view. Try out the omelette at breakfast they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ges87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear ges87,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay.
We’re so glad you were able to experience the pampering and attention that come with an upgrade to our Club facilities.
It’s great to hear that you approve of the job we’re doing here. Make no mistake; we recognize that we have to keep moving our offering forward. The best way we have found to do that is to listen to the feedback our guests give us. We appreciate that you decided to stay with us.

Once again thank your for your comments. We hope to welcome you back before long.

Yours sincerely,

Joe Clasby
Quality Manager
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

The Centara Grand is a beautiful hotel with excellent attentive staff.
The facilities were magnificent, the location is great and the bustling night lift at the front.
You’re walking distance from a great variety of bars and restaurants: you could easily pick a different restaurant every night and not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear Joe P.,

Thank you for sharing your comments following your stay at our resort in July 2013.

We are pleased to read that our staff took good care of you and that you enjoyed our various facilities. We agree, that our central location makes our resort a great choice for an island holiday. We appreciate that you decided to stay with us.

Once again thank your for your feedback. We hope to welcome you back before long.

Yours sincerely,

Joe Clasby
Quality Manager
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Hi there travelled to Koh Samui with Eva air on the 5th July it was ok but received better service with other airlines ok now to the hotel
as I said in the title of review cant fault the hotel room 328 for a day upgraded to the premium deluxe ocean facing room on the top floor room 338 only difference is there is a bath and slightly better view but its higher up away from any mozzies which the wife likes .
The staff at this hotel are what makes this place always smiling and never any bother to do anything for you they really go out of there way to please you.
Never mind about the rooms ok dated maybe but how long are you in the rooms and bathroom as long as it is clean which you cannot complain about the house keeping the beds are really comfy and you get a good sleep.
The food at the hotel is first class anybody that says different should really wise up.
The club we find is the hub of the place where you meet a lot of different people which is nice as we have made some really good friends there have to mention the club staff Banana,Meena,Aom,Pom & Lar they are really special people and do there job and more really well, thanks all at the club u made our holiday,Banana &Hester for all you did for us as well thank you still thinking about the anniversary cake it was something else thank you very much.(still laughing it was priceless)
down on the beach 1 morning to put our towels down on the sunbeds and there was about 20 Centara staff cleaning the beach in front of the Centara every 1 said hello and good morning which I think was really good the staff here are just like 1 big happy family and give it there all to please you .
Was invited to the Cocktail party it was very good and met a lot of other guest as well which was nice
OK that's it for now cant wait till next year to return back to Centara Grand and meet old friends and to the GM Danny MaCafferty you should be proud of your staff as they are all excellent
Heres to next year
all the Best
Dondarr

Room Tip: The higher up you are the better away from the Mozzies at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dondarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Dondarr,

On behalf of the Management team, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay with us.

We are happy that you enjoyed room 338 and you’re right, the view from that room is fantastic. Additionally, we are glad you slept well.

The Club Team (and Hester!) work very hard and they’ll be delighted to learn of the positive experience you had there thanks to their attentiveness.

Dondarr, you must have been up early to catch us cleaning the beach! We try to complete our chores before our guests wake up so everything is ready when you come down to the beach. We know that extra effort is appreciated.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind review brought us more than a few smiles and the remarks regarding our staff and services are received with great pleasure and have been conveyed to all concerned. These will certainly serve as encouragement for us to continue improving the standard of our services.

We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort very soon.

Sincerely,
Joe Clasby
Quality Manager
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The hotel is outstanding. It is in such a great location. Not too far from the hotel and right by the streets with all the shops and restaurants etc, although you wouldnt know this. On one side is all the delights of hussle and bussle of Thailand and on the other is serene beach and sea. it was pretty much perfect. The breakfasts were always lovely and plenty of choice. This hotel would be even more perfect if it was an all inclusive. The rooms were delighful and they had a lovely seating area outside where you can just sit an relax, this was epecially lovely in the evenings. I would definatley reccomend this hotel to everyone. Not only is it situated in one of the most beautiful countries i have ever been. It was a delight to stay here at the hotel also. I would love to come back to this hotel again. I feel lucky that i have been able to stay here already. well worth the 13 1/2 hour flight!!! :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear JenniferS,

On behalf of the Management team, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay with us.

We are elated to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are especially pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast as we recognize this as the most important meal of the day and our best opportunity to start our guest’s days the right way.

We agree that the room balconies can serve as the perfect spot for guests to enjoy a coffee / tea or sundowner. In the early evenings the view over the gardens to the sparkling sea is truly magical.

We also feel fortunate to be in such a beautiful country with such genuinely hospitable people.

JenniferS, thank you once again for choosing Centara and taking the time to review your stay.

It is always gratifying to know that we have been able to please our guests and we all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Sincerely,
Joe Clasby
Quality Manager
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We recently returned from 8 days at the Centara Grand, we found it to be lacking greatly in the usual high standard of Thailand hotels. It's big and looks a little run down in places, certainly the decor is a little old fashioned. The gardens and pool area are lovely, the beach is great and the location for us was fantastic - if you prefer the quieter end of Chawang Beach. There is nothing special about this hotel - it caters solely for the tourist crowds and you are certainly one of many. Breakfast was awful - same old food day in day out and a production line. The staff seemed disinterested most of the time. Don't hire a car from the tourist desk at the hotel - we did and it was a heap. Word of warning - lock anything valuable away - a bottle of new perfume went missing from our room, the management were wonderful and undertook all the necessary investigations and kept us updated with their progress, however the incident did leave a unhappy feeling with us . We wouldn't return to this hotel.

Room Tip: The deluxe ocean rooms and premium deluxe seem to be the same room. Not as premium as they are made...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebbieASydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear DebbyASydney,

On behalf of the Management team, we would like to thank you for taking the time to complete our Guest Questionnaire following your recent stay at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui. As guest satisfaction is of paramount importance to us your comments are highly valued in our efforts to strive for excellence in all areas of the hotel.

Firstly, we must thank you for your kind remarks on the grounds and setting. We’re convinced that our location is unsurpassed –the prettiest swimming beach on the best beach in Chaweng.

The resort is large, for most of our guests that is part of the charm. There is always space to be on one’s own if one doesn’t want to mix with the other guests at the pool for example. We have ample space in the gardens or on the beach to easily accommodate our guests even when the resort is fully occupied.

The architectural style of our resort is Portuguese Colonial. Perhaps it is old-fashioned, but it is also classical. You may refer to the rooms-so you’ll no doubt be thrilled to hear that we will begin a comprehensive rooms freshening project in mid-October, the end result of which will offer rooms that are both more stylish and comfortable.

It is truly a shame that our breakfast buffet did not appeal. We’ve been busy lately developing the selections and adding requested items. Still, we agree that there is always room for more improvement.

We are surprised to hear you found our staff ‘disinterested’. The feedback we get, particularly on this forum, commonly suggests that the enthusiasm and genuine Thai hospitality of our staff is the main reason guests enjoy their stay.

We regret our investigation did not yield a positive outcome on the missing bottle of fragrance. We recognize this incident dampened your stay experience, and influenced your decision to not return. The advice you offer to fellow travelers to lock their valuable items in the safe we provide in every room is very wise.

Debby, thank you once again for taking the time to share your comments on your stay.

Sincerely,

Joe Clasby
Quality Manager
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Our stay got off to a disappointing start as our "ocean facing" room had no sea views - all you could see was the roof of the hotel's fitness centre. However, we were moved on day 2 and then got what we'd paid for!

The hotel is a large property right on the beach, with the main Chewang "strip" on the other side. That proximity to the centre of Chewang means that there is also a certain amount of noise. Indeed in our first room it was deafening!

On the strip there is an abundance of restaurants, though they seem to sell pretty much the same stuff at the same prices. There are the usual suit vendors, taxi drivers etc, but eventually they seem happy to take 'no' for an answer and will engage in a bit of banter. There are a range of mini markets near the hotel selling bottles of drinks far cheaper than the hotel which you can store in your fridge for use on the beach or balcony.

Other than the noise, a couple of negative points are outside the control of the hotel. The first is the Mosquitos - you really MUST take some spray with you as there are loads out after dark! Just look at the arms and legs of newly arrived guests! The other is the lack of fish in the sea. The beach is all golden sand which extends right the way out - so there are no fish to be seen. I'd read about Thailand being a divers' paradise and was disappointed about this.

The hotel is set in beautifully landscaped grounds, the staff were all friendly and attentive and the location is perfect for the beach and restaurants. The breakfast was ok - variety pretty good but there were always flies hovering around the uncovered food.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Aggiehols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Aggiehols,

On behalf of the Management team, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to learn that we were able to relocate you to a room that pleased you.
Our guests usually seem to agree that our location offers the best of both worlds –bustling Chaweng Beach Road and the tranquility of our vast gardens and beach front.

Your remark on the presence of mosquitoes is accurate. It’s always a good idea to use insect repellent when headed out for the evening and avoid perfumes or aftershave.

The observation on the lack of fish off Chaweng beach is also generally true. This is mostly because the shoreline in front of the resort is all sand bottom (as you state -no rocks or coral) so this environment gives the fish no place to hide or make their homes. Still, there are plenty of small fish near the buoy lines and further south by the larger granite rocks at the beach end. If you are interested in exploring the undersea world perhaps next time you’ll book a trip with our diving partners, 100 Degrees East, to visit one of the neighboring reefs.

As mentioned previously on this forum we’re trying different methods to control the flies that naturally occur in the tropics.

Finally, thank you for the kind comments on our staff. They truly are our greatest asset.

It is always gratifying to know that we have been able to please our guests and we all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Sincerely,
Joe Clasby
Quality Manager
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
1.4 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#11 of 104 in Chaweng
2,609 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
1,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,408 reviews
0.3 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
815 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui

Address: 38/2 Moo 3, Borpud | Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#5 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: $162 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui is a long-established resort that sits right on Chaweng Beach, a tranquil location that yet provides easy access to Central Festival for shopping and the ever-present buzz of Chaweng Road. Complete with the old world charm of colonial-era architecture and an unparalleled beach front setting, the resort is home to a host of facilities and activities, including a beautiful spa, complimentary Yoga classes a large sea-gazing swimming pool with its own swim-up pool bar and Jacuzzi, a fitness centre, two tennis courts and two kids clubs. You’ll enjoy no less than seven restaurants and bars, including COAST Beach Club & Bistro. Perfect for the most tranquil romantic escape or an adventuresome family holiday, the resort also features Muay Thai classes, beach volleyball, and a choice of water sports – think kayaking, windsurfing, sailing, Hobie Catamaran, body boarding and paddle boarding - as well as superb snorkelling and island hopping excursions around Koh Samui and diving opportunities arranged respectively by the tour desk and the PADI Dive Centre. Whether holidaying in Samui just the two of you or with the family, you will enjoy views of over the turquoise expanse of the Gulf of Thailand from your balcony or a private plunge pool. Spaciousness is a feature with all rooms and suites, with total living space ranging from 40 to 132 square metres while selected suites also provide concierge services. And your good times will begin almost from the minute you touch down on the island, as the resort is a short 15-minute drive from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Fastbooking, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Hotel Chaweng
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Hotel Centara Grand Beach
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing