We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Left after 1 night !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Ranked #9 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We were booked into the Centara for the middle week of a 3 week stay on Samui. Last year we stayed at the Centara in Hua Hin and it was brilliant. We had a standard room which had a mezanea floor for the main bedroom and a seating area down stairs and 2 bathrooms. great fir a family of 4. after contacting Centara customer relations we were advised that a pool suite with an extra bed would accomodate our family of 3 adults and one child (teenage child is 3rd Adult). We arrived after checking out of our fabulous first hotel and was immediately told they were going to charge us extra for my 9 year old son. After a short discussion where I pointed out he can stay for free if sharing our existing bed they offered to discount his stay. Again I refused and eventually they agreed he could stay for free as stated in their hotel policy.

When we were eventually shown to our "suite" it was in fact just a room with a bed and an extra bed a TV and some cupboards. It was dark dirty and smelled damp and musty. We were not happy but after a long family discussion we decided to make the most of it and enjoy the great beach location. Then it started to rain. We tried to turn the lights on and found there was only one light out of 3 outside that worked and some lights in the room didn't work either. Still we showered and got ready for our night out. I couldn't quite understand why after showering my hair felt sticky and dirty but again, got on with it. My daughter then washed her hands in the bathroom sink and we saw that the water was yellow as was the toilet water. Sticky hair explained? Maybe! Anyway that was the final straw for us and after agreeing a cancellation fee with the hotel we called our first hotel who managed to get us back in the next day. We left Centara 20 hours after checking in and it was 20 hours of stress arguments tears and frustration. We chose this hotel on our previous experience of Centara hotels and are so disappointed. I could not recommend this Hotel to anyone unless they don't mind dark, dirty damp rooms in a run down hotel. Obviously I cannot comment on the entertainment and lesuire facilities because we were not there long enough to sample them.

The beach is lovely but obviously you don't have to stay at this hotel to enjoy the beach and we intend to spend days at the beach while staying in our nice clean bright hotel 10 minutes away (Lanna Hotel, quiet but beautiful).

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stickall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,560)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,356 - 1,362 of 2,560 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2013

travelling with 3 boys (15, 13 and 10) can be challenging, particularly at a beach resort where there is an expectation by us parents of sitting by the pool relaxing! the Centara was perfect for kids of all ages. From the daily volley ball matches, thai kick boxing, soccar games and shopping with Pik for soccar tops, our boys were more than happy and occupied. we toured the whole of the island and there is no better beach than at the front of this resort. the pool is fantastic and despite other reviews, we never had any trouble finding a lounge. the staff are wonderful and would happily move a spare lounge from the lawn area to the pool for you. yes, the roomks are a little old, but we slept in very comfortable beds and really spent no other time in our rooms. the location is fantastic, close to everything yet away from the business of Chaweng. i would not stay anywhere else whilst traveleling with kids.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gabrielle12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed at Centara for 16 nights in June in building 6 with friends, might agree that rooms are in need of an update, but it would not be reason for us not to stay at this property again, rooms are keep clean by house keeping.
Breakfast has a lot of choice for everyone with espresso coffee available on request.
Pool is clean, with plenty of lounges available around the pool and on the beach.
Down side is that for a resort of this size there is no free wi fi other than in the lobby and Islander bar, otherwise pay 900 baht for unlimited access.
Agree with Sharon Swan Hill "Ampol" security guard near the deli was pleasure to have chat with, always smiling when either coming or going to the resort.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Very good value for money for a 5 star. Great beach, lots to do in and around. We stayed in deluxe family pool suite with Exec club for 6 nights. Very good accommodation. Saved a fortune on drinks in Exec club with free bar from 5.30 pm to 7 pm. Food in club just snacks and bit tedious after few days. Breakfast was poor. If you eat with main guests it is bit like a holiday camp, busy, flies, messy, average service. If you eat in club it is very slow as they order your food from main buffet. By the time it gets to you it is cold! So overall breakfast experience disappointing. Staff overall friendly with excellent service in club. Try Poppies restaurant for great food in evening and Beach club for lunch for vibey experience. Both short walks along beach from hotel and reasonably priced for top notch places. Main Chaweng centre 5 min Tuk Tuk trip, 50 Baht per person. Lots of market stalls for clothes etc. Be careful though to check everything you buy as I noticed that some clothes are not the real deal. However, I found excellent bargains from real brand factories (seconds, rejects) with T shirts as cheap as 200 Baht. Pool in hotel nice but there is only 1 and it isnt big enough for the high number of residents. Luckily beach and swimming is great. Cheap massages on the beach too!
Overall we had a lovely stay, kids enjoyed it and I would return here.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank KerryandGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The hotel is about 15 minutes walk into the centre of Chaweng. Good service by all of the staff. Room was small but was clean and tidied daily.

Food and drink was lovely but pricey for the region. There is a small supermarket right outside the hotel which sells stuff at a fraction of the price.

The beech was clean, the pool was a decent size with enough loungers for all!!

Only downer was that wifi was only free in the foyer and not in your room!

Top place!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank britishpike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We had a lovely stay with our two teenage sons at The Centara Grand, Samui. The location is perfect with a gorgeous stretch of white sandy beach right on the doorstep. We booked adjoining rooms and were pleased that these were on the ground floor by the beautiful pool area. The decor was a little tired and in need of a repaint. The shower (above the bath and with a shower curtain rather than a screen) was also slightly problematic with leaks. The door to outside in our sons room did not lock and we needed to get this fixed which was done quite quickly - although it still didn't lock properly. Likewise the bar fridge in our room was not working and despite our asking for this to be fixed, it wasn't. Despite these things we had a great stay. The buffet breakfast was fabulous and the two restaurants we tried in the resort were very good although naturally more expensive than eating elsewhere. There were activities for our sons such as Thai boxing and some water inflatables to climb nearby. The staff around the pool and dining areas were very friendly, more so than the reception staff. I would recommend this hotel to families.

Room Tip: We had deluxe ocean view adjoining rooms on the ground floor by the pool. Was a great spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

On arrival here, I was really concerned.....

It took 3 attempts to get us in the right room after a really slow check in where we were left sitting in the foyer abandoned for ages. Not good.

When we finally got into the right room and recovered, things improved.

Great location on the best part of the beach. Apart from the Reception team, the staff were good. The Seabreezr Restaurant, Spice Island and the Club staff were all very friendly and efficient.Special mentions to Meena and Pom.

Upgrading to use the club facilities is worth it as you get a lovely quiet breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and drinks and canapes free.....as long as there aren't lots of kids around!!!! The club isn't realyl big enough for families and it became noisy and very congested on our visit which ruined it a bit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cat1272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
1.4 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,525 reviews
0.4 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,895 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
762 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,485 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui

Address: 38/2 Moo 3, Borpud | Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: $80 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui is a long-established resort that sits right on Chaweng Beach, a tranquil location that yet provides easy access to Central Festival for shopping and the ever-present buzz of Chaweng Road. Complete with the old world charm of colonial-era architecture and an unparalleled beach front setting, the resort is home to a host of facilities and activities, including a beautiful spa, complimentary Yoga classes a large sea-gazing swimming pool with its own swim-up pool bar and Jacuzzi, a fitness centre, two tennis courts and two kids clubs. You’ll enjoy no less than seven restaurants and bars, including COAST Beach Club & Bistro. Perfect for the most tranquil romantic escape or an adventuresome family holiday, the resort also features Muay Thai classes, beach volleyball, and a choice of water sports – think kayaking, windsurfing, sailing, Hobie Catamaran, body boarding and paddle boarding - as well as superb snorkelling and island hopping excursions around Koh Samui and diving opportunities arranged respectively by the tour desk and the PADI Dive Centre. Whether holidaying in Samui just the two of you or with the family, you will enjoy views of over the turquoise expanse of the Gulf of Thailand from your balcony or a private plunge pool. Spaciousness is a feature with all rooms and suites, with total living space ranging from 40 to 132 square metres while selected suites also provide concierge services. And your good times will begin almost from the minute you touch down on the island, as the resort is a short 15-minute drive from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Hotel Chaweng
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Hotel Centara Grand Beach
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing