We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Le Murraya(Chaweng)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Poppies Samui(Chaweng)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,806)
Filter reviews
2,806 results
Traveler rating
1,538
863
248
96
61
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,538
863
248
96
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe club loungecoast restaurantclub staffpalm groveaqua aerobicskids clubclub benefitspool suiteone bedroom suitekoh samuilarge hotelswim up barhotel groundsfamily holidayhappy hoursun loungersplenty of sunbeds
Filter
Updating list...
1,672 - 1,677 of 2,806 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We had recently spent 3 nights at Centara Grand Hotel Chaweng. We came to a hotel after a week spent at Beach Republic.
Actually we had been looking for a good 5-star hotel with an easy access to Chaweng night life. Centara had been advised by our friend for its territory and location.
Territory was very nice, clean and well maintained. Swimming pool is cozy and spa well worth to visit.
Cocktails in a sea breeze bar were tasty and food was good.

So hotel territory well worth its 5 star ranking.
But all above positive issues were diminished by extremely worn out room with damaged furniture. Room was quite noisy due to the fact that it has a door to an adjoining room. Minibar was very basic and all a lot of balconies are visible from your room and visa versa naturally.
Bathroom is equipped with both shower stall and a tub but if you are overweight than you will never fit into the stall.
Actually the overall room level is not more than 3 star. In Europe much better rooms could be seen in 3 star hotels.
Reception and check in \ out was fast and effective. Personnel was very friendly and helpful. However during the check out receptionist tried to charge us an extra 1000 bath for the services that had not been provided for us. After settling of this issue they had claimed some additional payment for the laundry bag that had been taken by the staff with our clothes to the laundry. Anyway finally they had apologized and all the extra charges excluded from the bill.
So conclusion is that if you need a perfect hotel territory with convenient locations and doesn’t care about room that this is a good option.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Igort_1od
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This was also amazing. The weather was wonderful. They have kayaking, water volleyball, swimming,windsailing. So many options. You sit by the pool and look at the sea at the same time.The beach here is really amazing. A place to relax and have loads of fun. The customer laison mananger Lek is truly an amamzing person. Very professional and ever so helpful. When flight centre booked our son on a different flight to the rest of us, i went into such a panic. Lek spoke gently and gave me the option of water ,tea or anything. He said i will follow this up for you. He spent 2 and a half hours with me ringing up. By the next morning he had managed to have all three of us on another flight. I could not thank him enough. Meeting Lek and the staff was amazing. You can order corn on the cob, pizza,club sandwiches and spagetti by the pool for lunch.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank franny55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

If you read the rest of the reviews on here I would agree with what the majority have said previously except the rooms are not as bad as some people would have you believe. Sure they are a little tired and an upgrade is planned but this is a fantastic hotel with lovely friendly staff and great service.

Due to teh rooms its probably a 4 start hotel but its a grreat place to holiday and at teh quieter end of the street. A good tip is to take one of the cheap jump-on taxis (not teh metered variety) to Boh Put - You decide what to pay but 100 Baht is more than acceptable (£2) - His has a quieter vibe and a great set of pubs/ eating places along the beach front.

Room Tip: Use th jump-on taxis - you decide the fare- Avoid metered taxis - they are a rip of
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jambo43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed for 8 days in a deluxe pool suite, which was perfect - I have no complaints about the cleanliness of the bathroom like some other reviewers below, but may be different in other rooms. It was fantastic to swim in the pool when we got back from dinner or drinks out in Chaweng.

Great Breakfast spread although I noticed a few flies a couple of mornings. Also, the resident/feral cats will harass you for food if you sit outside.

The beach is amazing, white sand and crystal clear water with little fish swimming around your feet! You can easily walk in to the busier part of Chaweng along the beach or street - we preffered the beach because we didn't get harassed to buy suits!

The staff were very friendly and accomodating, especially Mint, who served us a few times in the swim-up bar.

We ate at the hotel a few times, food and drink is expensive by thai standards, but was good quality.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jade L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We have just returned from a 2 week holiday at the Centara Grand and had a great time. The hotel was lovely and friendly staff. We stayed in Block 8 on the top floor which had a wonderful view. The beach was really nice as was the pool. The venders on the beach are great. I used to get corn on the cob at lunch time. I used to tell them what time I would like it and they used to bring it over. There was always plenty of sunbeds so did not have to worry about what time I got up. Breakfast was good and all different types of fresh bread was lovely. The room was ok and bed was comfy. Maybe in need of updating to get 5 star standard. The location of the hotel was excellant. In walking distance to all resturants and bars but still in a quieter location so not to hear all the noise from the street. We did eat in the hotel resturant twice which was nice but expensive. There is loads to choose from outside. The market stalls for eating is so cheap and really good food so worth a try. We went tried loads of different places and just loved it. I went to the gym at the hotel a few times which is good and had treadmills, cross trainers, bikes and weights. Go to the managers cocktail party on the beach as this was really nice and also got to meet other guests. We would definately return to this hotel. Happy holidays...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bonnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews