We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5* Rating but!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Ranked #9 of 103 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This hotel is in a superb setting at the quieter end of Chaweng beach. The staff in all areas of restaurants, bars and reception are lovely, very friendly and efficient. You will get the traditional towels on the beach and pool loungers at the crack of dawn but do not worry. There were six of us and we did not venture to the pool or beach until around 10 am. However the pool staff never failed in providing us with six chairs and sufficient umbrellas for shade, at any time. They were superb. Variety of food selection is also very good.
My only negative for this hotel and the reason for the but in the title, are the rooms and the sea facing description, of which more later. The rooms are in sad need of updating and general maintenance needs to be improved. All of my party had to change rooms for one reason or another. We also found the cleanliness of the accommodation, not up to standard.
Returning to the sea facing rooms, you could be misled into thinking all rooms have a sea view by this description! Please be aware that unless you are on the second or third floor your chances of seeing the ocean through the vegetation are very limited.
Apart from my comments on the rooms, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,531)
There are newer reviews for Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,397 - 1,403 of 2,531 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

Firstly the staff at this hotel are superb!! They cannot do enough for you from the reception, waiters, chamber maids, pool attendants and cleaners all first class. The setting and location of the hotel is great right on Chewang Beach but walk out of the hotel into the hussle and bustle of Chewang main st. The food in the hotel was excellent, breakfast was a pleasure with nothing too much trouble.
The only one negative is that the rooms (especially the bathrooms) need updating as a matter of urgency, whilst clean there was mould in the showers and around the tiles in the bathroom. Try Legends Bar in Chewang great cocktails at unbeleivable prices.

Room Tip: Do upgrade to the Club Lounge, great service from all the staff and excellent value for money!!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

this is the best hotel and place ive been too the hotel is very clean and the staff are very friendly and always bowing there heads when you pass them ,so polite.
the food is ok but me and the wife only stayed b and b and ate out for lunch and evening meals.
the pool is nice and cool in the heat and the sea water is as hot as your bath at home.
this is a fantastic place and hotel.

Room Tip: get one with a balcony and a sea veiw.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alstondecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed here in February for 6 days, the hotel is situated at the quieter end of chaweng with plenty of restaurants and shops on your doorstep, anyone complaining about the situation of the hotel obviously hasn't done their homework! Lets face it this is chaweng and if you want peace and quiet go to a more secluded resort! We arrived at 10 am and were advised we were upgraded to a plunge pool suite for 1 night and despite check in being from 3pm we were escorted straight away to our room which was very much welcomed after our long journey. Next day we moved to our 1 bedroom suite which was very large and decorated in thai style with a lovely view over the gardens and sea. The sea breeze restaurant is situated right on the beach and hard to miss and the food was excellent and very competitively priced. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice and the wait staff very attentive and totally charming. There was no problem getting a sunbed either on the beach or in the grounds, although I have to agree they looked very grubby and really not suited to a 5star hotel, In regards to the room the coffee, tea and shower gel were not replenished daily which was disappointing as you shouldn't have to chase for basics like this. We were invited to a welcome cocktail party which was very nice with canapés and drinks and thai dancers and a chance to meet the senior staff. Also a big issue for me was paying premium rate per night I really expect to get free wifi, if I can get it outside the hotel in a bar free of charge then I can't see why the hotel can't provide this, other 5 star hotels we have stayed at in koh samui and Mexico provide this without charge and the hotel should seriously look at this as I don't want to have to go to the lobby in order to contact family at home. All in all though this is a lovely hotel in lovely grounds and with a bit more attention to detail as mentioned could well be a genuine 5 star resort.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank sue1sue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Arrived at the Centara hotel following our stay at The Santhiya Resort on Koh Phangan where every one was polite and courteous and all the staff where local.
On arrival asked where the loo was and had an arm flung out to indicate walking the full length of reception down some stairs and basically find it your self. Not impressed
Arrived in our ''deluxe'' plunge pool room the outside area was more than filthy it was black as where all the other similar areas that we could see.
We had some fruit left for us in our room which we thought was a nice touch unfortunately when we came to eat some we picked it up turned it over and it was black, rotten and slimy,why put that in someones room?
The Centara is almost twenty years old and tired it could be located anywhere in the world as there is nothing Thai in its design.People who have stayed at the Centara three and four times before have said the standards are going down which is a shame. This is a big hotel in a prime location and could do better but is being let down.
The staff at the Centara are not all Thai but many come from bordering countries and don't have the same lovely caring polite natures as the Thia people its a shame as it shows....
One member of staff who stood out was Kung who looked after us in our room, she should be employee of the month every month and promoted to employee training she is a credit to the Centara, also the Deli at the Centara was very good as was the staff in the deli.

Room Tip: take plenty of insect repellent
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goadsbarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The Centara in Chaweng is older than some of the other Centara group, but has been well maintained. The grounds are lovely and the pool, although not particularly large was spotless. The staff are all very helpful, especially in the pool area. There is no problem asking for fresh beach towels or to have a sun umbrella moved. The food is excellent with a very wide choice for the breakfast buffet which was constantly replenished even just before it closed, there was no shortage of anything. We stayed in building 6 on the second floor, the rooms on the floor above had been refurbished but the only difference was that they had a bath in addition to the shower - it's not worth paying the extra money as all this has done is made the rooms smaller. All rooms have a sea view. The beach directly in front of the hotel is magnificent, but beware of the currents - warning signs and red flags are posted when it is dangerous. The Spa is not cheap but uses good quality products and the staff are very well trained, resulting in a lovely experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor - we were in 626 which had a lovely view of the garden as well as...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We arrived at the Centara not to a Thai smiley face or a friendly greeting, but a rude young Comrade who retorted sit there, then 5 mins later she demanded we move by sitting over here. We finally had a demand of "Passport an Credit Card " so abrupt I could have walloped her, We then were treated to what I can only describe as a glass of dentist mouthwash, foul green coloured drink of some sort. We were then allowed to find our own room, not escorted! the room was OK a little tired a little small with the front door lock hanging off. But through the trees we could see the sea, so as we booked a sea view technically, we had one. The windows are loose fitting so it was always noisy day and night, with the streets to the side of us and the wind straight on.
We ventured down stairs and walked to the pool and beach area, never anywhere in the world have I ever come across such dirty sun beds, they look as if they have been dipped in sump oil, they are filthy yet if rubbed they can be cleaned. We tried to find the restaurants and requested many times in the 1st 3 days and yes, I agree with previous comments only one person on reception speaks very good English it is pot luck. To the previous travellers comment about the pool light, it is still not fixed and the wire is still there, to pull. All week dirty litter was in the same place! Around the pool! It took 6 days whilst we were there for a Japanese Tourist to eject a Comrade family and its tots from the adults only Jacuzzi, it was for 6 days I was there, it was their and only their private facilities. The road behind the hotel is noisy and tacky but rest assured no girly bars or night clubs. Breakfast was a little like watching animals eat from a trough as our hotel was 80% comrades, not known for manners or etiquette but rudeness and aggression. If you have children the beach and sea are treacherous, not safe for adults let alone kids, we were all banned for swimming in it for 3 of the seven days we were there, and good on the Thais for policing it as there are rip currents.
Now the good bits. After 3 days by accident and persistence we found the Hotel's restaurants Sea Breezes Thai, also Hagi Japanese, they were both a delight and top class food what a shame we had to endure the mediocre food in the street behind for the 1st 3 days. It seems where ever you go around the area the meals are the same, they are with drinks about £30 per head. We also visited Zicco the Brazilian restaurant as per a previous comment on this place give it a miss mainly raw food and a bun fight, the dancers were awful. Centara Beech has a charm and apart from some of the reception staff the restaurant staff are a delight, in all it could be top class but with the dirty areas, dirty sun beds, noisy rooms, shower doors that do not stay closed, front door lock hanging off, lack of information, the manager needs to get to grips, he lost money with us and we will not return, neither will we be recommending this resort.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank Big-d-c69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.4 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 103 in Chaweng
1,862 reviews
1.4 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 103 in Chaweng
2,489 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 103 in Chaweng
739 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 103 in Chaweng
1,473 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 103 in Chaweng
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui

Address: 38/2 Moo 3, Borpud | Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: $129 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui is a long-established resort that sits right on Chaweng Beach, a tranquil location that yet provides easy access to Central Festival for shopping and the ever-present buzz of Chaweng Road. Complete with the old world charm of colonial-era architecture and an unparalleled beach front setting, the resort is home to a host of facilities and activities, including a beautiful spa, complimentary Yoga classes a large sea-gazing swimming pool with its own swim-up pool bar and Jacuzzi, a fitness centre, two tennis courts and two kids clubs. You’ll enjoy no less than seven restaurants and bars, including COAST Beach Club & Bistro. Perfect for the most tranquil romantic escape or an adventuresome family holiday, the resort also features Muay Thai classes, beach volleyball, and a choice of water sports – think kayaking, windsurfing, sailing, Hobie Catamaran, body boarding and paddle boarding - as well as superb snorkelling and island hopping excursions around Koh Samui and diving opportunities arranged respectively by the tour desk and the PADI Dive Centre. Whether holidaying in Samui just the two of you or with the family, you will enjoy views of over the turquoise expanse of the Gulf of Thailand from your balcony or a private plunge pool. Spaciousness is a feature with all rooms and suites, with total living space ranging from 40 to 132 square metres while selected suites also provide concierge services. And your good times will begin almost from the minute you touch down on the island, as the resort is a short 15-minute drive from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Fastbooking, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Hotel Chaweng
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Hotel Centara Grand Beach
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing